LibGuides: Catholic Resources: Web Resources

Web Resources

Catholic Answers "A lot of people have misconceptions about the Catholic Church. Catholic Answers is a media ministry that answers questions about what the Church really teaches. We are the largest organization of our kind. Learn more about Catholic Answers, our beginnings 40 years ago, and where we’re headed."
The Catholic Encyclopedia 1917 edition, no longer under copyright, considered well-written and authoritative.
Catholic News Archive (CRRA) A fully-searchable collection of thousands of newspaper pages, from different cities, over multiple years.
Catholic Portal (CRRA) provides global, freely available access to rare, unique and/or uncommon materials in libraries, seminaries, special collections and archives.
Catholic Research Resources Alliance Provides access to rare, unique and uncommon Catholic scholarly resources from many collections and includes many subject guides.
Marienlexikon In 1994 the sixth and last volume of the "Marienlexikon" was published by EOS Verlag St. Ottilien. Remigius Baumer and Dr. Leo Scheffczyk on behalf of the Institutum Marianum Ratisbonense. Since 1984, more than 1000 authors in 20 departments with 28 department heads have worked out many aspects of Mariology and Marian devotion in alphabetical articles, from the various theological disciplines as well as from the areas of art, literature and musicology and folklore.
Recommended Reading | Scott Hahn To help you navigate all of Scott and Kimberly's recommended study tools and resources -- from Catholic apologetics questions to faith and family concerns, the materials that they have found useful and that they frequently recommend are categorized as follows: Catholic Faith & Apologetics Topics Dr. Hahn's Focal Topics Dr. Hahn's Favorites Catholic Theological Resources Catholic Biblical Resources Recommended Books for Men Recommended Books for Women Tools for Bible Study (Estudio Bíblico Católico) Reflections on the Sunday Mass Readings (Al Partir el Pan) Audio Bible Study Courses (with Dr. Hahn) ~ Referred by Dr. Hahn ~
Sequitur 2019 Melbourne Catholic Vocations magazine online
Sharing the Word The Sharing the Word ELibrary provides full text and free online access to a wide array of English language resources in the areas of Catholic faith, living and spirituality, history and culture. While set up as an information and self-education resource for all, it specifically addresses the information needs of theological students, seminarians, clergy and pastoral workers by providing an integrated access point to the spiritual and intellectual riches of the Christian heritage.
Subject Guides (CRRA) Various subject guides for navigating the Catholic Portal.
Vatican Home Page The official website of the Holy See.

Canon Law
Catechism of the Catholic Church
Council of Trent Documents
First Vatican Council Documents The constitutions, declarations and decrees of the First Vatican Council.
Papal Documents
Second Vatican Council Documents The constitutions, declarations and decrees of the Second Vatican Council.

Catholica Collection | Villanova Univeristy This collection makes available digital content of Catholic materials including books, journals, papers, and manuscripts dealing with the Roman Catholic Church in general, and in particular works created or published in the Americas.
Catholic Research Resources Alliance Guide The Catholic Research Resources Portal, or "Catholic Portal," provides global, freely available access to rare, unique and/or uncommon materials on Catholics and Catholicism in libraries, seminaries, special collections and archives. Formats of materials found in the Portal include manuscripts, books, ephemera, photographs, and artifacts of interest. Portal records identify the owning institutions for non-digital resources and, where the resources exist in a digital format, link directly to the digital resource. The Portal is a core component of the mission of the Catholic Research Resources Alliance (CRRA).
Catholic Resources for Bible, Liturgy, Art and Theology Contains a variety of material, mostly related to biblical and liturgical studies.
DigiVatLib Provides free access to the Vatican Library’s digitized collections: manuscripts, incunabula, archival materials and inventories as well as graphic materials, coins and medals, printed materials (special projects).
Documenta Catholica Omnia Large collection of multilanguage full texts, analytical indexes and concordances of catholic and classic authors.
Ethics Finder "EthicsFinder is a highly innovative resource which uses sophisticated search capabilities and simple functionality to provide a user-friendly, rigorously curated search-engine database connecting users with extensive resources on ethics, life, love, politics, philosophy, and culture. The database introduces topics with a short description providing historical background and conceptual analysis, and gathers and displays thousands of links to existing high-quality articles, books and videos, providing a comprehensive and continually updated resource. It also arranges and collates Church teaching by topic and magisterial authority, offering users a unique and accessible way to navigate the vast teaching of the Catholic Church." - Taken from ACU Media Release
International Bibliography of Spirituality The new version of the Bibliography includes approximately 9,000 entries with particular reference to Carmelite interests. The bibliography is edited by the Pontifical Theological Faculty Teresianum (Rome, Italy) in cooperation with the Institutum Carmelitanum (Rome, Italy).
Nederlands Carmelitaans Instituut One of the biggest Carmelite libraries in the world.
Vatican Library Catalogues This tool enables you to search on any holdings of the Vatican Library collections, if described on the individual catalogues.

