To find resources on biblical studies, select the Subject search on the Advanced Search of the catalogue. For this particular subject, some of the search terms that will get you the largest number of relevant results are:
Alternatively, below is a list of prominent figures in the world of Biblical Scholarship. Clicking on any of the names below takes you to publications by that author held in University of Divinity Libraries;
The Aramaic Bible by
The twenty-six essays in this volume represent the papers read at the international Conference on the Aramiac Bible held in Dublin (1992). The purpose of the Conference was to bring together leading specialists on the Targums and related topics to discuss issues in the light of recent developments, for instance Second Temple interpretation of the Scriptures, Qumran Literature, targumic and Palestinian Aramaic, new Genizah manuscripts, Jewish tradition, Origen's Hexapla, Pseudepigrapha, Apocrypha and the Christian West. The papers are arranged under seven headings: Targum Texts and Editions; The Aramaic Language: The Targums and Jewish Biblical Interpretation; Targums of the Pentateuch; Targums of the Hagiographa; Targums and New Testament; Jewish Traditions and Christian Writings. The international team, drawn from nine countries, is as follows (following the order of the papers); M. Klein, S. Reif, L. Diez Merino, R. Gordon, M. McNamara, S.A. Kaufman, E. Cook, M. Hengel, O. Betz, A. Shinan, J. Ribera, B. Grossfeld, P.V.M. Flesher, G. Boccaccini, M. Maher, R. Hayward, R. Syren, P.S. Alexander, D.R.G. Beattie, C. Mangan, B. Ego, M. Wilcox, B. Chilton, G.J. Norton, B. Kedar Kopstein, M. Stone.
The Bible with and Without Jesus by
The editors of The Jewish Annotated New Testament show how and why Jews and Christians read many of the same Biblical texts - including passages from the Pentateuch, the Prophets, and the Psalms - differently. Exploring and explaining these diverse perspectives, they reveal more clearly Scripture's beauty and power. Esteemed Bible scholars and teachers Amy-Jill Levine and Marc Z. Brettler take readers on a guided tour of the most popular Hebrew Bible passages quoted in the New Testament to show what the texts meant in their original contexts and then how Jews and Christians, over time, understood those same texts. Passages include the creation of the world, the role of Adam and Eve, the Suffering Servant of Isiah, the book of Jonah, and Psalm 22, whose words, "My God, my God, why have you forsaken me," Jesus quotes as he dies on the cross. Comparing various interpretations - historical, literary, and theological - of each ancient text, Levine and Brettler offer deeper understandings of the original narratives and their many afterlives. They show how the text speaks to different generations under changed circumstances, and so illuminate the Bible's ongoing significance. By understanding the depth and variety by which these passages have been, and can be, understood, The Bible With and Without Jesus does more than enhance our religious understandings, it helps us to see the Bible as a source of inspiration for any and all readers.
Biblia Hebraica Stuttgartensia by
Description not available.
Biblical Exegesis by
John Hayes and Carl Holladay have thoroughly revised and expanded this best-selling textbook, adding new chapters on emerging methods of interpretation and the use of computer technology for exegesis. All bibliographies have been updated, and Scripture has been converted to the NRSV. This new edition retains the features of the early editions: a minimum of technical terms, solid introductory guidelines in exegetical methods, and a valuable presentation of exegetical theory and practice. It is ideal for general introductory exegesis courses, introductions to the Old and New Testaments, and introduction to preaching, as well as for pastors and lay leaders.
The Book That Breathes New Life by
- Essays from a variety of sources on two key issues in biblical studies - Scripture index
The Catholic Study Bible by
This landmark resource, the first fully-based on the authoritative NABRE translation, contains the trustworthy study notes, expanded essays, and informational sidebars which have guided and informed students and general readers for 25 years. In this new edition, one-third of the Reading Guidematerials are new, and all of the other Guides have been reviewed and revised by their original authors.The extensive Reading Guide, the focal point of this volume, leads the reader through the Scriptures, book by book. References and background information are clearly laid out to guide the reader to a fuller understanding of the Bible. New to this edition is a more extensive treatment of thebiblical background, including history and archeology.Other outstanding features include: a 15-page glossary of special terms and complete Sunday and weekday lectionary readings for the liturgical years of the Church. Thirty-two beautiful pages of full-color Oxford Bible Maps come with a place-name index for easy reference.Perfect for both higher education and clergy, Bible study and general readers, The Catholic Study Bible is an essential resource for both experienced students and first-time readers.The New American Bible Revised Edition:The New American Bible Revised Edition (NABRE) brings to culmination the work of nearly 100 scholars, including translators, editors, and a subcommittee of Catholic bishops who provided extensive review of the biblical text over a period of many years. The NABRE is the first major amendment to theNew American Bible translation since 1991. It features:*The first update of the Old Testament since 1970, taking into account recent archaeological and textual discoveries.*Complete revision of the Psalter.
HarperCollins Bible Commentary - Revised Edition by
The Bible -- sacred scripture, literary classic, historical document. No matter how it is viewed, it remains the basis of much of Western culture. This fully revised edition of the HarperCollins Bible Commentary is the most up-to-date reference book of its kind for understanding and interpreting the meaning of the Bible. The accessible and highly readable format sets a new standard for excellence. The Commentary covers all of the Hebrew Bible, as well as the books of the Apocrypha and those of the New Testament, and thus addresses the biblical canons of Judaism, Catholicism, Eastern Orthodoxy, and Protestantism. its innovative format covers the books of the Bible in three ways: General essays setting the literary, cultural, and historical context for the entire Bible Articles introducing major sections of the Bible Commentaries on the individual books themselves by the finest contemporary biblical scholars The HarperCollins Bible Commentary is unprecedented in its clarity, organization, and insight into the Bible. Helpful cross-references to its companion, the HarperCollins Bible Dictionary, mean that readers will have all they need to explore the riches of the Scriptures for years to come. Every section of the Commentary offers concise and authoritative guidance that will enable the reader to return to the text equipped to understand and appreciate the Bible more fully. Each of the eighty-three contributors to this splendid volume is a leading expert in his or her field and a member of the Society of Biblical Literature. They have produced a volume that belongs in homes, schools, houses of worship, and libraries -- wherever there is a Bible. General editor James L. Mays is the Cyrus McCormick Professor of Hebrew and the Old Testament Emeritus at Union Theological Seminary in Richmond, Virginia. He has served as president of the Society of Biblical Literature and is a widely respected author and editor.
Introducing Biblical Hermeneutics by 
The Jewish Study Bible by
First published in 2004, The Jewish Study Bible is a landmark, one-volume resource tailored especially for the needs of students of the Hebrew Bible. It has won acclaim from readers in all religious traditions.The Jewish Study Bible combines the entire Hebrew Bible - in the celebrated Jewish Publication Society TANAKH Translation - with explanatory notes, introductory materials, and essays by leading biblical scholars on virtually every aspect of the text, the world in which it was written, itsinterpretation, and its role in Jewish life. The quality of scholarship, easy-to-navigate format, and vibrant supplementary features bring the ancient text to life.This second edition includes revised annotations for nearly the entire Bible, as well as forty new and updated essays on many of the issues in Jewish interpretation, Jewish worship in the biblical and post-biblical periods, and the growing influence of the Hebrew Bible in the ancient world.The Jewish Study Bible, Second Edition, is an essential resource for anyone interested in the Hebrew Bible.
The New Oxford Annotated Bible with the Apocrypha, Augmented Third Edition, New Revised Standard Version by
eBook - Countless students and professors have relied upon The New Oxford Annotated Bible with the Apocrypha for essential scholarship and guidance to the world of the Bible. Now the Augmented Third Edition, College Edition adds to the established reputation of this premier academic resource. Awealth of new maps, charts, and diagrams further clarify information found in the scripture pages. In addition, section introductions have been expanded and the book introductions have been made more uniform in order to enhance their utility. Of course, the Augmented Third Edition retains thefeatures prized by students, including single column annotations at the foot of the pages, in-text background essays, charts, and maps, a page number-keyed index of all the study materials in the volume, and Oxford's renowned Bible maps. This timely edition maintains and extends the excellence theAnnotated's users have come to expect, bringing still more insights, information, and approaches to bear upon the understanding of the biblical text.
