To find resources on counselling and psychology, select the Subject search on the Advanced Search of the catalogue. For this particular subject, some of the search terms that will net you the largest number of relevant results are:
Alternatively, clicking on any of the names below takes you to publications by that author held in University of Divinity Libraries.
Competence and Self-Care in Counselling and Psychotherapy by
What is it that makes a counsellor or psychotherapist competent? In Competence and Self-Care in Counselling and Psychotherapy, Gerrie Hughes offers a framework for understanding what being competent means for individual practitioners, both generally and in moment-by-moment work with clients. Divided into two sections, Part One, The Competent Self, and Part Two, Care of the Self, the book explores care and replenishment of the self as an essential requirement for maintaining competence. The Competence Framework presented here suggests that the three elements of Practitioner, Client and Context are essential factors for making good therapeutic choices, as well as offering a structure for reflection, either individually or in supervision. The eight principles that elaborate on these elements provide a route to explore competence that is relevant for any theoretical orientation and appropriate for practitioners at any stage. The reader is encouraged to make their own exploration of a number of factors that influence competence and to identify development of the self as both a necessary preparation for therapeutic work and as a continuing outcome of being a therapist. In addition, Hughes emphasises the importance of having a sound ethical framework and utilising professional structures as well as examining the contribution of supervision to the development and maintenance of competence. This book is an ideal choice for counsellors, psychotherapists, supervisors and trainers who wish to maintain a robust standard of practice, and for those employing them.
Counseling across cultures by
The book is edited by pioneers in the field who helped found the multicultural movement in the 1980s. A useful five-part, 24-chapter format provides balanced coverage. Broad coverage explores a wide range of topics, from spirituality in counseling across cultures to culturally appropriate counseling interventions with diverse client populations. Critical Incidents (expanded cases) offer students the opportunity to analyze and think critically about a variety of cultural situations.
Cultural safety in trauma-informed practice from a First Nations perspective : billabongs of knowledge by
This book provides an accessible resource for conducting culturally safe and trauma-informed practice with First Nations' peoples in Australia. Designed by and for Australian Indigenous peoples, it explores psychological trauma and healing, and the clinical and cultural implications of the impacts of colonization, through an Indigenous lens. The authors recognise trauma at the heart of all Indigenous disadvantage, and explore types of trauma in the context of Indigenous, collective cultures. The chapters take an Indigenous 'Yarning' approach to sharing knowledge, and encourage readers to challenge their unconscious, long-held beliefs and worldviews. Nicole Tujague and Kelleigh Ryan identify the differences between mainstream systems and more holistic Indigenous understandings of social and emotional health and wellbeing and outline a meaningful practice framework for practitioners. They analyse types of complex trauma, including intergenerational, institutional, collective and historical trauma; and discuss the impacts of racism and the concept of 'cultural load'. They also address vicarious, or "compassion" trauma experienced by front line workers and carers; and offer insights into their experience of working with collective healing programs. This book is essential reading for Indigenous practitioners and service providers to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people. It is also a valuable resource for students likely to work with First Nations' peoples within a broad range of health and social science disciplines. Nicole Tujague is one of the two founding directors of The Seedling Group, a consultancy that offers training on cross-cultural safety and trauma-informed practice, particularly in First Nations contexts. She has a Bachelor of Indigenous Studies and is completing a PhD in Indigenous Evaluation Methodology from Australia's Southern Cross University (SCU). Kelleigh Ryan is Director and Consulting Psychologist for The Seedling Group, a Fellow of the Australian Psychological Society and Vice Chair of the Australian Indigenous Psychologists Association. She completed her degree in psychology at Griffith University in Brisbane,
Growing up Aboriginal in Australia by
Childhood stories of family, country and belonging What is it like to grow up Aboriginal in Australia? This anthology, compiled by award-winning author Anita Heiss, showcases many diverse voices, experiences and stories in order to answer that question. Accounts from well-known authors and high-profile identities sit alongside those from newly discovered writers of all ages. All of the contributors speak from the heart - sometimes calling for empathy, oftentimes challenging stereotypes, always demanding respect. This groundbreaking collection will enlighten, inspire and educate about the lives of Aboriginal people in Australia today. Contributors include: Tony Birch, Deborah Cheetham, Adam Goodes, Terri Janke, Patrick Johnson, Ambelin Kwaymullina, Jack Latimore, Celeste Liddle, Amy McQuire, Kerry Reed-Gilbert, Miranda Tapsell, Jared Thomas, Aileen Walsh, Alexis West, Tara June Winch, and many, many more. Winner, Small Publisher Adult Book of the Year at the 2019 Australian Book Industry Awards 'Growing Up Aboriginal in Australia is a mosaic, its more than 50 tiles - short personal essays with unique patterns, shapes, colours and textures - coming together to form a powerful portrait of resilience.' --The Saturday Paper '... provides a diverse snapshot of Indigenous Australia from a much needed Aboriginal perspective.' --The Saturday Age
Injustice and the care of souls : taking oppression seriously in pastoral care by
Introduction / Sheryl A. Kujawa-Holbrook and Karen Brown Montagno -- Context, community, and pastoral care -- Midwives and holy subversives : resisting oppression in attending the birth of wholeness / Karen B. Montagno -- Love and power : antiracist pastoral care / Sheryl A. Kujawa-Holbrook -- Engaging diversity and difference : from practices of exclusion to practices of practical solidarity / Brita L. Gill-Austern -- Pastoral care with African American women : womanist perspectives and strategies / Marsha I. Wiggins and Carmen Braun Williams -- Pastoral care from the Latina/o margins / Miguel A. De La Torre -- Pastoral care in the context of North American Asian communities / Greer Anne Wenh-In Ng -- Pastoral care from a Jewish perspective / Howard Cohen -- Light at the end of the tunnel : pastoral care for Muslims / Ahmed Nezar M. Kobeisy -- Developing a Buddhist approach to pastoral care : a peacemaker's view / Mikel Monnett -- Oppression-sensitive pastoral practice -- The tasks of oppression-sensitive pastoral caregiving and counseling / Donald M. Chinula -- Never at ease : Black, gay, and Christian / Cheryl Giles -- Addiction, power, and the question of powerlessness / Joel Glenn Wixson -- Flowers and songs : a liturgical community approach to pastoral care / Eric H.F. Law -- The politics of tears : lamentation as justice-making / William Blaine-Wallace -- Pastoral care with persons living with HIV/AIDS / Altagracia Perez -- Ableism : the face of oppression as experienced by people with disabilities / Carolyn Thompson -- Pastoral care with transgender people / Sarah Gibb Millspaugh -- Problems or partners? : senior adults and a new story for pastoral care / Janet Ramsey -- Pastoral care and gay men : the amazing and true story of the life and death of one good man / Christopher Medeiros -- The time of no room : changing patterns in responses to homelessness in Britain / Kenneth Leech -- Loss, death, and dying from a hospice perspective / Webb Brown -- Making (ritual) sense of our own lives / Elaine J. Ramshaw.
An Introduction to Counselling by
Revised and expanded, this version of the bestselling text, An Introduction to Counselling, provides a comprehensive introduction to the theory and practice of counselling and therapy. It is written in a clear, accessible style, covers all the core approaches to counselling, and takes a critical, questioning approach to issues of professional practice. Placing each counselling approach in its social and historical context, the book also introduces a wide range of contemporary approaches, including narrative therapy, systemic, feminist and multicultural. This third edition includes a new chapter on the important emerging approach of philosophical counselling, and a chapter on the counselling relationship, as well as expanded coverage of attachment theory, counselling on the internet, and solution-focused therapy. The text has been updated throughout, with additional illustrative vignettes and case studies.
