The journal of the Evangelical Homiletics SocietyThe Journal of the Evangelical Homiletics Society (JEHS) is a professional peer-reviewed international journal published twice a year and contains articles on homiletics, book reviews, and sermons. Organized in 1997, the Evangelical Homiletics Society is an academic society established for the exchange of ideas related to the instruction of biblical preaching. The purpose of the Society is to advance the cause of biblical preaching through the promotion of a biblical-theological approach to preaching; to increase competence for teachers of preaching; to integrate the fields of communication, biblical studies, and theology; to make scholarly contributions to the field of homiletics.
The Word Among Us"The Word Among Us is intended to assist people in reading, meditating on and understanding scripture [and to] provide sound, practical advice for Catholics on the living out of the Christian life... We can have a relationship of love and friendship with the Son of God."
HomileticHomiletic is a scholarly forum in homiletics and a review of publications in religious communication. It is a freely accessible, peer-reviewed journal.
Homiletic is sponsored by the Academy of Homiletics. Editorial support for Homiletic is provided by the Divinity School and Graduate Department of Religion at Vanderbilt University. Hosting of the journal and technical support is provided by the Vanderbilt University Libraries.
Key Databases
The University of Divinity has access to a variety of online databases. This page provides access to the most relevant databases for your research. To access our A - Z Database list, click here.
Atla Religion Database with Atla Serials PLUSThis link opens in a new windowAtlaSerials PLUS® (Atlas PLUS® ) includes more than 530+ full-text journals in many diverse areas of religion and theology, with full-text content in more than 20 languages from more than 35 different countries. Atlas PLUS includes all of the titles in Atla’s original full-text product, AtlaSerials® (Atlas®) and 170+ additional full-text titles.
Coverage dates from 1949 to the present with retrospective indexing for some journal issues as far back as the nineteenth century. Journals are selected for inclusion according to their scholarly merit and scope.
ATLA RDB contains more than 1.8 million records, including:
1,800+ journal titles in total (646 which are currently being indexed)
672,200+ journal article records
267,300+ essay records
18,000+ multi-author works
612,100+ review records
301,900+ book records
EBSCO Religion & Philosophy CollectionThis link opens in a new windowEbsco RPC is a full-text database containing over 300 journals in the fields of religion, theology and philosophy.
It provides extensive coverage in subject areas such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
Jesuit Online BibliographyThe Jesuit Online Bibliography is a free, collaborative, multilingual, and fully searchable database of bibliographic records for scholarship in Jesuit Studies produced in the 21st century.
This project provides the citations, abstracts, subject categories, and direct links for books, book chapters, journal articles, book reviews, dissertations, conference papers, and other scholarly works related to the study of Jesuits and the Society of Jesus.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowJSTOR is one of the most popular databases allowing you to search full-text scholarly journals on all subjects areas from 1700 onwards. I
t is a continually expanding multi-disciplinary archive of scholarly material in the social sciences and humanities and the sciences. It includes the archives of over 1,000 journals, monographs, newspapers and selected conference proceedings. Access is provided to the complete scanned image of the item. Journals are available from volume 1, issue 1, however the most recently published journal issues are not available.
Oxford Handbooks OnlineThis link opens in a new windowOxford Handbooks Online is an outstanding collection of the best Handbooks areas across many different subject areas.
One of the most prestigious and successful strands of Oxford's scholarly publishing, the Handbook series contains in-depth, high-level articles by scholars at the top of their field. Religion and Philosophy Collections only
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of ReligionThis link opens in a new windowWith over 250 articles available, the ORE provides in-depth overviews of the major areas of research and will continue to grow with the field over time.
The Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Religion is part of the larger online Oxford Research Encyclopedia, a dynamic digital encyclopedia continuously updated by the world’s leading scholars and researchers.
Oxford Scholarship Online: Religion ModuleThis link opens in a new windowOxford Scholarship Online (OSO) is a vast and rapidly-expanding research library, and has grown to be one of the leading academic research resources in the world.
OSO offers full-text access to scholarly works from multiple disciplines with the Religion module providing access to award-winning Oxford University Press scholarship in this subject area.
ProQuest Religion & Philosophy eBooksThis link opens in a new windowThis subscription database includes more than 14,000 eBook titles with coverage spanning all religion & philosophy topics with exceptional strength in philosophy, theology and world religions.
The subscription includes renowned publishers such as Brill Academic Publishers, Walter de Gruyter, Oxford University Press (OUP), Catholic University of America Press, University of Notre Dame Press, Syracuse University Press, Marquette Press and Society of Biblical Literature. Currently available on the ebrary platform and will be available on the coming ProQuest Ebook Central platform.
Twentieth Century Religious Thought LibraryThis link opens in a new windowTwentieth Century Religious Thought Library is a multivolume, cross-searchable online collection that brings together the seminal works and archival materials related to worldwide religious thinkers from the early 1900s until the first decade of the 21st century.
Some of the authors represented from the Christian tradition include: Hans Urs von Baltasar, Karl Barth, Sergius Bulgakov, Dietrich Bonhoeffer, Rudolf Bultmann, Helder Camara, James Cone, Ivone Gebara, Gustavo Gutierrez, Adolf von Harnack, Henri de Lubac, Reinhold Niebuhr, Wolfhart Pannenberg, Rosemary Radford Ruether, Dorothee Solle, and John Howard Yoder. Twentieth Century Religious Thought Library provides resources to further explore Christian-Muslim-Jewish relations and key concepts in theology across religions. It supports research and teaching in comparative religion, theology, world religion, religion and law, religion and politics, and serves as an important resource for courses and scholarship in Middle Eastern studies, social theory, feminist studies, philosophy, and world history.
The Library includes 3 sub collections:
Twentieth Century Religious Thought: Vol I, Christianity
Twentieth Century Religious Thought: Vol II, Islam
The Digital Karl Barth Library