The Oxford Bible Commentary by
The Oxford Bible Commentary is a completely new Bible study and reference work for 21st century students and readers. It offers verse-by-verse explanation of every book of the Bible by the world's leading biblical scholars. It provides everything any reader needs to understand the text of theBible. From its inception, OBC has been designed as a completely non-denominational commentary; contributors have been chosen from every faith and none. The OBC will enlighten readers with no religious background, as well as Jewish readers and those from all Christian traditions - Protestant,Catholic, Anglican, and Orthodox. Written for all readers, expert and novice The OBC has been carefully written and edited to provide the best scholarship in a readable style, Details are not introduced for their own sake but to make the explicaton clearer and to bring insights from various criticalapproaches to clarify the meaning of the text. A commentary on the Bible in its entirety The OBC includes comment on all the books recognized as canonical in Protestant, Catholic, and Orthodox Churches, as well as those books regarded as Apocryphal in the Anglican tradition, and extracts of booksfound only in the Ethiopic or Coptic canons. Written by a team of 70 respected biblical scholars from all over the world The OBC contributors include scholars from Jewish, Catholic, Anglican, Protestant, and Orthodox traditions. The best combination of scholarly approaches for each individual bookThe OBC uses the traditional historical-critical method to search for the original meaning of the texts, but also brings in new perspectives and insights - literary, sociological, and cultural - to bring out the expanding meanings of these ancient writings. Everything you need There is a fullBibliographical Guide to Biblical Studies providing a much-needed up-to-date reference guide to key works, and there are bibliographies contained in each article. An index to the introductory articles is provided, whilst the commentaries themselves can be accessed through the use of any standardconcordance. OBC also contains 11 full-colour maps. A resource that can be read with any modern version of the Bible. The perfect reference work for a multitude of needs The OBC serves readers wishing to explore the religious, cultural, and historical significance of the Bible; students looking foran authoritative but accessible introduction to the scholarly issues involved in understanding the biblical text; and professionals, clergy or lay peoole, who teach or preach. Offering greater insight into the meaning of this complex and many-faceted work, the OBC brings this ancient text alive fora new generation in the third millennium. 'Our aim has been to make a commentary that would provide everything the 21st-century reader requires to engage quickly and immediately with the text. Of primary importance has been finding the best approach. In the Oxford Bible Commentary the traditionalhistorical-critical method in Biblical studies sits alongside other ways of reading which bring their own rewards. We have not abandoned the search for the original meaning, but have given individual contributors freedom to explore for the modern reader new perspectives and insights into theevolving meaning of the Biblical text. We hope that a wide readership will be helped by the Commentary. From those who seek a clearer perespective on a text which they hold in reverence - pastors preparing sermons, those reading the Bible together in study or discussion groups or in privatemeditation - to readers for whom the Bible is a highly significanct document from the ancient world and a major classic of world literature- each should discover a clearer understanding of this complex and many-faceted work. If it also stimulates plenty of discussion and further enquiry, we willconsider our job of editing this 21st-century commentary well done.'
The Oxford Handbook of Biblical Narrative by
Comprised of contributions from scholars across the globe, The Oxford Handbook to Biblical Narrative is a state-of-the-art anthology, offering critical treatments of both the Bible's narratives and topics related to the Bible's narrative constructions. The Handbook covers the Bible's narrativeliterature, from Genesis to Revelation, providing concise overviews of literary-critical scholarship as well as innovative readings of individual narratives informed by a variety of methodological approaches and theoretical frameworks.The volume as a whole combines literary sensitivities with the traditional historical and sociological questions of biblical criticism and puts biblical studies into intentional conversation with other disciplines in the humanities. It reframes biblical literature in a way that highlights itsaesthetic characteristics, its ethical and religious appeal, its organic qualities as communal literature, its witness to various forms of social and political negotiation, and its uncanny power to affect readers and hearers across disparate time-frames and global communities.
The Oxford Handbook of Biblical Studies by
The Oxford Handbooks series is a major new initiative in academic publishing. Each volume offers an authoritative and up-to-date survey of original research in a particular subject area. Specially commissioned essays from leading figures in the discipline give critical examinations of theprogress and direction of debates.Biblical studies is a highly technical and diverse field. Study of the Bible demands expertise in fields ranging from Archaeology, Egyptology, Assyriology, and Linguistics through textual, historical, and sociological studies to Literary Theory, Feminism, Philosophy, and Theology, to name only some.This authoritative and compelling guide to the discipline will, therefore, be an invaluable reference work for all students and academics who want to explore more fully essential topics in Biblical studies.
The Oxford Handbook of Early Christian Biblical Interpretation by
eBook - The Bible was the essence of virtually every aspect of the life of the early churches. The Oxford Handbook of Early Christian Biblical Interpretation explores a wide array of themes related to the reception, canonization, interpretation, uses, and legacies of the Bible in early Christianity. Each section contains overviews and cutting-edge scholarship that expands understanding of the field. Part One examines the material text transmitted, translated, and invested with authority, and the very conceptualization of sacred Scripture as God's word for the church. Part Two looks at the culture and disciplines or science of interpretation in representative exegetical traditions. Part Three addresses the diverse literary and non-literary modes of interpretation, while Part Four canvasses the communal background and foreground of early Christian interpretation, where the Bible was paramount in shaping normative Christian identity. Part Five assesses the determinative role of the Bible in major developments and theological controversies in the life of the churches. Part Six returns to interpretation proper and samples how certain abiding motifs from within scriptural revelation were treated by major Christian expositors. The overall history of biblical interpretation has itself now become the subject of a growing scholarship and the final part skilfully examines how early Christian exegesis was retrieved and critically evaluated in later periods of church history. Taken together, the chapters provide nuanced paths of introduction for students and scholars from a wide spectrum of academic fields, including classics, biblical studies, the general history of interpretation, the social and cultural history of late ancient and early medieval Christianity, historical theology, and systematic and contextual theology. Readers will be oriented to the major resources for, and issues in, the critical study of early Christian biblical interpretation.
The Oxford History of the Biblical World by
Here, in one impressively illustrated volume, leading scholars offer compelling glimpses into the biblical world, the world in which prophets, poets, sages, and historians created one of our most important texts--the Bible.For more than a century, archeologists have been unearthing the tombs, temples, texts, and artifacts of the ancient Near East and the Mediterranean world. Using new approaches, contemporary scholars have begun to synthesize this material with the biblical traditions. The Oxford History of theBiblical World incorporates the best of this scholarship, and in chronologically ordered chapters presents the reader with a readable and integrated study of the history, art, architecture, languages, literatures, and religion of biblical Israel and early Judaism and Christianity in their largercultural contexts. The authors also examine such issues as the roles of women, the tensions between urban and rural settings, royal and kinship social structures, and official and popular religions of the region. Readers will find that 200 photographs, line drawings, and maps as well as an insertcontaining 25 color photographs vividly illustrate the history discussed.Understanding the biblical world is a vital part of understanding the Bible. Broad, authoritative, and visually engaging, The Oxford History of the Biblical World will illuminate for any reader the ancient world from which the Bible emerged.
A Short Introduction to the Hebrew Bible by
John J. Collins's A Short Introduction to the Hebrew Bible is one of the most popular introductory textbooks in colleges and seminary classrooms. Enriched by decades of classroom teaching, it is aimed explicitly at motivated students, regardless of their previous exposure to the Bible or faith commitments. This more compact version of Collins's renowned Introduction to the Hebrew Bible is combined with even more student-friendly features, including charts, maps, photographs, chapter summaries, and bibliographies for further reading. Collins proceeds through the canon of the Old Testament and the Apocrypha, judiciously presenting the current state of historical, archaeological, and literary understanding of the biblical text, and engaging the student in questions of significance and interpretation for the contemporary world. The third edition is presented in a new and engaging format with new maps and images. An index has been added to the volume for the first time.