Modern Psychotherapies by
Classical Psychoanalysis Contemporary Psychodynamic Psychotherapies Behavior Therapy Cognitive Therapy Person-Centered Therapy Experiential Therapies Family Systems Theory and Therapy Modern Psychotherapies
The Oxford handbook of moral psychology by
"Moral psychology is the study of how human minds make and are made by human morality. This state-of-the-art volume covers contemporary philosophical and psychological work on moral psychology, as well as notable historical theories and figures in the field of moral psychology, such as Aristotle, Kant, Nietzsche, and the Buddha. The Oxford Handbook of Moral Psychology's fifty chapters, authored by leading figures in the field, cover foundational topics, such as character, virtue, emotion, moral responsibility, the neuroscience of morality, weakness of will, and the nature of moral judgments and reasons. The volume also canvases emerging work in applied moral psychology, including adaptive preferences, animals, mental illness, poverty, marriage, race, bias, and victim blaming. Collectively, the essays form the definitive survey of contemporary moral psychology." -- Provided by publisher.
The Oxford Handbook of Positive Psychology by
The Oxford Handbook of Positive Psychology is the seminal reference in the field of positive psychology, which in recent years has transcended academia to capture the imagination of the general public. The handbook provides a roadmap for the psychology needed by the majority of the population -- those who don't need treatment but want to achieve the lives to which they aspire. These 65 chapters summarize all of the relevant literature in the field. The content's breadth and depth provide an unparalleled cross-disciplinary look at positive psychology from diverse fields and all branches of psychology, including social, clinical, personality, counseling, school, and developmental psychology. Topics include not only happiness but also hope, strengths, positive emotions, life longings, creativity, emotional creativity, courage, and more, plus guidelines for applying what has worked for people across time and cultures.
People in Crisis by
The first edition of People in Crisis, published in 1978, established success as a comprehensive and user-friendly text for health and social service professionals. The book and its following incarnations included critical life events and life cycle transition challenges, clearly pointing out the interconnections between such events, stressful developmental changes, and their potential for growth but also danger of suicide and/or violence toward others. This revised edition includes new case examples and expanded coverage of cross-cultural content, including 'commonalities and differences' in origins, manifestations, and crisis responses. The authors illustrate the application of crisis concepts, assessment, and intervention strategies across a wide range of health and mental health settings, as well as at home, school, workplace, and in the community. Each chapter contains a closing summary that includes discussion questions, references, and online data sources for maximum application and learning. Updated chapters discuss new, research-based content on: * workplace violence and abuse * youth violence in schools and higher education settings * the use of psychotropic drugs, including for very young children in the absence of comprehensive assessment * the crisis vulnerability of war veterans and the hazards of 'pathologizing' what should be considered a 'normal' response to the repeated and catastrophic trauma of war * the intersection of socio-political factors with individuals' psychological healing from catastrophic experiences such as war and natural disaster.
The Posttraumatic Growth Workbook by
People who experience trauma often struggle with its effects, but many men and women have found meaning in their traumatic event and now experience life differently. Written by two psychologists and experts on trauma psychology--including one of the key researchers on posttraumatic growth (PTG)--this unique, evidence-based, step-by-step workbook offers a new model for processing traumatic experiences in order to gain wisdom, strength, and resilience. There is no denying the psychological and physical costs of trauma, but suffering a traumatic experience does not necessarily mean you'll develop posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and have to live with its debilitating long-term symptoms. While the process of recovering from trauma is difficult and painful, survivors also experience posttraumatic growth (PTG). And with the right approach to healing, the same challenges that create PTSD can also set the stage for a psychological rebirth. The Posttraumatic Growth Workbook expands the focus on posttraumatic stress and its related difficulties to include the significant potential for positive growth in the aftermath of trauma. With this guide, you'll learn more about traumatic experiences and their short- and long-term effects, discover where you are in your own process, explore vulnerability as an important aspect of post-traumatic strength, identify and develop other strengths for coping with--and growing beyond--your trauma, and successfully integrate your experience into your personal story. Navigating the aftereffects of trauma is a difficult journey, but many people report having a new appreciation for life and feeling even more resilient after working through their traumatic event. Using this powerful, PTG-based workbook, you'll find it's possible to come out of your trauma even stronger and wiser.
The Skilled Helper : a Problem-Management and Opportunity-Development Approach to Helping by
THE SKILLED HELPER has taught thousands of students a proven, step-by-step counseling process that leads to increased confidence and competence. Internationally recognized for its successful approach to effective helping, the text emphasizes the collaborative nature of the therapist-client relationship and uses a practical, three-stage framework that drives client problem-managing and opportunity-developing action. This eleventh edition emphasizes the "power of basics," like decision-making skills, which are the key ingredients of successful therapy. You'll also gain a feeling for the complexity inherent in any helping relationship--but don't let that reality intimidate you. The authors show you how to adopt a helping process to the needs of your clients. You'll learn not just what you need to know and understand--but also what you need to DO to be an effective helper.
Skills for Effective Counseling by
Anyone in a helping profession--including professional counselors, spiritual directors, pastoral counselors, chaplains and others--needs to develop effective communication skills. But learning these skills is like learning a new language: it takes time and practice to communicate effectively, and lack of practice can lead to the loss of one's ability to use this new language.Suitable for both beginning students and seasoned practitioners, Skills for Effective Counseling provides a biblically integrated approach to foundational counseling skills that trains the reader to use specific microskills. These skills include perceiving, attending, validating emotion and empathic connection.Chapters include textbook features such as sample session dialogues, role plays and a variety of both in-class and out-of-class exercises and reflection activities that will engage various learning styles. Strategically interwoven throughout the chapters are special topics related to:multicultural counselingbiblical/theological applicationscurrent and seminal research related to microskillsdiagnostic and theoretical implicationsclinical tips for using skills in "real world" counseling settingsthe relevance of specific microskills to interpersonal relationships and broader ministry settingsThis textbook and the accompanying IVP Instructor Resources include all of the activities and assignments that an instructor might need to execute a graduate, undergraduate or lay course in foundational counseling skills. Professors teaching within CACREP-accredited professional counseling programs will be able to connect specific material in the textbook to the latest CACREP Standards.
Spirituality in Counselling and Psychotherapy by
`Fascinating. There is much here that is controversial, thought provoking and very useful. It is encyclopaedic in its breadth and use of knowledge. [Like] rich food [it] needs to be taken in slowly, savouring every morsel!' - Thresholds `[Spirituality] has been traditionally 'taboo' within the counselling and psychotherapy profession. Denis Lines comes into this controversial scene with a rigorous-but-gentle, mystical-but-grounded, inspiring and thought-provoking voice.... The book is well written and presents the model in the context of other therapeutic modalities, which makes it interesting and useful for therapists from different backgrounds and practice settings. It could also be of use for those involved in religious education, pastoral care or anybody interested in the spiritual development of the self or the existential quest of humankind' - Therapy Today 'This gentle, mystical, empirical and scholarly book is truly inspirational and it deserves the widest possible readership among therapists, religious educators and all those who care about the spiritual destiny of humankind' - Professor Brian Thorne, Co-founder The Norwich Centre and Emeritus Professor of Counselling, University of East Anglia Spirituality in Counselling and Psychotherapy explores the idea that throughout the course of a therapeutic relationship between therapist and client, a spiritual level is reached by the two people involved. The author shows how this dimension can help clients who are living in an increasingly secular and faithless society to find some resolution with the issues they bring to therapy. By exploring different perspectives on religion and spirituality, the book provides therapists with the grounding they need to introduce spiritually-centred counselling into their practice. It describes the characteristics of spiritual counselling and covers practical considerations such as: " recognising indications from the client to move into a spiritual mode of therapy " exploring the 'self' through spiritual work within the therapeutic process, and how this can lead to healing and growth " how to deal with doubt and scepticism over issues of spirituality. The book is illustrated throughout with transcripts and case studies to show how therapists can integrate the spiritual within their own approach to therapeutic work. It will be invaluable to all those who wish to explore this dimension in their work with clients.