Australian Cardijn Institute
Australian Catholic Historical Society Resources
Australian Catholic Social Justice Council The social justice and human rights agency of the Catholic Church in Australia
CapDox This site is primarily an English language resource of early Capuchin sources. It also seeks to be a formation resource of more general Capuchin Franciscan material
Catholic Archdiocese of Melbourne Catholic Archdiocese of Melbourne websitre
Cradio Cradio is an Australian Catholic media service, providing free access to a growing variety of Catholic programs, talks and music. Listen in via our 24-hour stream, subscribe to our podcasts or access new content online when and where you want it.
EWTN - Global Catholic Network As the largest religious media network in the world, EWTN has an important role in educating others about our Catholic faith and spreading the good news of salvation.
The Institute for Priestly Formation Resources Welcome to the Institute for Priestly Formation. We are dedicated to assisting seminarians, priests, and bishops to grow in holiness so they may draw others to Jesus Christ. As the document The Gift of Priestly Formation states: “The first quality that characterizes Christ as true High Priest is his singular closeness to God and to humanity.” Our desire is that seminarians, priests and bishops, through their own deepening prayer, can be witnesses of that same closeness to God and humanity. - Taken from About page
Institute of Catholic Culture The Institute of Catholic Culture is an adult catechetical organization, faithful to the Magisterium of the Catholic Church, and dedicated to the Church's call for a new evangelization.
Jesuit Portal A curated and fully searchable collection of important primary sources, and some of the latest secondary scholarship related to the history, spirituality, educational heritage, and pedagogy approach of the Society of Jesus.
The Magis Center Every century has its key questions, the driving themes that define its attitude toward God, faith, suffering, reality, and the person of Jesus Christ. Magis Center answers these questions.
The National Centre for Evangelisation The National Centre for Evangelisation is at the service of proclaiming the Good News of Jesus Christ in Australia. Mission Statement We exist to proclaim the Good News of Jesus Christ as expressed by the Catholic tradition. We engage with dioceses and agencies to enhance our shared evangelisation endeavours. We model an engagement with seekers and enquirers that is respectful, authentic and open. We reach out and respond to the disillusioned and the disconnected as a matter of priority. We have a truth to speak and we are mindful of God’s presence in the world. We undertake our mission in the spirit of servant leadership with Jesus Christ at the centre of all that we do.
The Sacra Doctrina Project The Sacra Doctrina Project is devoted to the study of theology as a scientia that is properly speculative and sapiential in nature, aiding in both the preservation and faithful unfolding of the sacra doctrina of the Catholic Church.
The Seminarian Resource Center (SRC) The Seminarian Resource Center (SRC), provides seminarians with unlimited access to the best of Catholic media in digital formats FREE OF CHARGE from a host of Catholic organizations to support, bless, and equip them as they prepare to become priests for Christ and his Church!
St. Paul Center The St. Paul Center for Biblical Theology is a non-profit research and educational institute that promotes life-transforming Scripture study in the Catholic tradition. The Center serves clergy and laity, students and scholars, with research and study tools — from books and publications to multimedia and on-line programming.
UDisciple | Melbourne a Melbourne-based discipleship team dedicated to sharing the hope and joy of the gospel with the youth, young adults and university students of the Archdiocese of Melbourne.
Word On Fire Word on Fire Catholic Ministries is a nonprofit global media apostolate that supports the work of Bishop Robert Barron and reaches millions of people to draw them into— or back to— the Catholic faith.

Ethics Finder

EthicsFinder is an easily useable, expertly curated ethics search engine database hosted by Australian Catholic University. Gathering and displaying thousands of links to existing high-quality articles, books and videos from across the web, it is a comprehensive and continually updated 'one-stop shop' for anyone interested in a broad range of ethical, philosophical, cultural and social issues and, in particular, Catholic approaches.

Go to Ethics Finder ►

Multimedia

The Catholic Contribution Virtual Lecture Series \| Professor John Haldane	Website	Free
Ascension Presents	YouTube	Free
Melbourne Prays	YouTube	Free
Theology Thursdays with Dr Paul Morrissey	YouTube	Free
Word on Fire	Website	Paid Subscription
Formed	Website	Paid Subscription OR check to see if your parish subscribes
EWTN On Demand	Website	Free (in app purchases available)
Wild Goose TV	YouTube \| Website	Free \| Paid Subscription
Melbourne Priest	Website	Free

Laudate	iOS \| Android	Free
Hallow: Prayer and Meditation	iOS \| Android	Paid
Discerning Hearts	iOS \| Android	Free
One Minute Pause	iOS \| Android	Free
Watch: The Chosen	iOS \| Android	Free

The Episcopal Podcast	Spotify \| Apple	Free
The Catechism in a Year	Spotify \| Apple	Free
Pints with Aquinas Podcast	Spotify \| Apple	Free
The Bible in a Year with Fr. Mike Schmitz	Spotify \| Apple	Free
Pray as You Go	Spotify \| Apple \| Google	Free
Dominicast: Truth Bytes	Apple \| PodBean \| SoundCloud	Free
Sed Contra: A Podcast of Catholic Theology	Spotify \| Apple \| PodBean	Free
The Poco a Poco Podcast	Spotify \| Apple \| PodBean	Free
Busted Halo	Website	Free
Two Guys and a Gospel	Spotify \| Apple \| Website	Free
Crash Course Catholicism	Spotify \| Apple	Free
View more Catholic Podcasts in Australia