Targums and the Transmission of Scripture into Judaism and Christianity by
These essays explore ancient Jewish Bible interpretation preserved in the Aramaic Targums, bringing it into conversation with Rabbinic and Christian scriptural exegesis, and setting it in the larger world of ancient translations of the Bible.
The Vulgate Bible by
The Vulgate Bible, compiled and translated in large part by Saint Jerome at the intersection of the fourth and fifth centuries CE, was used from the early Middle Ages through the twentieth century in the Western European Christian (and, later, specifically Catholic) tradition. Its significance can hardly be overstated. The text influenced literature, visual art, music, and education during the Middle Ages and Renaissance, and its contents lay at the heart of much of Western theological, intellectual, artistic, and even political history of that period. At the end of the sixteenth century, as a variety of Protestant vernacular Bibles became available, professors at a Catholic college first at Douay, then at Rheims, translated the Vulgate into English, among other reasons to combat the influence of rival theologies. This volume elegantly and affordably presents the text of the Pentateuch, the first five books of the Bible, beginning with the creation of the world and the human race, continuing with the Great Flood, God's covenant with Abraham, Israel's flight from Egypt and wanderings through the wilderness, the laws revealed to Moses, his mustering of the twelve tribes of Israel, and ending on the eve of Israel's introduction into the Promised Land. This is the first volume of the projected six-volume set of the complete Vulgate Bible.
The Anchor Bible Dictionary by
Six years in the making, this state-of-the-art dictionary offers the most up-to-date and comprehensive treatment of biblical subjects and scholarship. An essential reference for every serious reader of the Bible. B & W illustrations and line-art throughout.
Catholic Bible Dictionary by
More than a generation has passed since the appearance of the last major Catholic Bible dictionary. It has been a fertile generation for biblical scholarship, an eventful time for biblical archaeology, and a fruitful time for the Church's interpretation of the Bible. It is time for a new resource. Scott Hahn, internationally renowned theologian and biblical scholar, has inspired millions with his insight into the Catholic faith. Now he brings us this important reference guide, written specifically for Catholics, which contains more than five thousand clear and accessible entries and covers a wide range of people, places, and topics. From Genesis to Revelation, the whole of salvation history is presented and explained in smart, easy-to-understand prose. Catholic Bible Dictionary is an invaluable source of information, insight, and guidance for Catholics and others who are interested in enriching their understanding of Sacred Scripture. Scott Hahn draws from two millennia of scholarship to create an accessible and comprehensive tool for deeper and more rewarding biblical study.
The Collegeville Pastoral Dictionary of Biblical Theology by
This dictionary distills biblical scholarship and pastoral theology, and presents it in articles for the use of those in ministry. It primarily (although not exclusively) provides priests, religious teachers and educated laity a deeper understanding of the Bible and its central place in the life of the Church. Four types of article comprise the dictionary: introductory articles, major articles, secondary articles and brief entries.
Dictionary of Biblical Theology by
Lion DuFour's Dictionary of Biblical Theology is written for Catholics who want to better understand the Bible. Seventy distinguished scholars and eighteen specialized translators have collaborated to produce this classic in Catholic biblical studies. The Dictionary presents the key theological concepts of the Bible in a way helpful to both the scholar and average reader. This Updated Second Edition includes: More than 350 topics and biblical terms such as faith, the Eucharist, and prayer Solid Catholic biblical perspective Dozens of Scripture references for each topic
Dictionary of the Vulgate New Testament by
No description available.
Eerdmans Dictionary of the Bible by
The Eerdmans Dictionary of the Bible gathers nearly 5,000 alphabetically ordered articles that thoroughly yet clearly explain all the books, persons, places, and significant terms found in the Bible. The Dictionary also explores the background of each biblical book and related writings and discusses cultural, natural, geographical, and literary phenomena--matters that Bible students at all levels may encounter in reading or discussion. Nearly 600 first-rate Bible authorities have contributed to the Eerdmans Dictionary of the Bible. Intended as a tool for practical Bible use, this illustrated dictionary reflects recent archaeological discoveries and the breadth of current biblical scholarship, including insights from critical analysis of literary, historical, sociological, and other methodological issues. The editorial team has also incorporated articles that explore and interpret important focuses of biblical theology, text and transmission, Near Eastern archaeology, extrabiblical writings, and pertinent ecclesiastical traditions--all of which help make the Eerdmans Dictionary of the Bible the most comprehensive and up-to-date one-volume Bible dictionary on the market today.
Encyclopaedia biblica : a critical dictionary of the literary political and religious history, the archaeology, geography, and natural history of the Bible by
This work has been selected by scholars as being culturally important and is part of the knowledge base of civilization as we know it.
Harper's Bible Dictionary by
More than 3,500 articles, written by members of the Society of Biblical Literature, present essential information on every aspect of the Old Testament, Apocrypha, and New Testament and are supplemented by photographs, maps, tables, and charts.
HarperCollins Bible Dictionary - Revised and Updated by
The HarperCollins Bible Dictionary, revised and updated edition, is the most complete, up-to-date, and accessible guide for the study of the Bible available today. With more than 4,000 lively, informative, and reader-friendly entries, this essential reference book provides all the information you need to understand the Bible. Whether you are a pastor, layperson, or a student of scripture, you will find every important name, place, and subject that makes Bible study come to life. From Aaron to Zurishaddai, here are all the people, events, and ideas of biblical times. This third edition continues in the rich tradition of its predecessors but has been thoroughly updated and revised by a new editorial team under the direction of the premier international scholarly body, the Society of Biblical Literature (SBL). More than half the articles in this book are new, and several dozen charts and tables have also been added as well as updates on recent archaeological discoveries. Over 200 contributors to the HarperCollins Bible Dictionary, from a diverse group of authorities, represent an ecumenical and non-biased viewpoint of scripture from different positions--Roman Catholic, Jewish, mainline Protestant, and evangelical. Filled with explanations of biblical beliefs, language, and insights into the culture and customs of the people who lived in biblical times, this resource will help anyone interested in scripture to more fully appreciate the meaning and message of the Bible.
The International Standard Bible Encyclopedia by
The International Standard Bible Encyclopedia, also known as the ISBE, is an exhaustive Biblical encyclopedia that explains in detail every significant word in the Bible, and also includes historical information from the Apocrypha. It provides detailed information on the language and literature of the Bible world, their cultures and the historical and religious environments of the people of the Bible in articles by nearly 200 scholars.
The Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible by
Volume I -- In lucid, readable style, this illustrated encyclopedia of modern scholarship is an immediate reference for all Bible students. The Dictionary features:* More than 7500 entries, with many terms not found in earlier works* Full length articles on each book of the Bible, the Apocrypha and other extra-canonical books, including the Dead Sea Scrolls and the Gnostic manuscripts; and on great theological concepts and doctrines of the Bible* Pronunciations, Hebrew or Greek origin, derivatives, variant spellings, identification, and occurrences* 24 pages of maps in full color
New Dictionary of Biblical Theology by
The New Dictionary of Biblical Theology will quickly establish itself as an essential building block of every library of basic biblical reference books. Building on its companion volumes, the New Bible Dictionary and New Bible Commentary, this work takes readers to a higher vantage point where they can view the thematic terrain of the Bible in its canonical wholeness. In addition, it fills the interpretive space between those volumes and the New Dictionary of Theology.At the heart of this work is an A-to-Z encyclopedia of over 200 key biblical-theological themes such as atonement, creation, eschatology, Israel, Jesus Christ, the kingdom of God, redemption, suffering, wisdom and worship. Students and communicators of the Bible will be well served by articles exploring the theology of each biblical book. And for those interested in the wider discipline of biblical theology, major articles explore foundational issues such as the history of biblical theology, the challenges raised against biblical theology, and the unity and diversity of Scripture.Over 120 contributors drawn from the front ranks of biblical scholarship in the English-speaking world make the New Dictionary of Biblical Theology a work of distinction and a benchmark of evangelical biblical theology at the turn of the twenty-first century. Bibliographies round out all articles, directing readers to research trails leading out of the Dictionary and into crucial studies on every subject. Cross-references throughout send readers through the varied maze of reading pathways, maximizing the usefulness of this volume. Comprehensive, authoritative and easily accessible, the New Dictionary of Biblical Theology is certain to establish itself as an essential resource for students of the Bible and theology.