Theory and Practice of Counseling and Psychotherapy, Enhanced by
Incorporating the thinking, feeling, and behaving dimensions of human experience, the tenth edition of Corey's best-selling text helps you compare and contrast the therapeutic models expressed in counseling theories. Corey introduces you to the major theories (psychoanalytic, Adlerian, existential, person-centered, Gestalt, reality, behavior, cognitive-behavior, family systems, feminist, postmodern, and integrative approaches) and demonstrates how each theory can be applied to two cases ("Stan" and "Gwen"). He shows you how to apply theories in practice, and helps you learn to integrate the theories into an individualized counseling style. New learning objectives identify key aspects of each theory and focus your study.
What It Means to Be Human by
One of the Wall Street Journal's Top Ten Books of the Year A leading expert on public bioethics advocates for a new conception of human identity in American law and policy. The natural limits of the human body make us vulnerable and therefore dependent, throughout our lives, on others. Yet American law and policy disregard these stubborn facts, with statutes and judicial decisions that presume people to be autonomous, defined by their capacity to choose. As legal scholar O. Carter Snead points out, this individualistic ideology captures important truths about human freedom, but it also means that we have no obligations to each other unless we actively, voluntarily embrace them. Under such circumstances, the neediest must rely on charitable care. When it is not forthcoming, law and policy cannot adequately respond. What It Means to Be Human makes the case for a new paradigm, one that better represents the gifts and challenges of being human. Inspired by the insights of Alasdair MacIntyre and Charles Taylor, Snead proposes a vision of human identity and flourishing that supports those who are profoundly vulnerable and dependent--children, the disabled, and the elderly. To show how such a vision would affect law and policy, he addresses three complex issues in bioethics: abortion, assisted reproductive technology, and end-of-life decisions. Avoiding typical dichotomies of conservative-versus-liberal and secular-versus-religious, Snead recasts debates over these issues and situates them within his framework of embodiment and dependence. He concludes that, if the law is built on premises that reflect the fully lived reality of life, it will provide support for the vulnerable, including the unborn, mothers, families, and those nearing the end of their lives. In this way, he argues, policy can ensure that people have the care they need in order to thrive. In this provocative and consequential book, Snead rethinks how the law represents human experiences so that it might govern more wisely, justly, and humanely.
Christian Perspectives on Human Development by
Faith and the developmental cycle / LeRoy Aden -- Adult faith development and ministry / Thomas A. Droege -- Adulthood and the development of lived religion / Harry A. Van Belle -- Faith and cognitive development / Margaret A. Krych -- Anonymous faith and the psychology of identity / Neil Pembroke -- Moments of doubt and growth in faith / Mary Gaebler -- A model of relational maturity / Jared P. Pingleton -- Religious maturities of the adult / Orlo Strunk, Jr. -- The unfolding Christian self / J. Harold Ellens -- Grace and the importance of the self / Ronald H. Rottschafer -- The passive Christian and the mature self / Ronald H. Rottschafer -- Spirituality in personality and psychotherapy / David G. Benner -- The self as gift and promise / Lyman T. Lundeen -- Women and mid-life crises / F. Colleen Zabriskie -- Religious ritual and the excommunication of Ann Hibbens / Donald Capps -- Life cycle theory and the dismissal of Jonathan Edwards / Gary S. Eller -- Jesus and the age thirty transition / John W. Miller.
Counseling and Christianity by
What does authentic Christian counseling look like in practice?This volume explores how five major perspectives on the interface of Christianity and psychology would each actually be applied in a clinical setting. Respected experts associated with each of the perspectives depict how to assess, conceptualize, counsel and offer aftercare to Jake, a hypothetical client with a variety of complex issues. In each case the contributors seek to explain how theory can translate into real-life counseling scenarios.This book builds on the framework of Eric L. Johnson's Psychology & Christianity: Five Views. These include the Levels-of-Explanation Approach, the Integration Approach, the Christian Psychology Approach, the Transformational Approach and the Biblical Counseling Approach. While Counseling and Christianity can be used independently of Johnson's volume, the two can also function as useful companions.Christians who counsel, both those in practice and those still in training, will be served by this volume as it strengthens the connections between theory and practice in relating our faith to the mental health disciplines. They will finally get an answer to their persistent but unanswered question: "What would that counseling view look like behind closed doors?"
Counseling and Psychotherapy by
Combining cutting-edge expertise with deeply rooted Christian insights, this text from a leading figure in the Christian counseling community offers readers a comprehensive survey of ten major counseling and psychotherapy approaches. For each approach, Siang-Yang Tan first provides a substantial introduction, assessing the approach's effectiveness and the latest research findings or empirical evidence for it. He then critiques the approach from a Christian perspective. Tan also includes hypothetical transcripts of interventions for each major approach to help readers get a better sense of the clinical work involved. This book presents a Christian approach to counseling and psychotherapy that is Christ centered, biblically based, and Spirit filled.
Counseling Techniques by
Counseling Techniques provides a useful resource for any type of counseling practitioner. Presenting a wide variety of the most effective and commonly used techniques associated with various diagnoses, theoretical bases, and client populations, it offers experienced therapists and students alike a single, trustworthy resource for clinical reference and guidance. Each chapter includes a user-friendly, step-by-step explanation of the techniques covered. Sections survey the following: Basic types of techniques (cognitive, behavioral, experiential, and more) Techniques for children, adolescents, adults, couples, and families Techniques for a wide variety of individual and family issues, including emotional dysregulation, shame, loss, sexual abuse, trauma, domestic violence, attachment wounds, and much more Featuring a lineup of top-notch, highly experienced counselors and thoroughly integrated with a Christian worldview, Counseling Techniques will equip therapists and students in various helping disciplines for the frequent clinical issues that arise in all forms of counseling.
Embodying Integration by
Discussing spirituality and religion in the therapy room is increasingly accepted, some even forgetting that integration of psychology and Christianity was once a rare thing. Yet even as the decades-long integration movement has been so effective, the counselor's lived context in which integration happens grows increasingly complex, and the movement has reached a new turning point. Christian practitioners need a fresh look at integration in a postmodern world.In Embodying Integration, Megan Anna Neff and Mark McMinn provide an essential guide to becoming integrators today. Representing two generations of counselor education and practice, they model how to engage hard questions and consider how different theological views, gendered perspectives, and cultures integrate with psychology and counseling. "Many students," they write, "don't want models and views that tend to simplify complexity into categories. They are looking for conversation that helps them dive into the complexity, to ponder the nuances and messiness of integration." More than focusing on resolving issues, Neff and McMinn help situate wisdom through personally engaging, diverse views and narratives.Arising from conversations between an up-and-coming practitioner and her veteran integrator father, this book considers practical implications for the day-to-day realities of counseling and psychotherapy. Personal stories, dialogues between the coauthors, and discussion questions throughout help students, teachers, mental health professionals, and anyone interested in psychology and faith to enter--and continue--the conversation.