Theological Dictionary of the New Testament by
One of the most widely respected theological dictionaries put into one-volume, abridged form. Focusing on the theological meaning of each word, the abridgment contains English keywords for each entry, tables of English and Greek keywords, and a listing of the relevant volume and page numbers from the unabridged work at the end of each article or section.
Theological Dictionary of the Old Testament by
eBook available - This multivolume work is still proving to be as fundamental to Old Testament studies as its companion set, the Kittel-Friedrich "Theological Dictionary of the New Testament," has been to New Testament studies.The "TDOT" volumes present in-depth discussions of the key Hebrew and Aramaic words in the Old Testament. Leading scholars of various religious traditions (including Roman Catholic, Lutheran, Reformed, Anglican, Greek Orthodox, and Jewish) and from many parts of the world (Denmark, France, Germany, Great Britain, Greece, Israel, Italy, the Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, Switzerland, and the United States) have been carefully selected for each article by editors Botterweck, Ringgren, and Fabry and their consultants, George W. Anderson, Henri Cazelles, David Noel Freedman, Shemaryahu Talmon, and Gerhard Wallis.The intention of the writers is to concentrate on "meaning," starting from the more general, everyday senses and building to an understanding of theologically significant concepts. To avoid artificially restricting the focus of the articles, "TDOT" considers under each keyword the larger groups of words that are related linguistically or semantically. The lexical work includes detailed surveys of a word's occurrences, not only in biblical material but also in other ancient Near Eastern writings. Sumerian, Akkadian, Egyptian, Ethiopic, Ugaritic, and Northwest Semitic sources are surveyed, among others, as well as the Qumran texts and the Septuagint; and in cultures where no cognate word exists, the authors often consider cognate ideas."TDOT'"s emphasis, though, is on Hebrew terminology and on biblical usage. The contributors employ philology as well as form-critical and traditio-historical methods, with the aim of understanding the religious statements in the Old Testament. Extensive bibliographical information adds to the value of this reference work.This English edition attempts to serve the needs of Old Testament students without the linguistic background of more advanced scholars; it does so, however, without sacrificing the needs of the latter. Ancient scripts (Hebrew, Greek, etc.) are regularly transliterated in a readable way, and meanings of foreign words are given in many cases where the meanings might be obvious to advanced scholars. Where the Hebrew text versification differs from that of English Bibles, the English verse appears in parentheses. Such features will help all earnest students of the Bible to avail themselves of the manifold theological insights contained in this monumental work."
Eerdmans Commentary on the Bible by
No one familiar with the Bible needs to be told that it is a truly remarkable work. But it takes help to understand this ancient collection of diverse forms of literature written by different people across many centuries. The Eerdmans Commentary on the Bible (ECB) is the finest single-volume Bible handbook available. Written by world-class Bible scholars, the ECB encapsulates in nontechnical language the best of modern scholarship on the sixty-six biblical books plus the Apocrypha. The only one-volume Bible commentary to cover all the texts (even including 1 Enoch) regarded by one or more Christian churches as canonical, the ECB provides reader-friendly treatments and succinct summaries of each section of the text that will be valuable to scholars, students, and general readers alike. The primary objective of this work is to clarify the meaning of each section of the Bible. Rather than attempting a verse-by-verse analysis (virtually impossible in a one-volume work), the ECB focuses on principal units of meaning--narrative, parable, prophetic oracle, section of argument, and so on--highlighting their interconnectedness with the rest of the biblical text. The volume also addresses and answers major issues--including the range of possible interpretations--and refers readers to the best fuller discussions. Beyond providing reliable, informative commentary, this hefty volume also includes thirteen introductory and context-setting articles that do justice to the biblical documents both as historical sources and as scriptures. The sixty-seven contributors to the ECB come from a wide variety of backgrounds and are acknowledged leaders in the field of biblical studies. Their contributions stand out either for their fresh interpretations of the evidence, or for their way of asking new questions of the text, or for their new angles of approach. While the translation of choice is the New Revised Standard Version, many of the contributors offer their own vivid translations of the original Hebrew or Greek. Cutting-edge, comprehensive, and ecumenical, the ECB is both a fitting climax to the rich body of interconfessional work undertaken in the latter part of the twentieth century and a worthy launching pad for biblical study in the twenty-first. Special Features of the ECB The only one-volume commentary to cover all the texts (including the Apocrypha and 1 Enoch) regarded by one or more Christian churches as canonical Thirteen major essays that introduce each section of Scripture and its study Encapsulates in nontechnical language the best of modern scholarship Includes superb bibliographies and an extensive subject index Written by sixty-seven first-rate Bible scholars Designed for use by scholars, students, pastors, and general readers
New Collegeville Bible Commentary by
Description not available
The Paulist Biblical Commentary by
The Paulist Biblical Commentary (PBC) is a one-volume commentary on the books of the Bible designed for a wide variety of Bible readers, especially those engaged in pastoral ministry. The volume consists of a commentary on each of the seventy-three books of the Catholic canon of the Bible along with twelve general articles. While based on classical approaches to Scripture, the commentaries and articles are not limited to historical-literary issues, but draw upon relevant theological and pastoral ideas found in the text.The Paulist Biblical Commentary presents:· Solid exegesis of the biblical text.· A useful tool for preaching and spiritual nourishment.· An essential aid to deepen the understanding of Scripture.· Current biblical research that is relevant to pastoral or spiritual ministry.The Commentary brings together the collaboration of more than seventy international biblical scholars, each with expertise in their area of study drawn from their experience and interest in pastoral or spiritual ministry.
Peake's commentary on the Bible by
Based on the text of the Revised standard-version
Women's Bible Commentary by
The Women's Bible Commentary is a trusted, classic resource for biblical scholarship, written by some of the best feminist scholars in the field today. This twentieth anniversary edition features brand new or thoroughly revised essays to reflect newer thinking in feminist interpretation and hermeneutics. It comprises commentaries on every book of the Bible, including the apocryphal books; essays on the reception history of women in the Bible; and essays on feminist critical method. The contributors raise important questions and explore the implications of how women and other marginalized people are portrayed in biblical texts, looking specifically at gender roles, sexuality, political power, and family life, while challenging long-held assumptions. This commentary brings modern critical methods to bear on the history, sociology, anthropology, and literature of the relevant time periods to illuminate the context of these biblical portrayals and challenges readers to new understandings.
The New Oxford Annotated Apocrypha by
For decades students, professors, clergy, and general readers have relied on The New Oxford Annotated Apocrypha as an unparalleled authority on the Apocrypha. This fifth edition remains the best way to study and understand the material at home or in the classroom. This thoroughly revised andsubstantially updated edition contains the best scholarship informed by recent discoveries and anchored in the solid Study Bible tradition.* Introductions and extensive annotations for each book by acknowledged experts in the field provide context and guidance.* Introductory essay on the Apocrypha gives readers an overview that guides more intensive study.* Maps and diagrams within the text contextualize where events took place and how to understand them.* A timeline, calendar, and essay on the Persian and Hellenistic Periods help to contextualize the books.A volume that users will want to keep for continued reference, The New Oxford Annotated Apocrypha continues the Oxford University Press tradition of providing excellence in scholarship for the general reader. Generations of users attest to its status as the best one-volume Bible reference tool forany home, library, or classroom.
The Jewish Annotated Apocrypha by
Building on the success of the Jewish Annotated New Testament (JANT) and the Jewish Study Bible (JSB), Oxford University Press now proceeds to complete the trilogy with the Jewish Annotated Apocrypha (JAA). The books of the Apocrypha were virtually all composed by Jewish writers in the SecondTemple period. Excluded from the Hebrew Bible, these works were preserved by Christians. Yet no complete, standalone edition of these works has been produced in English with an emphasis on Jewish tradition or with an educated Jewish audience in mind. The JAA meets this need.The JAA differs from prior editions of the Apocrypha in a number of ways. First, as befits a Jewish Annotated Apocrypha, the volume excludes certain texts that are widely agreed to be of Christian origin. Second, it expands the scope of the volume to include Jubilees, an essential text forunderstanding ancient Judaism, and a book that merits inclusion in the volume by virtue of the fact that it was long considered part of the canon of the Ethiopian Orthodox Church (the text is also revered by Ethiopian Jews). Third, it has restructured the order of the books so that the sequencingfollows the logic that governs the order of the books in the Jewish canon (Law, History, Prophecy, Wisdom and Poetry).Each book of the Apocrypha is annotated by a recognized expert in the study of ancient Judaism. An Introduction by the editors guides readers though the making of the volume and its contents. Thematic essays by an impressive array of scholars provide helpful contexts, backgrounds and elaborations onkey themes.
The Oxford handbook of early Christian apocrypha by
eBook - This handbook primarily focuses on issues and themes that arise in the study of early Christian apocrypha. Part one consists of authoritative surveys of the main branches of apocryphal literature (gospels, acts, epistles, apocalypses, and related literature) and part two considers key issues that they raise.
Chronological and Background Charts of the Old Testament by
Charts provide visual organization that is ideal for teaching, learning, and review. Facts, connections, parallels, and contrasts can be grasped easily at a glance. This revised edition of Chronological and Background Charts of the Old Testament includes 42 new charts and 18 revised charts. The charts cover historical, literary, archaeological, and theological aspects of the Old Testament, its background, and biblical studies. Among the 100 charts are: - Genealogies . . . - Comparative Ancient Near-Eastern Chronology - Parallels between Law and Wisdom The Kings of Judah and Israel . . . - Treaty Format and Biblical Covenants - Dynasties of the Northern Kingdom . . . - Principles for Word Studies - Messages of the Pre-Exilic Minor Prophets . . . - Angel of the Lord in the Old Testament
Introducing the Old Testament by
This lively, engaging introduction to the Old Testament is critical and theological, lavishly illustrated, and accompanied by a variety of pedagogical aids. It serves as the Old Testament counterpart to Mark Allan Powell's successful Introducing the New Testament (over 105,000 copies sold).Introducing the Old Testament presents disputed and controversial issues fairly, neither dictating conclusions nor privileging skepticism over faith-based perspectives. The full-color interior is illustrated with photographs and fine art and includes sidebars, maps, a glossary, and further reading suggestions.A companion website through Baker Academic's Textbook eSources features a wealth of additional resources for students and instructors. Resources for students include chapter objectives, study questions, flash cards, and self-quizzes. Resources for professors include chapter objectives, discussion prompts, pedagogical suggestions, PowerPoint slides, and a test/quiz bank.
An Introduction to the Old Testament, Second Edition by
In this updated edition of the popular textbook, Walter Brueggemann and Tod Linafelt introduce the reader to the broad theological scope of the Old Testament, treating some of the most important issues and methods in contemporary biblical interpretation. This clearly written textbook focuses on the literature of the Old Testament as it grew out of religious, political, and ideological contexts over many centuries in Israel's history. Covering every book in the Old Testament (arranged in canonical order), the authors demonstrate the development of theological concepts in biblical writings from the Torah through post-exilic Judaism. This introduction invites readers to engage in the construction of meaning as they venture into these timeless texts.
Jews, Bible and Prayer by
In his articles Stefan Reif deas with Jewish biblical exegesis and the close analysis of the evolution of Jewish prayer texts. Some fourteen of these that appeared in various collective volumes are here made more easily available, together with a major new study of Numbers 13, an introduction and extensive indexes. Reif attempts to establish whether there is any linguistic, literary and exegetical value in the traditional Jewish interpretation of the Hebrew Bible for the modern scientific approach to such texts and whether such an approach itself is always free of theological bias. He demonstrates how Jewish liturgical texts may illuminate religious teachings about wisdom, history, peace, forgiveness, and divine metaphors. Also clarified in these essays are notions of David, Greek and Hebrew, divine metaphors, and the liturgical use of the Hebrew Bible.
Reading the Old Testament by 
A Theological Introduction to the Old Testament by
The book known as the Old Testament is actually a collection of stories, songs, prophetic addresses, wise sayings, and other bits of literature composed over centuries and compiled for the use of worshiping communities. These texts appeared in ancient Israel, reflecting its traumas and lessfrequent triumphs. Far from being comfortable texts that sedate over-stimulated readers, they offer critique of the powerful for the sake of those for whom the only tool of overcoming oppression is language itself. Because of the distance in time and cultural experience, the Old Testament is ofteninaccessible to modern readers. This introduction bridges that distance and makes the connections across time and culture come alive.The Bible assembles a wide range of literary types because of the needs of the communities first using it as they preserved the legacy of their past, good and bad, for the sake of a viable future. Their legacy continues as relevant as ever. This introduction, then, seeks to help readers make senseof the variety and hear within it points of commonality as well. The Old Testament is a book readers look to for meaning. Christian readers, especially, have difficulty connecting with the theological meanings of the texts. Mark Hamilton offers an introduction that addresses theological issuesdirectly and sensitively. Considering the massive sweep of literary types and ways of expressing ideas about God, A Theological Introduction to the Old Testament offers an alternative to introductions based solely on historical or literary themes.
The Cambridge Companion to the New Testament by
This Companion volume offers a concise and engaging introduction to the New Testament. Including twenty-two especially-commissioned essays, written by an international team of scholars, it examines a range of topics related to the historical and religious contexts in which the contents of the Christian canon emerged. Providing an overview of the critical approaches and methods currently applied to the study of biblical texts, it also includes chapters on each of the writings in the New Testament. The volume serves as an excellent resource for students who have some familiarity with the New Testament and who wish to gain a deeper understanding of the state of academic discussion and debate. Readers will also gain a sense of the new research questions that are emerging from current scholarship.
The Cambridge Companion to the Gospels by
Throughout the history of Christianity, the four canonical gospels have proven to be vital resources for Christian thought and practice, and an inspiration for humanistic culture generally. Indeed, the gospels and their interpretation have had a profound impact on theology, philosophy, the sciences, ethics, worship, architecture, and the creative arts. Building on the strengths of the first edition, The Cambridge Companion to the Gospels, 2nd edition, takes account of new directions in gospels research, notably: the milieu in which the gospels were read, copied, and circulated alongside non-canonical gospels; renewed debates about the sources of the gospels and their interrelations; how central gospel themes are illuminated by a variety of critical approaches and theological readings; the reception of the gospels over time and in various media; and how the gospels give insight into the human condition.
Chronological and Background Charts of the New Testament by
Students of the New Testament are confronted with a vast amount of information, both biblical and extrabiblical. Chronological and Background Charts of the New Testament helps the student organize and synthesize this material by providing a helpful visual overview of the data, chronology, historical background, and criticism of the New Testament. This format allows facts, relationships, parallels, and contrasts to be grasped quickly and easily. The 90 charts in this updated, expanded edition are divided into four broad categories: general material, backgrounds to the New Testament, the Gospels, and the apostolic age. They cover a wide range of topics, from basic matters such as a chronological list of the books of the New Testament to less familiar subjects such as "The Roman Military System," "Rabbinic Writings," and "The Five Gospels of the Jesus Seminar." This volume is a useful tool for classroom use, for individual study, and as a handy reference.