Integrative Approaches to Psychology and Christianity, Third Edition by
Professor David Entwistle's Integrative Approaches to Psychology and Christianity is now available in a fully revised 3rd edition. Changes and additions have made throughout this unique volume, including: * 42 additional pages * expanded list of models discussed * more questions for discussions, and * an updated bibliography.As disciplines, psychology and theology share an overlapping interest in the nature and functioning of human beings. This book provides an introduction to many of the worldview issues and philosophical foundations that frame the relationship of psychology and theology, includes scholarly reflection on the integration literature, and surveys five paradigms of possible relationships between psychology and Christianity. The book is designed to help readers become aware of the presuppositional backdrops that each of us brings to these issues, and to understand various approaches for relating psychology and Christianity as partly based on presuppositional assumptions. Questions at the end of each chapter are included to help readers evaluate both the material and their own burgeoning approach to integration. This book is ideal as a textbook for students of psychology and other behavioral and social sciences (social work, sociology, theology, counseling, pastoral counseling) at both the graduate and undergraduate level. It is also written for the broader readership of psychologists, counselors, pastors, and others who are interested in integration.
Psychology, Theology, and Spirituality in Christian Counseling by
The American Association of Christian Counselors and Tyndale House Publishers are committed to ministering to the spiritual needs of people. This book is part of the professional series that offers counselors the latest techniques, theory, and general information that is vital to their work. While many books have tried to integrate theology and psychology, this book takes another step and explores the importance of the spiritual disciplines in psychotherapy, helping counselors to integrate the biblical principles of forgiveness, redemption, restitution, prayer, and worship into their counseling techniques. Since its first publication in 1996, this book has quickly become a contemporary classic--a go-to handbook for integrating what we know is true from the disciplines of theology and psychology and how that impacts your daily walk with God. This book will help you integrate spiritual disciplines--such as prayer, Scripture reading, confession--into your own life and into counseling others.Mark R. McMinn, Ph.D.,is professor of psychology at Wheaton College Graduate School in Wheaton, Illinois, where he directs and teaches in the Doctor of Psychology program. A diplomate in Clinical Psychology of the American Board of Professional Psychology, McMinn has thirteen years of postdoctoral experience in counseling, psychotherapy, and psychological testing. McMinn is the author of Making the Best of Stress: How Life's Hassles Can Form the Fruit of the Spirit; The Jekyll/Hyde Syndrome: Controlling Inner Conflict through Authentic Living; Cognitive Therapy Techniques in Christian Counseling;and Christians in the Crossfire(written with James D. Foster). He and his wife, Lisa, have three daughters.
Psychology and Spiritual Formation in Dialogue by
Can the phenomena of the human mind be separated from the practices of spiritual formation--of growing to have the mind of Christ?Psychology and Spiritual Formation in Dialogue Justin L. Barrett, School of Psychology, Fuller Theological Seminary Earl D. Bland, Rosemead School of Psychology, Biola University Ellen T. Charry, Princeton Seminary John H. Coe, Biola University Robert A. Emmons, University of California, Davis Stephen Evans, Baylor University Bruce Hindmarsh, Regent College, Vancouver Marie T. Hoffman, New York University James M. Houston, Regent College, Vancouver Steven J. Sandage, David R. Paine, and Jonathan Morgan, Boston University Siang Yang Tan, School of Psychology, Fuller Theological Seminary Everett L. Worthington, Jr., Brandon J. Griffin, and Caroline R. Lavelock, Virginia Commonwealth University Edited by Thomas M. Crisp, professor of philosophy, Biola University Steve L. Porter, professor of theology, spiritual formation, and philosophy, Talbot School of Theology and Rosemead School of Psychology, Biola University Gregg Ten Elshof, professor of philosophy, Biola University Christian Association for Psychological Studies (CAPS) Books explore how Christianity relates to mental health and behavioral sciences including psychology, counseling, social work, and marriage and family therapy in order to equip Christian clinicians to support the well-being of their clients.
Social Psychology in Christian Perspective by
Why doesn?t our behavior always match what we say we believe? How and when are we most likely to be persuaded? What is the social psychology of violence? How reliable are eyewitness testimonies? Are racism and prejudice on the decline or are we just better at hiding them?
Suffering and the Heart of God by
She's seen slave dungeons in Ghana. Genocide in Rwanda. Systemic sexual abuse in Brazil. Child abuse and domestic violence in the US. After forty years of counseling abuse survivors around the world, Dr. Diane Langberg, a world renowned trauma expert, remains certain that what trauma destroys, Christ can and does restore. This book will convince you, too, of the healing heart of God. But it's not a fast process, instead much patience is required from family, friends, and counselors as they wisely and respectfully help victims unpack their traumatic suffering through talking, tears, and time. And it's not a process that can be separated from the work of God in both a counselor and counselee. Dr. Langberg calls all of those who wish to help sufferers to model Jesus's sacrificial love and care in how they listen, love, and guide. The heart of God is revealed to sufferers as they grow to understand the cross of Christ and how their God came to this earth and experienced such severe suffering that he too is "well-acquainted with grief." The cross of Christ is the lens that transforms and redeems traumatic suffering and its aftermath, not only for the sufferer, but it also transforms those who walk with the suffering. This book will be a great help to anyone who loves, listens to, and seeks to help someone impacted by trauma and abuse. There is no quick fix, but there is the hope for healing through the love of God in Christ.
Theology for Better Counseling by
At one time, Virginia Todd Holeman "Toddy" thought being biblically literate was all she needed and had little interest in what real theologians talked about. But in her counseling she found that clients pressed her for more.They didn't just want what she had gained through training in the best theories and practices available for counseling. They asked hard theological questions often related to their suffering. As she describes it, they experienced a kind of "theological disequilibrium . . . which left them discouraged, disoriented and often distraught."Holeman shows how deep and clear theological reflection can make a major difference in counseling practice. Not only can it shape who we are, it can also bring into greater alignment our theological commitments, our therapeutic practices and our professional ethics. All the while it can have the most practical effect on our counseling sessions. In this volume Holeman guides counseling students, pastoral counselors and licensed mental health professionals into becoming as well-formed theologically as they are trained clinically.
Counselling and Psychotherapy after Domestic Violence by
This is a refreshing and thought provoking book, presenting the views of female and male counselling clients about their experience of therapy after domestic violence. It brings together the existing literature and client views to present a new perspective on how to approach counselling with individuals who have experienced domestic violence.
Domestic Violence Perpetrators by
Domestic violence is a serious, widespread public, social and health problem that affects the lives of many women, children and men. There is also evidence to suggest it has one of the highest rates of recidivism. This comprehensive book provides an overview of what the research tells us about the perpetrators of domestic violence and what works, and what doesn't, in promoting positive change. Collecting together the most up-to-date evidence from the international literature and bringing psychological, sociological, gendered and socio-political theoretical perspectives to bear on the issue, the authors explore: - what domestic violence is, why it happens and how it can be measured - who the perpetrators of domestic violence are, including discussion of non-stereotypical patterns such as male victims, female perpetrators, couples where the abuse is mutual, and couples with abusive relationships who want the abuse to end but the relationship to be sustained - strategies for engaging perpetrators in interventions and for promoting behaviour change - evidence-informed interventions, programmes and policies for working with perpetrators - where robust evidence is lacking and more research needs to be undertaken. Domestic violence is a significant problem for those individuals and families whose life is affected by this issue, the social, health and criminal justice agencies that respond to it, and wider society which must bear the costs and its devastating effects. This volume is an important reference for all those researching and working with the victims, survivors and perpetrators of domestic violence, including academics and students from fields such as social work, sociology, criminology, psychology and social policy.