Four Portraits, One Jesus, 2nd Edition by
....To Christians worldwide, the man Jesus of Nazareth is the centerpiece of history, the object of faith, hope, and worship. Even those who do not follow him admit the vast influence of his life. For anyone interested in knowing more about Jesus, study of the four biblical Gospels is essential. The second edition of Four Portraits, One Jesus has been updated throughout to meet the needs to today's students. It is a thorough yet accessible introduction to the four biblical Gospels and their subject, the life and person of Jesus. Like different artists rendering the same subject using different styles and points of view, the Gospels paint four highly distinctive portraits of the same remarkable Jesus. With clarity and insight, Mark Strauss illuminates these four books addressing the following important areas: First he addresses the nature, origin, methods for study, and historical, religious, and cultural backgrounds of the Gospels. He then moves on to closer study of each narrative and its contribution to our understanding of Jesus, investigating things such as plot, characters, and theme. Finally, he pulls it all together with a detailed examination of what the Gospels teach about Jesus' ministry, message, death, and resurrection, with excursions into the quest for the historical Jesus and the historical reliability of the Gospels. This textbook together with its workbook, video lectures, and laminated sheet gives students everything they need for a thorough and enriching study of Jesus and the Gospels.
A friendly guide to the New Testament by
Who wrote the New Testament? How has it come down to us in its present form? What did the life, death and resurrection of Jesus Christ mean for Jesus’ first followers, St Paul and the early Christians? How can we use New Testament Scripture to deepen our faith?
Friendly Guide to Women in the New Testament by
This Friendly Guide introduces the reader to the multitude of women in the New Testament. All take their place in the story of Jesus and the development of the Jesus movement after the resurrection. They are mothers, daughters, sisters and wives living in the first century, with all of its limitations on their participation in public life. Yet they are present, remembered and influential from Jesus' birth, through his public ministry to his passion and death, and as first witnesses to the resurrection. This volume celebrates their contribution and hopes to inspire women and men today in their faithful service. A Friendly Guide to Women in the New Testament explores in detail what we know of the women from the biblical text and elucidates their faith, courage and action in the mission of Jesus and also that of Paul and the early days of the developing faith communities. The Friendly Guide identifies and highlights the women who came to follow Jesus in his time or after the resurrection. It illuminates their faith, their sharing of their gifts and talents and their contribution as disciples, apostles, benefactors, deacons and household church hosts. At its conclusion, the Friendly Guide finds a beginning and an invitation to the saints of today to take inspiration and encouragement from these early saints to proclaim the good news in today's world.
Lexical Aids for Students of New Testament Greek by
A standard Greek reference tool allowing students to learn vocabulary quickly by listing words according to their frequency of use in the New Testament.
The New Testament by
Featuring vibrant full color throughout, the sixth edition of Bart D. Ehrman's highly successful introduction approaches the New Testament from a consistently historical and comparative perspective, emphasizing the rich diversity of the earliest Christian literature. Distinctive to this studyis its unique focus on the historical, literary, and religious milieux of the Greco-Roman world, including early Judaism. As part of its historical orientation, the book also discusses other Christian writings that were roughly contemporary with the New Testament, such as the Gospel of Thomas, theApocalypse of Peter, and the letters of Ignatius.
Reading the New Testament by 
Oxford Bible Atlas by
This new edition of the Oxford Bible Atlas, now with full-colour maps and illustrations, has been thoroughly revised to bring it up to date with regard both to biblical scholarship and to archaeology and topography. The Atlas will help readers of the Bible understand the contexts in which its stories are set and to appreciate the world from which it emerged and which formed its background. Maps show the geographical setting of the Bible's storiesand reflect the successive stages of the Bible's accounts, while specially chosen full-colour illustrations bring the countries and their peoples to life. The accompanying text describes the land of Palestine, and its wider ancient Near Eastern and east Mediterranean settings. It outlines clearly the successivehistorical periods, and describes the major civilizations with which Israelites, Jews, and early Christians came into contact. There is also an illustrated survey of the relevance of archaeology for the study of the Bible. The Atlas provides a superb guide to the geography of the Holy Land throughout biblical history, from the Exodus period through to New Testament times.
The Student Bible Atlas by
For more than twenty-five years, The Student Bible Atlas has been a trusted companion for Bible students of all ages and interests. Clear, concise, colorful, and priced for any budget, there are nearly 100,000 copies in print! All of the best features of The Student Bible Atlas are retained in this beautiful new edition. The table of contents remains the same, as does the tone and content. The layout, however, is beautifuly redone, with new maps that convey essential information in a crisp, up-to-date way. It's a great atlas, now made even better! The Student Bible Atlas contains thirty maps covering both Old and New Testaments, a helpful index of place names, and a guide to the major archeology sites of the Middle East. The Bible is full of places and journeys: Abraham's epic journey from Ur to the land of Canaan; the Hebrews' journey from slavery in Egypt to the Promised Land; Paul's pioneering series of missionary travels. All these and many more are covered in this invaluable and readily accessible Bible companion.
The Gospel of Matthew by
Matthew wrote his Gospel from his perspective as a Jew. It is with sensitivity to this perspective that Father Harrington undertakes this commentary on the Gospel of Matthew. After an introduction, he provides a literal translation of each section in Matthew's Gospel and explains the textual problems, philological difficulties, and other matters in the notes. He then presents a literary analysis of each text (content, form, use of sources, structure), examines the text against its Jewish background, situates it in the context of Matthew's debate with other first-century Jews, and reflects on its significance for Christian theology and Christian-Jewish relations. Bibliographies direct the reader to other important modern studies.
The Gospel of Matthew by
This engaging commentary on the Gospel of Matthew is the fifth of seventeen volumes in the Catholic Commentary on Sacred Scripture (CCSS), which will cover the entire New Testament. This volume, like each in the series, relates Scripture to life, is faithfully Catholic, and is supplemented by features designed to help readers understand the Bible more deeply and use it more effectively. Praise for the CCSS: "These commentaries are both exegetically sound and spiritually nourishing. They are indispensable tools for preaching, catechesis, evangelization, and other forms of pastoral ministry."--Thomas G. Weinandy, OFM Cap, United States Conference of Catholic Bishops
Matthew's Parable of the Royal Wedding Feast by
Ruth Christa Mathieson's unique reading of Matthew's parable of the royal wedding feast (Matt 22:1-14), which concludes with the king's demand that one of the guests be bound and cast out into the outer darkness, focuses on the means of the underdressed guest's expulsion. Using sociorhetorical interpretation, Mathieson draws the parable into conversation with early Jewish narratives of the angel Raphael binding hands and feet (1 Enoch; Tobit) and the protocol for expelling individuals from the community in Matt 18. She asserts that readers are invited to consider if the person who is bound and cast out is a danger to the little ones of the community of faith unless removed and restrained.
Matthew 1-7 by
The birth narrative, the baptism and temptation of Jesus, the beginnings of his Galilean ministry, and the Sermon on the Mount are all brilliantly illumined by Ulrich Luz's expert textual and historical-critical analysis and theological commentary. Luz brings special attention to the subsequent history of Christian appropriation of Matthew in homiletical and artistic interpretation, and addresses the terrible legacy of Christian anti-Judaism. This volume completes Luz's three-volume commentary on the Gospel of Matthew in the Hermeneia series. A translation of the earlier German edition of Matthew 1-7 appeared in Fortress Press's Continental Commentary series. The text has been thoroughly revised and updated.
Matthew 8-20 : a commentary by
This is the second of a three-volume commentary on the gospel of Matthew from Europe's leading Matthew scholar. Volume 1 Matthew 1-7 was previously published in the "Continental Commentaries" series. Luz's commentary is especially noteworthy, not only for his incisive exegesis, but also his keen eye for the importance of the history of interpretation and his attention to the relevance of the New Testament for contemporary Christian ethics. This commentary includes excursuses on Son of David; Matthew's Interpretation of the Parables; Peter in the Gospel of Matthew; and Son of Man.
Matthew 21-28 : a commentary by
This is the second of a three-volume commentary on the gospel of Matthew from Europe's leading Matthew scholar. Volume 1 Matthew 1-7 was previously published in the "Continental Commentaries" series. Luz's commentary is especially noteworthy, not only for his incisive exegesis, but also his keen eye for the importance of the history of interpretation and his attention to the relevance of the New Testament for contemporary Christian ethics. This commentary includes excursuses on Son of David; Matthew's Interpretation of the Parables; Peter in the Gospel of Matthew; and Son of Man.
Matthew: an Introduction and Study Guide by
Recent decades have seen significant shifts in biblical scholarship opening up a range of ways of engaging the biblical narrative - both methodologically (the tools and techniques for engaging the text) and hermeneutically (the perspectives that inform an interpreter's approach to the text and to the interpretative task). It is these shifts that give shape to this introduction and study guide, so that students encounter not only the text of Matthew itself but also its rich lode of recent interpretation. Among aspects of 1st-century life brought to the fore by current social-scientific methodology are kinship, the honor and shame culture, and masculinity. Gender is another interpretative lens that has characterized the study of the Gospel of Matthew in recent decades and the Guide provides pathways through this rich literature. The guide to Matthew concludes with the most recent turn of the hermeneutical lens, namely an ecological perspective on what is perhaps the best-known text in Matthew, the Beatitudes. This final chapter is an example of how we can enter an old and familiar text like the Gospel of Matthew from yet another new critical direction.
Preaching the Gospel of Matthew : proclaiming God's presence by
This commentary for preaching Matthew, a companion to WJK's successful Preaching the Gospel of Luke, Preaching the Gospel of John, and Preaching the Gospel of Mark, works through every passage of Matthew's Gospel with exegetical insight and a keen sensitivity to the demands of preaching. Stanley P. Saunders'commentary follows the biblical text, divided into passages. After each passage, a number of possibilities are presented for how to preach that text. He includes a wealth of creative and pertinent tips to help preachers apply Matthew's narrative to the lives of today's churchgoers.
Studies in Matthew by
Translated by Rosemary Selle The work of one of the world's foremost New Testament scholars, Ulrich Luz, this book gathers eighteen penetrating studies of Matthew's Gospel, available here in English for the first time. Luz's groundbreaking work ranges widely over the critical issues of Matthean studies, including the narrative structure and sources of the Gospel and its presentation of such themes as christology, discipleship, miracles, and Israel. Several chapters also outline and demonstrate the hermeneutical methods underlying Luz's acclaimed commentary on Matthew, for which this book can serve as a companion. Luz is particularly conscious of the Gospel's reception history, a history of interpretation connecting us with the past that determines so many of our questions, categories, and values. Studies in Matthew thus constitutes a noteworthy contribution to biblical hermeneutics as well as to exegesis.
Catholic Commentary on Sacred Scripture by
This widely praised commentary by William Lane shows Mark to be a theologian whose primary aim was to strengthen the people of God in a time of fiery persecution by Nero. Using redaction criticism as a hermeneutical approach for understanding the text and the intention of the evangelist, Lane considers the Gospel of Mark as a total literary work and describes Mark's creative role in shaping the Gospel tradition and in exercising a conscious theological purpose. Both indicating how the text was heard by Mark's contemporaries and studying Mark within the frame of reference of modern Gospel research, Lane's thoroughgoing work is at once useful to scholars and intelligible to nonspecialists.
The Gospel of Mark by
In The Gospel of MarkFathers Donahue and Harrington use an approach that can be expressed by two terms currently used in literary criticism: intratextuality and intertextuality. This intratextual and intertextual reading of Mark's Gospel helps us to appreciate the literary character, its setting in life, and its distinctive approaches to the Old Testament, Jesus, and early Christian theology. "Intratextuality" means we read Mark as Mark and by Mark. Such a reading expresses interest in the final form of the Gospel (not its source or literary history) and in its words and images, literary devices, literary forms, structures, characterization, and plot. Reading Mark by Mark gives particular attention to the distinctive vocabulary and themes that run throughout the Gospel and serve to hold it together as a unified literary production. "Intertextuality" comprises the relation between texts and a textual tradition, and also referring to contextual materials not usually classified as texts (e.g., archaeological data). "Intertextuality" is used to note the links of the text of Mark's Gospel to other texts (especially the Old Testament) and to the life of the Markan community and of the Christian community today.
Mark by
The Academy of Parish Clergy 2020 Reference Book of the Year 2020 Association of Catholic Publishers first place award in Scripture 2020 Catholic Press Association third place award for best new religious book series This reading of Mark's Gospel engages this ancient text from the perspective of contemporary feminist concerns to expose and resist all forms of domination that prevent the full flourishing of all humans and all creation. Accordingly, it foregrounds the Gospel's constructions of gender in intersectionality with the visions, structures, practices, and personnel of Roman imperial power. This reading embraces a rich tradition of feminist scholarship on the Gospel, as well as masculinity studies, particularly pervasive hegemonic masculinity. Its politically engaged discussion of Mark's Gospel provides a resource for clergy, students, and laity concerned with contemporary constructions of gender, power, and a world in which all might experience fullness of life.
Mark by
Concentrate on the biblical author's message as it unfolds. Designed to assist the pastor and Bible teacher in conveying the significance of God's Word, the Zondervan Exegetical Commentary on the New Testament series treats the literary context and structure of every passage of the New Testament book in the original Greek. With a unique layout designed to help you comprehend the form and flow of each passage, the ZECNT unpacks: The key message. The author's original translation. An exegetical outline. Verse-by-verse commentary. Theology in application. While primarily designed for those with a basic knowledge of biblical Greek, all who strive to understand and teach the New Testament will benefit from the depth, format, and scholarship of these volumes.
Mark by
Professor Adela Yarbro Collins brings to bear on the text of the first Gospel the latest historical-critical perspectives, providing a full treatment of such controversial issues as the relationship of canonical Mark to the "Secret Gospel of Mark" and the text of the Gospel, including its longer endings. She situates the Gospel, with its enigmatic portrait of the misunderstood Messiah, in the context of Jewish and Greco-Roman literature of the first century. Her comments draw on her profound knowledge of apocalyptic literature as well as on the traditions of popular biography in the Greco-Roman world to illuminate the overall literary form of the Gospel. The commentary also introduces an impressive store of data on the language and style of Mark, illustrated from papyrological and epigraphical sources. Collins is in constructive dialogue with the wide range of scholarship on Mark that has been produced in the twentieth century. Her work will be foundational for Markan scholarship in the first half of the twenty-first century.
Acts by
The Acts of the Apostles joins the Gospel of Luke with the ministry of Paul. Renowned New Testament scholar Richard I. Pervo shows how this masterful storyteller worked his magic, drawing on first-century literary techniques of narration and characterization. Luke's literary skills did not prevent scribes from re-writing his masterwork, however, the textual tradition of Acts is among the most intriguing of the documents of the New Testament, and is a focus here. Elegantly written, Pervo's commentary provides a compelling interpretation of Acts in the context of Hellenistic literature and the emerging Christian movement, Readers will rediscover the "profit with delight" that was the ideal of ancient story-tellers.
Acts - An Exegetical Commentary by
Highly respected New Testament scholar Craig Keener is known for his meticulous and comprehensive research. This commentary on Acts, his magnum opus, may be the largest and most thoroughly documented Acts commentary available. Useful not only for the study of Acts but also early Christianity, this work sets Acts in its first-century context. In this volume, the first of four, Keener introduces the book of Acts, particularly historical questions related to it, and provides detailed exegesis of its opening chapters. He utilizes an unparalleled range of ancient sources and offers a wealth of fresh insights. This magisterial commentary will be a valuable resource for New Testament professors and students, pastors, Acts scholars, and libraries.
The Fables of Jesus in the Gospel of Luke by
The Fables of Jesus in the Gospel of Luke introduces the world of the ancient fable to biblical scholarship and argues that Jesus's parables in Luke's gospel belong to the ancient fable tradition. Jesus is regarded as the first figure in history to use the parable genre with any regularity-a remarkable historical curiosity that serves as the foundation for many assumptions in New Testament scholarship. The Fables of Jesus in the Gospel of Luke challenges this consensus, situating the parables within a literary context unknown to biblical scholarship: the ancient fable. After introducing the ancient fable, the "parables" of Jesus in Luke's gospel are used as a testing ground to demon - strate that they are identical to first-century fables. This challenges many conven - tional assumptions about parables, Luke's gospel, and the relationship of Jesus to the storytelling traditions of the Mediterranean world. This study offers multitudes of new parallels to the otherwise enigmatic parable tradition, opens an exciting new venue for comparative exploration, and lays a new foundation upon which to study the fables of Jesus.