Narrative Therapy for Women Experiencing Domestic Violence by
For women experiencing domestic violence, narrative therapy can be a powerful tool to help them gain self-confidence and a sense of identity, resist violence, and make the transition from abuse to safety. Drawing on the narratives of women who have experienced domestic violence, this book explores how women employ strategies of resistance, and how strengthening their sense of identity can contribute to this resistance. It demonstrates how narrative therapy can be used as an effective intervention, helping women to leave abusive relationships and supporting them in moving on. The author outlines a model for intervention and discusses how to work with women whilst keeping their safety in mind. This book will be invaluable to counsellors, social workers and others working with abused women, helping them to understand, engage with and fully support women to resist and move on from abuse.
Addiction and Grace by
Here is Gerald May's brilliant and now classic exploration of the psychology and physiology of addiction. It offers an inspiring and hope-filled vision for those who desire to explore the mystery of who and what they really are. May examines the "processes of attachment" that lead to addiction and describes the relationship between addiction and spiritual awareness. He also details the various addictions from which we can suffer, not only to substances like alcohol and drugs, but to work, sex, performance, responsibility, and intimacy. Drawing on his experience as a psychiatrist working with the chemically dependent, May emphasizes that addiction represents an attempt to assert complete control over our lives.Addiction and Grace is a compassionate and wise treatment of a topic of major concern in these most addictive of times, one that can provide a critical yet hopeful guide to a place of freedom based on contemplative spirituality.
Addiction and Responsibility by
The intertwining of addiction and responsibility in personal, philosophical, legal, research, and clinical contexts. Addictive behavior threatens not just the addict's happiness and health but also the welfare and well-being of others. It represents a loss of self-control and a variety of other cognitive impairments and behavioral deficits. An addict may say, "I couldn't help myself." But questions arise: are we responsible for our addictions? And what responsibilities do others have to help us? This volume offers a range of perspectives on addiction and responsibility and how the two are bound together. Distinguished contributors--from theorists to clinicians, from neuroscientists and psychologists to philosophers and legal scholars--discuss these questions in essays using a variety of conceptual and investigative tools. Some contributors offer models of addiction-related phenomena, including theories of incentive sensitization, ego-depletion, and pathological affect; others address such traditional philosophical questions as free will and agency, mind-body, and other minds. Two essays, written by scholars who were themselves addicts, attempt to integrate first-person phenomenological accounts with the third-person perspective of the sciences. Contributors distinguish among moral responsibility, legal responsibility, and the ethical responsibility of clinicians and researchers. Taken together, the essays offer a forceful argument that we cannot fully understand addiction if we do not also understand responsibility.
Concepts of Chemical Dependency by
Doweiko's comprehensive text reflects the current explosion of information regarding the understanding, identification, and treatment of addictive disorders. In addition to his thorough examination of the use and abuse of alcohol, tobacco, barbiturates, amphetamines, cocaine, opiates, and hallucinogens, and his solid strategies for working with clients, Doweiko discusses topics frequently left out of other books--such as aerosols, steroids, and over-the-counter analgesics. Additionally, the text investigates such salient topics as the differences between abusers and addicts; drug effects on children, teenagers, and pregnant and nursing women; and children of alcoholics--ensuring that students gain a professional's understanding of one of the most pressing issues of our time.
Fundamentals of addiction : a practical guide for counsellors by
Revised edition of: Alcohol & drug problems / edited by Susan Harrison and Virginia Carver. 3rd edition. c2004.
Healing the Scars of Addiction by
The wreckage of addiction lies scattered around too many people--from the one who is or was addicted to those in relationship with that person. Age-old culprits of drugs, alcohol, and gambling are joined by newer addictions, such as food, prescription medication, shopping, pornography, and technology. Left unaddressed, addiction devastates lives now and makes it difficult to see a positive way forward. For anyone struggling with an addiction, attempting to live in recovery, or seeking to understand the mind of an addict they love, Dr. Jantz's newest book is a lifeline. In it he helps readers answer tough questions, such as - Am I an addict? - Why is the first step so hard? - How can I put my life back together? - Where do I go from here? Addiction doesn't have to have the last word. Healing the Scars of Addiction offers a holistic approach to healing so that readers can reclaim their lives and move forward in hope.
The Quick-Reference Guide to Addictions and Recovery Counseling by
Two highly respected authorities on mental health offer a practical, comprehensive, and biblical guide to counseling those struggling with addiction issues.
Relapse and Recovery in Addictions by
No description available.
The Soul of Recovery by
Millions of alcoholics and addicts recover through spirituality. In The Soul of Recovery: Uncovering the Spiritual Dimension in the Treatment of Addictions, author and journalist Christopher D. Ringwald tells how and why they seek and achieve these transformations.Ranging as far back as the Washingtonian Total Abstinence Society in 1840, Ringwald illuminates the use of spirituality within a wide range of treatment options--from the famous Twelve Step-style programs to those tailored to the needs of addicted women, Native Americans, or homeless teensnot ready to quit. Focusing on the results rather than the validity of beliefs espoused by these programs, he demonstrates how addicts recover through practices such as self-examination, meditation, prayer and reliance on a self-defined higher power. But the most compelling evidence ofspirituality's importance comes from those directly involved in the process. Ringwald traveled across the country to visit dozens of programs and interview hundreds of addicts, alcoholics, counselors, family members, doctors and scientists. Many share moving stories of suffering, survival, andredemption. A homeless man, a surgeon, a college student, a working mother-each describes the descent into addiction and how spirituality offered a practical, personal means to recovery. Ringwald also examines the controversies surrounding faith-based treatment and the recovery movement, from theconflict between science and spirituality, to skepticism about the "new age" brand of spirituality these programs encourage, to constitutional issues over court-mandated participation in allegedly religious treatment programs.Combining in-depth research with powerful personal accounts, this fascinating exploration of spirituality will provide a fuller understanding of the nature of addiction and how people overcome it.
The Thirteenth Step by
A leading physician scientist explains why, despite major advances in our understanding of addiction, treatment continues to be ineffective--even harmful--and how we can achieve better outcomes.
Wired for Intimacy by
Pornography is powerful. Our contemporary culture as been pornified, and it shapes our assumptions about identity, sexuality, the value of women and the nature of relationships. Countless Christian men struggle with the addictive power of porn. But common spiritual approaches of more prayer and accountability groups are often of limited help.In this book neuroscientist and researcher William Struthers explains how pornography affects the male brain and what we can do about it. Because we are embodied beings, viewing pornography changes how the brain works, how we form memories and make attachments. By better understanding the biological realities of our sexual development, we can cultivate healthier sexual perspectives and interpersonal relationships. Struthers exposes false assumptions and casts a vision for a redeemed masculinity, showing how our sexual longings can actually propel us toward sanctification and holiness in our bodies.With insights for both married and single men alike, this book offers hope for freedom from pornography.
Effective Grief and Bereavement Support by 
Principles and practice of grief counseling by
"The authors view the practice of grief counseling as a unique specialized area of practice.Although counseling in general is meant to address issues that occur in everyday life, and loss is certainly a universal experience, they wanted to be able to focus upon grief as a painful but adaptive process, with some unique features that separate it from other types of issues that are addressed in general counseling and therapy practice. They believe a key aspect of grief counseling is that it does not focus upon what is wrong, but rather on what is right about the grieving process, and the emphasis is upon how practitioners may facilitate the healthy unfolding of the adaptive aspects of this process rather than on its containment. One other unique feature of this book is the discussion of grief as a response to losses that are death related and nondeath related, tangible and intangible in their description. An individual does not have to lose a loved one to death in order to grieve; grief can occur after placing a loved one with advanced dementia in a long-term care facility, with the ending of an intimate relationship, with the loss of hopes and dreams, and with the loss of self that may accompany life-altering events. Grief is viewed as an adaptive response to experiences that challenge our assumptions about how the world should work, and how we view ourselves and others within that world. Although an entire chapter is devoted to this topic, this broader view of grief will be woven through all of the material that is presented in the various chapters"-- Provided by publisher.
Christian Counseling Ethics by
"For the clients who see us in counseling . . . theological purity will make little difference if we do not practice with ethical integrity."Randolph K. Sanders, from chapter oneThe work of psychotherapy and counseling is full of ethical challenges and dilemmas. Responding to these situations with wisdom is critical, not only for the professional's credibility, but also for good therapeutic relationships and positive treatment outcomes. Since its first publication, Christian Counseling Ethics has become a standard reference work for Christian psychologists, counselors and pastors and a key text at Christian universities and seminaries. This thoroughly revised edition retains core material on counseling ethics that has made it so valuable in a variety of settings. Now fully updated, it weighs and assesses new and emerging ethical issues in the field. For example, the current volume explores ethical issues involved in:multiple relationshipsconfidentialitydocumentationtherapist competence and characteraddressing spiritual and value issues in therapyteletherapyindividual and couples therapycounseling with minorspsychological first aid after disasterscounseling crossculturallyIn addition, the book considers dilemmas Christian therapists face in specific settings such as:church-based counseling centersgovernment and military institutionsmissions organizationscollege counseling centersPsychologist Randolph Sanders has assembled a distinguished team of clinicians and academicians to address the issues. They include W. Brad Johnson, Alan Tjeltveit, Everett Worthington, Sally Schwer Canning, Siang-Yang Tan, Tamara Anderson, Stanton Jones, Jennifer Ripley, Angela Sabates, Mark Yarhouse, Richard Butman and Cynthia Eriksson.
Ethics and decision making in counseling and psychotherapy by
"Ethics and Decision Making in Counseling and Psychotherapy has a distinct and timely focus on counseling as a profession. Chapters address the mental health professions, values in counseling, decision making, ethical principles, ethical standards, technology, ethical climate, and office/administrative practices. The early chapters present a foundation for ethical practice of the profession and provides solid building blocks to the more advanced perspectives in later chapters. Chapters on specialty practice are lively and contemporary overviews of these practice areas in counseling that reflect more recent trends to increased differentiation of these areas of practice. Each specialty has its own chapter to allow for an extended discussion of the unique aspects of the field that provide clarity to understanding the particular ethical issues and standards that apply in each specialty. The specialty areas recognized by CACREP are included: mental health counseling; school counseling; couple, marital, and family counseling; rehabilitation counseling; addictions counseling; career counseling; and group counseling. This book is broad in its coverage of the most practiced specialties in mental health practice, and provides an efficient and effective overview of the broad scope of particular areas addressed in counseling"-- Provided by publisher
Christianity and Developmental Psychopathology by
2014 Midwest Publishing Association Award of Excellence (School Publishing)Since its origin in the early 1980s, the field of developmental psychopathology has become a highly influential framework for approaching the clinical treatment of children. Until now there has been no effort to integrate this framework with a Christian understanding of psychopathology. The essays in this volume break new ground by providing Christian mental health professionals with a theoretically and empirically sound basis for working with children, adolescents and families. Throughout the book, the authors explore three integrative themes, looking at children as divine gifts, as persons and as agents in their own development.Given the deep biblical and theological interest in children and the "least of these," there is great potential in this integrative work for mutual enrichment. Christian insights help to prevent the scientific study of the developmental process from being reductive. At the same time, research into the biological, sociocultural and psychological dimensions of human development can serve to inform and guide Christian practices of care and hospitality toward children and families. Christianity and Developmental Psychopathology makes an important contribution to a conversation that is still in its infancy.
Counseling across the lifespan : prevention and treatment by
This practical book helps readers provide effective mental, emotional, and behavioral health services to clients across the continuum of care, from health promotion through long-term treatment and remediation. Anchoring each chapter within a life stage-from childhood through older adulthood-the text identifies the nature and origin of various psychological issues and emphasizes the importance of anticipating and responding early to concerns that arise for large portions of the population. The Second Edition features new chapters and expanded coverage of important topics, such as sociocultural contextual factors and interprofessional health perspectives.
Counseling Older People by
This book provides insight into the primary issues faced by older adults; the services and benefits available to them; and the knowledge base, techniques, and skills necessary to work effectively in a therapeutic relationship. Dr. Kampfe offers empirically and anecdotally based strategies and interventions for dealing with clients' personal concerns and describes ways counselors can advocate for older people on a systemic level. Individual and group exercises are incorporated throughout the book to enhance its practicality. Topics covered include an overview of population demographics and characteristics; counseling considerations and empowering older clients; successful aging; mental health and wellness; common medical conditions; multiple losses and transitions; financial concerns; elder abuse; veterans' issues; sensory loss; changing family dynamics; managing Social Security and Medicare; working after retirement age; retirement transitions, losses, and gains; residential options; and death and dying. *Requests for digital versions from ACA can be found on www.wiley.com. *To purchase print copies, please visit the ACA website. *Reproduction requests for material from books published by ACA should be directed to permissions@counseling.org.
Counselling for Death and Dying by
This book contains forewords by Sheila Haugh and Grace H Chickadonz respectively - Senior Lecturer Psychotherapy, Centre for Psychological Therapies, Leeds Metropolitan University; Center for Human Encouragement, Rochester, New York, USA. What happens to a person emotionally, psychologically and spiritually when confronted by the reality of the death of a loved one, the impending death of someone close to them, or their own death? As with the other volumes of the "Living Therapy" series, "Counselling for Death and Dying" is composed of fictitious dialogues between clients and their counsellors, and between the counsellors and their supervisors. Within the dialogues are woven the reflective thoughts and feelings of the clients, the counsellors and the supervisors, along with boxed comments on the process and references to person-centred theory. It is intended as much for experienced counsellors as it is for trainees and provides real insight into what can occur during counselling sessions. The book will also be of great value to the many health and social care professionals who, whilst they may specialise in other areas, will find that the issues dealt with in this volume have impact on the work they are doing. For them, the text demystifies what can occur in therapy, and provides useful ways of working that may be used by professionals other than counsellors. 'Richard has a deep understanding of theory and practice and has brought this understanding to this greatly neglected area in person-centred literature. [He] has the talent as a writer to honour the client, the counsellor/therapist, the supervisor and the process in all its intricacies. Richard has produced a book that, to my mind, captures the pain, the joy, the challenge of being with someone bereaved and someone facing death. The book also captures the pain and hurt and confusion of being that person who is bereaved or facing death.' - Sheila Haugh, in her Foreword. 'What is most striking about the dialogues is the realness of the feelings present in this all too human experience as lived by the clients. What is most beautiful is the relationship of acceptance shared in being in this most intimate place together as client and therapist. The healing that occurs is understandable in the strength of their connectedness.' - Grace H Chickadonz, in her Foreword.
Essential Skills in Family Therapy, Third Edition by
Many students and beginning clinicians have relied on this engaging, authoritative text--now revised and expanded--to hit the ground running in real-world clinical practice. Focusing on what works, the authors show how to flexibly draw on multiple theories and techniques to conduct comprehensive assessments, develop collaborative treatment plans, and intervene effectively for frequently encountered clinical concerns. Mental health skills needed by all therapists are interwoven with state-of-the-art family therapy knowledge. Illustrated with instructive case examples and vignettes, the book helps the reader navigate typical dilemmas and troubleshoot when treatment gets "stuck." New to This Edition *Discussions of addictive behaviors (pornography, gambling, video games, social media); children's brain development; premarital counseling; divorce therapy; preventing premature terminations; and uses of technology in clinical practice. *Chapter on working with older adults and their caregivers. *Revised throughout with current research and evidence-based practice recommendations. *Extensively rewritten chapter on treatment planning. *Chapter-opening vignettes, plus new and revised case examples throughout. *New assessment resources, including an Appendix on screening instruments. See also the authors' Essential Assessment Skills for Couple and Family Therapists, which shows how to weave assessment into all phases of therapy, and Clinician's Guide to Research Methods in Family Therapy.