The Gospel of Luke by
Pablo T. Gadenz (STD, Pontifical Gregorian University) is associate professor of biblical studies at Immaculate Conception Seminary School of Theology at Seton Hall University. He is a Roman Catholic priest of the Diocese of Trenton, New Jersey. Book jacket.
The Gospel of Luke by
This highly original commentary, part of the New International Commentary, is unique for the way it combines concerns with first-century culture in the Roman world with understanding the text of Luke as a wholistic, historical narrative.
The Gospel of Luke by
What makes this commentary on Luke stand apart from others is that, from beginning to end, this is a literary analysis. Because it focuses solely on the gospel as it appears and not on its source or origin, this commentary richly and thoroughly explores just what Luke is saying and how he says it.
Luke by
Mikeal Parsons, a leading scholar on Luke and Acts, examines cultural context and theological meaning in Luke in this addition to the well-received Paideia series. This commentary, like each in the projected eighteen-volume series, proceeds by sense units rather than word-by-word or verse-by-verse. Paideia commentaries explore how New Testament texts form Christian readers by attending to the ancient narrative and rhetorical strategies the text employs, showing how the text shapes theological convictions and moral habits, and making judicious use of maps, photos, and sidebars in a reader-friendly format.
Luke 1 by
This is the first of a three-volume commentary on the Gospel of Luke, covering the birth narratives through the Galilean ministry of Jesus. The introduction covers the text-critical questions of the Gospel, as well as its canonization, language, structure, origin, and theological profile. Bovon argues that Luke is not a direct student of Paul, but represents a specific form of the Pauline school in the third generation of the churches. The author also treats how the Gospel was used in later generations: writers from the early church, the Middle Ages, and the Reformation. He includes excursuses on "The Virgin Birth and the History of Religions," "The Devil," "The Word of God," and "Forgiveness of Sins."
Discovering John by
Student-friendly introduction to the Gospel of John This up-to-date introduction to John's Gospel is the first volume in the Discovering Biblical Texts series, which encourages students to engage deeply with the biblical writings by alerting them to key issues and questions raised by the text. In Discovering John Ruth Edwards covers the structure, content, theological concerns, key interpretive debates, and historical reception of the Gospel of John. Does John still have meaning for the church and contemporary society? Does it need to be reinterpreted for today's world? Is it anti-Semitic? Edwards expertly guides readers through these questions and others, helping those interested in this provocative, sometimes enigmatic Gospel to discover the answers for themselves.
The Gospel of John by
In this addition to the Catholic Commentary on Sacred Scripture, two well-respected New Testament scholars interpret the Gospel of John in its historical and literary setting as well as in light of the Church's doctrinal, liturgical, and spiritual tradition. They unpack the wisdom of the Fourth Gospel for the intellectual and spiritual transformation of its readers and connect the Gospel with a range of witnesses throughout the whole history of Catholicism. This volume, like each in the series, is supplemented by features designed to help readers understand the Bible more deeply and use it more effectively in teaching, preaching, evangelization, and other forms of ministry.
How John Works by
In this book a group of international scholars explains in detail "how John works," that is, how the author uses a variety of narrative strategies to tell his story in a compelling manner. More than a commentary, How John Works offers a glimpse at the way an ancient author created and used narrative features such as genre, character, style, persuasion, and even time and space to shape a dramatic story of the life of Jesus. The essays in this volume not only explore fifteen features of story design found in the Gospel of John; they also can be used as starting points for the study of other gospels and texts. The contributors are Harold W. Attridge, Rekha M. Chennattu, Douglas Estes, Charles E. Hill, Edward W. Klink III, Kasper Bro Larsen, Dorothy A. Lee, Susanne Luther, Francis J. Moloney, Alicia D. Myers, Dan N sselqvist, James L. Resseguie, Ruth Sheridan, Christopher W. Skinner, and Mark W. G. Stibbe.
Interpreting the Gospel and Letters of John by
Accessible, comprehensive, and up-to-date, Interpreting the Gospel and Letters of John is an ideal text for students new to the discipline of biblical studies. Sherri Brown and Francis J. Moloney present a broad overview of the story of Christianity arising out of its Jewish foundations and proceed to guide readers expertly through the contents of the Gospel and Letters of John. Maintaining that Johannine literature is best understood against the background of the Old Testament covenant metaphor, Brown and Moloney focus on the central role of covenant in the narrative of John's Gospel and highlight the Evangelist's use of fulfillment language. Helpful sidebars, maps, questions for review, and further-reading lists are placed throughout the text, making this volume well suited for classroom use.
Jesus in John's Gospel by
The culmination of a lifetime of work on the Gospel of John, William Loader's Jesus in John's Gospel explores the Fourth Gospel with a focus on ways in which attention to the structure of Christology in John allows for greater understanding of Johannine themes and helps resolve long-standing interpretive impasses. Following an introductory examination of Rudolf Bultmann's profound influence on Johannine studies, Loader turns to the central interpretive issues and debates surrounding Johannine Christology, probing particularly the death of Jesus in John, the salvation event in John, and the Fourth Gospel in light of its Christology. The exhaustive bibliography and careful, well-articulated conclusions take into account the latest research on John, ensuring that this volume will be useful to scholars and students alike.
John by
Teaching and researching the Gospel of John for thirty years has led author Mary L. Coloe to an awareness of the importance of the wisdom literature to make sense of Johannine theology, language, and symbolism: in the prologue, with Nicodemus, in the Bread of Life discourse, with Mary and Lazarus, and in the culminating "Hour." She also shows how the late Second Temple theology expressed in the books of Sirach and Wisdom, considered deuterocanonical and omitted from some Bible editions, are essential intertexts. Only the book of Wisdom speaks of "the reign of God" (Wis 10:10), "eternity life" (Wis 5:15), and the ambrosia maintaining angelic life (Wis 19:21)--all concepts found in John's Gospel. While the Gospel explicitly states the Logoswas enfleshed in Jesus, this is also true of Sophia. Coloe makes the case that Jesus's words and deeds embody Sophia throughoutthe narrative. At the beginning of each chapter Coloe provides text from the later wisdom books that resonate with the Gospel passage, drawing Sophiaout of the shadows.
John by
In this addition to the well-received Paideia series, Jo-Ann Brant examines cultural context and theological meaning in John. Paideia commentaries explore how New Testament texts form Christian readers by - attending to the ancient narrative and rhetorical strategies the text employs - showing how the text shapes theological convictions and moral habits - commenting on the final, canonical form of each New Testament book - focusing on the cultural, literary, and theological settings of the text - making judicious use of maps, photos, and sidebars in a reader-friendly format This commentary, like each in the projected eighteen-volume series, proceeds by sense units rather than word-by-word or verse-by-verse.
Life Abounding by
The fourth gospel addresses the thirst for life that lies at the depth of every human heart. The life in question is not just physical life but the "more abundant life' (John 10:10) that is nothing less than a share in the "eternal life" of the divine communion of love. In Life Abounding, Brendan Byrne, SJ, facilitates a reading of John for readers today so that it may move them from mere existence to a conscious sense of sharing the divine eternal life--and the joy that goes with it. The reading of the Fourth Gospel offered here remains conscious of the difficulties John presents on several fronts for contemporary readers. Byrne explains the text in a way that is critical yet sensitive to the gospel's distinctive character and the untapped treasures it may yet contain for theology and spirituality today. This volume represents the completion of Byrne's highly successful series of books on the four gospels, which have proven to be rich resources for preachers, teachers, and all who desire a more profound understanding of the life of Jesus as it is presented in the gospels.