Family Therapies by
Christian therapists doing family therapy have never had a resource to help them navigate the various family therapy theories from a Christian perspective--until now.In this book Mark A. Yarhouse and James N. Sells survey the major approaches to family therapy and treat, within a Christian framework, significant psychotherapeutic issues. The wide array of issues covered includescrisis and traumamarital conflictseparation, divorce and blended familiesindividual psychopathologysubstance abuse and addictionsgender, culture, economic class and racesexual identityCalling for an integrated approach of "responsible eclecticism," they conclude with a vision for Christian family therapy.A landmark work providing critical Christian engagement with existing models of family therapy, this volume was written for those studying counseling, social work, psychology or family therapy. Family Therapies will also serve as an indispensable resource for those in the mental health professions, including counselors, psychologists, family therapists, social workers and pastors.
Family Therapy by
Family Therapy: An Introduction to Process, Practice and Theory is a primer for students, professionals, and trainees to understand how family therapists conceptualize the problems people bring to therapy, utilize basic therapeutic skills to engage clients in the therapeutic process, and navigate the predominant models of family therapy. This text walks readers through each of these main areas via a straightforward writing style where they are provided with exercises and questions to help them develop the basic concepts and tools of being a family therapist. Upon finishing this book, students will have the foundational skills and knowledge needed to work relationally and systemically with clients.
Family Therapy by
This current, engaging, and practice-oriented text is your complete resource for mastering the many facets of family therapy. In this Seventh Edition of their respected text, Irene and Herbert Goldenberg examine and explain traditional and evolving viewpoints, perspectives, values, intervention techniques, and goals of family therapy. The authors provide practice-oriented content that will help you become an empathic and effective family therapist. The new edition includes the latest references and contemporary thinking on central issues such as family resiliency, alternative forms of family life today, gender, culture, and ethnic considerations. This edition also contains the American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy Code of Ethics-a great reference that will help you understand the importance of ethical practices.
Family Therapy Skills and Techniques in Action by
Please watch the following short video advertisement for the book, featuring the Editors: https://www.youtube.com/watch'v=N1ApHAQIMzQ&feature=youtu.be Relationships are a resource for healing a range of psychological difficulties. This is the fundamental principle of family therapy, an increasingly influential form of psychotherapy that is building up a strong evidence base in a range of psychological problems across the life cycle. Family Therapy Skills and Techniques in Action is both a guide to a variety of family therapy techniques and a review of their history. It provides a thorough explanation of the techniques, explaining their origins and use in contemporary family practice, whilst guiding readers in learning new skills. The authors provide film examples and transcripts of the techniques in action so that readers can develop their skills in a practical way. The book is divided into sections that describe and demonstrate skills such as: Assessing a family; Building a therapeutic relationship with multiple family members; Enactment; Reframing; Using circular questions; 'Externalising' the problem; Using family therapy skills in individual work; Understanding and utilising systemic supervision. Family Therapy Skills and Techniques in Action will be an essential practical manual for a range of family therapy skills which can be used in family work by family practitioners from a variety of backgrounds: counsellors, support workers, social workers, psychologists, generic therapists and nurses.
Family Ties That Bind by
Improve your personal relationships. Most people's lives are complicated by family relationships. Birth order, our parents' relationship, and the "rules" we were brought up with can affect our self-esteem and relationships with spouses, children, and other family members. Family of Origin therapy and techniques can help you create better relationships. This easy-to-read, practical book explains how families function and what you can do to change the way you act in your family and with other people. Exercises show how to apply the principles to your own situation and develop a more positive approach to all aspects of your life. Topics covered include: * What makes it so difficult to be myself with my family? * How is my relationship with my spouse affected by how my family acted when I was a child? * Will my parents still love me if I let them know my real feelings? * How has my birth order and my gender affected my personality? * What birth order in a spouse is the best match for me? * Why do I always feel rejected when my spouse disagrees with me? * How can I change the way I react? * What role does my family history play in my life? * How can I improve my communication skills?Step-by-step exercises show how to make contact with "lost" family members, how to interview relatives to develop a clearer picture of how each member fits into the family tree, and how to find different and better ways of dealing with family relationships. Professionals will also find this book a useful companion to their therapy sessions with clients.
Foundations of Couples, Marriage, and Family Counseling by
Foundations of Couples, Marriage, and Family Counseling A newly updated and practical approach to marriage, couples, and family counseling Now in its second edition, Foundations of Couples, Marriage, and Family Counseling delivers a comprehensive treatment of current theory, research, and real-life practice in family therapy. The text is fully aligned with the Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP) and Commission on Accreditation for Marriage and Family Therapy Education (COAMFTE). It covers foundational and advanced topics of critical importance to student counselors and therapists seeking to work in family settings, including sexuality, trauma, divorce, domestic violence, addictions, filial play therapy, and the positioning of culture and context in family therapy. The new edition includes updated content in each chapter and entirely new chapters on assessments and helping families mitigate, adapt, and transition during crisis. This important book: Covers the basic knowledge and skills essential to students and practitioners of couples and family therapy Details the history, concepts, and techniques associated with crucial theories, and includes a new chapter on the most up to date assessment strategies Tackles contemporary issues and interventions in trauma, divorce, domestic violence, sexuality, and more At once comprehensive and concise, the Second Edition of Foundations of Couples, Marriage, and Family Counseling offers readers a guide to the complex and interconnected concepts required to support a full understanding of couples and family therapy.
Helping Traumatized Families by
The new edition of the classic Helping Traumatized Families not only offers clinicians a unified, evidence-based theory of the systemic impact of traumatic stress--it also details a systematic approach to helping families heal by promoting their natural healing resources. Though the impact of trauma on a family can be growth producing, some families either struggle or fail to adapt successfully. Helping Traumatized Families guides practitioners around common pitfalls and toward a series of evidence-based strategies that they can use to help families feel empowered and ultimately to thrive by developing tools for enhancing resilience and self-regulation.
An introduction to family therapy : systemic theory and practice by
No description available.
Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder by
Examine the fourth largest mental health problem in America--OCD--and how YOU can help! Since obsessive-compulsive disorder affects 2.5% of the world population, someone you know is likely to have this disorder. Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder: A Guide for Family, Friends, and Pastors is a handy "physician's assistant" that not only provides a fresh overview of OCD but also focuses on the issue of scrupulosity--obsessive-compulsive anxiety over scruples in self and others--as a religious issue. Written by a pastoral counselor who is also a clinical social worker, this book will help you gain insight into the psychological and neurological dimensions of the disorder, the problems of those suffering from OCD, and the development of support groups. Written with extensive knowledge and deep compassion, Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder: A Guide for Family, Friends, and Pastors presents the latest information available on OCD and its effects upon sufferers and their personal relationships. The information is discussed in both pastoral as well as therapeutic aspects, explaining OCD in the brain, then continuing with ways to help a sufferer manage the conflict. Special attention is paid to the issue of scrupulosity--"seeing sin where there is no sin"--which is especially symptomatic for many Roman Catholics, Orthodox Jews, and Orthodox Muslims. Filled with insightful case studies and a useful bibliography, this book helps you understand OCD from all sides while giving effective strategies for individual and group therapy. In Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder: A Guide for Family, Friends, and Pastors you will find: answers to the most frequently asked questions detailed explanations of terms insightful information on pastoral caring an in-depth exploration of scrupulosity helpful information on trichotillomania (hair pulling), kleptomania (stealing), Tourette's syndrome, body dysmorphoric disorder (hatred of a particular body part), and hypochondriasis case studies highlighting personal and relationship issues resources for developing support groups resources for further information on OCD A Guide for Family, Friends, and Pastors is for pastors, pastoral counselors, chaplains, lay ministries, social workers, psychiatric nurses, marriage counselors, and for anyone who cares about someone with OCD.
Rebuilding Attachments with Traumatized Children by
Learn to build the trust you need to help children in crisis! Rebuilding Attachments with Traumatized Children: Healing from Losses, Violence, Abuse, and Neglect is a therapeutic guide to helping troubled children move beyond the traumatic experiences that haunt them. Author Dr. Richard Kagan, Director of Psychological Services for Parsons Child and Family Center in Albany, New York, presents comprehensive information on how to understand--and surmount--the impact of loss, neglect, separation, and violence on children's development, how to discover and foster strengths in children and their families, and how to rebuild connections and hope for children who are at risk of harm to themselves and others. This unique book is designed to be used in tandem with Real Life Heroes: A Life Storybook for Children (Haworth), an innovative workbook that helps children develop the self-esteem they need to overcome the worries and fears of their past through a creative arts approach that fosters positive values and a sense of pride. Rebuilding Attachments with Traumatized Children helps children move from negative or suppressed memories to a more positive perspective, not by denying hardships, but by drawing strength from the supportive people in their lives. Practitioners can use the book as a framework and detailed guide to assessment, engagement, development of service plans, and implementation of attachment and trauma therapy. The book is a comprehensive model for working to build the trust necessary before other trauma therapy approaches can be successfully initiated. Topics examined in Rebuilding Attachments with Traumatized Children include: attachment theory and research types of attachment problems PTSD behaviors permanency work with children in placement ADHD, bipolar, and RAD cognitive behavioral therapies storytelling therapies the myth of perfection neuropsychological patterns and much more! Rebuilding Attachments with Traumatized Children is a rich resource for practitioners, academics, parents, adoptive parents, foster parents, grandparents, and anyone working to show troubled children how to learn from the past, resolve problems in the present, and build a better future.
Things I Wish I'd Known Before We Got Married by
"Most people spend far more time in preparation for their vocation than they do in preparation for marriage." With more than 45 years of experience counseling couples, Gary has found that most marriages suffer due to a lack of preparation and a failure to learn to work together as intimate teammates. So he put together this practical little book, packed with wisdom and tips that will help many develop the loving, supportive, and mutually beneficial marriage they envision, such as: What the adequate foundation for a successful marriage truly is What to expect about the roles and influence of extended family How to solve disagreements without arguing How to talk through issues like money, sex, chores, and more Why couples must learn how to apologize and forgive Ideal for newly married couples and those considering marriage, the material lends itself to heart-felt, revealing, and critical conversations for relational success. Read this bookand you'll be prepared for--not surprised by--the challenges of marriage. - Bonus features include: Book suggestions and an interactive websites to enhance the couples' experience "Talking it Over" questions and suggestions to jumpstart conversations over each chapter Appendix on healthy dating relationships and an accompanying learning exercise
Transforming the Legacy by
To serve the increasing numbers of individuals who have endured childhood trauma, survived interpersonal and domestic violence, or as refugees, have sought asylum from political violence, armed conflict, or torture, the authors present an innovative couple therapy model grounded in a synthesis of psychological and social theories. Replete with case histories, the book emphasize how couple therapy transforms the legacies of childhood traumatic events (i.e., sexual, physical, and/or emotional abuse).
The Anatomy of Motive by
Legendary FBI profiling pioneer John Douglas's theory is that once you figure out the motivating force driving a perpetrator, you've got a good chance of cracking the case. In THE ANATOMY OF MOTIVE he uses cases from his own career to illustrate his argument. He takes us further than ever before into the dark corners of the minds of arsonists, hijackers, serial and spree killers and mass murderers. THE ANATOMY OF MOTIVE analyses such diverse killers as Lee Harvey Oswald and Timothy McVeigh - and helps us learn to anticipate potential violent behaviour before it's too late.
The Commandant of Auschwitz by
The renowned WWII historian's definitive biography of the notorious German SS officer convicted of war crimes for his role in the Holocaust. Described as one of the greatest mass-murderers in history, Rudolf Höss was the longest-serving commandant of the Auschwitz concentration and extermination camps in Nazi-occupied Poland. He was one of the chief architects behind Hitler's Final Solution. In The Commandant of Auschwitz, Volker Koop details Höss's military career, his conversion to Nazi ideology, and his ruthless commitment to the Nazi cause. At the age of fourteen, Höss joined the 21st Regiment of Dragoons and rose through the ranks to become the youngest non-commissioned officer in the German Army. After joining the Nazi party in 1922, he was convicted of participating in at least one political assassination, for which he spent six years in prison. In 1934, Höss became a Block Leader at Dachau concentration camp. By 1940, he would be given command of his own camp near the town of Auschwitz. Charged with carrying out the Final Solution of the Jewish question, Höss set about his task with relish. By his own estimation, he was responsible for the deaths of at least 3,000,000 individuals. Justice caught up with Höss after the German surrender. He was arrested on March 11th, 1946, after a year of posing as a gardener under a false name. He was found guilty of war crimes and hanged on April 16th, 1947.
Julian Assange : the Unauthorised Autiobiography by
In the midst of allegations about his personal life, and angry denunciations of American politicians after US Embassy Cable releases, Julian Assange began writing the story of his life. This book describes not only the work of WikiLeaks, but the moral and political development of its founder, from his childhood in Australia to the present day.
Psychiatric Power by
In this new addition to the Collège de France Lecture Series Michel Foucault explores the birth of psychiatry, examining Western society's division of 'mad' and 'sane' and how medicine and law influenced these attitudes. This seminal new work by a leading thinker of the modern age opens new vistas within historical and philosophical study.
Too much and never enough how my family created the world's most dangerous man by
In this revelatory, authoritative portrait of Donald J. Trump and the toxic family that made him, Mary L. Trump, a trained clinical psychologist and Donald’s only niece, shines a bright light on the dark history of their family in order to explain how her uncle became the man who threatened the world’s health, economic security and social fabric.
Mary Trump spent much of her childhood in her grandparents’ large, imposing house in New York, where Donald and his four siblings grew up. She describes a nightmare of traumas, destructive relationships and a tragic combination of neglect and abuse. She explains how specific events and general family patterns created the damaged man who went on to occupy the Oval Office, including the strange and harmful relationship between Fred Trump and his two oldest sons, Fred Jr. and Donald.
A first-hand witness, Mary brings an incisive wit and unexpected humour to sometimes grim, often confounding family events. She recounts in unsparing detail everything from her uncle Donald’s place in the family spotlight and Ivana’s penchant for regifting to her grandmother’s frequent injuries and illnesses and the appalling way Donald, Fred Trump’s favourite son, dismissed and derided him when he began to succumb to Alzheimer’s.
Numerous pundits, armchair psychologists and journalists have sought to explain Donald Trump’s lethal flaws. Mary Trump has the education, insight and intimate familiarity needed to reveal what makes Donald, and the rest of her clan, tick. She alone can recount this fascinating, unnerving saga, not just because of her insider’s perspective but also because she is the only Trump willing to tell the truth about one of the world’s most powerful and dysfunctional families.
