The adventure of English : 500AD to 2000 : the biography of a language
by
English is understood by around two thousand million people across the world. Yet it was very nearly wiped out in its early years. Melvyn Bragg explores the story of the English language - from its beginnings as a minor Germanic dialect to its position today as a truly established global language.
The concise Oxford dictionary of English etymology
by
Based on the Oxford dictionary of English etymology, this concise dictionary with over 17,000 entries contains a wealth of information about the English language and its history.
The Insect That Stole Butter?
by
Combining both accessibility and authority, The Insect That Stole Butter? describes the origins and development of over 3,000 words and phrases in the English language. The book draws on Oxford's unrivalled dictionary research programme and language monitoring, and relates the fascinatingstories behind many of our most curious terms and expressions in order to offer the reader a much more explicit account than can be found in a general English dictionary.Organized A-Z, the entries include first known use along with examples that illustrate the many faces of the particular word or phrase, from 'handsome' to 'bachelor' and 'cute' to 'baby', from 'pagan' to 'palaver' and 'toff' to 'torpedo'. Also featured are almost 20 special panels that coverexpressions common in English but drawn from other languages, such as 'coffee', 'sugar', and 'candy' from Arabic or 'booze', 'brandy', and 'gin' (Dutch).This absorbing volume is useful for language students and enthusiasts, but also an intriguing read for any person interested in the development of the English language and of language development in general. Includes an extended introduction on the history of the English language.
Letter Perfect
by
A fun, lively, and learned excursion into the alphabet--and cultural history. Letters are tangible language. Joining together in endless combinations to actually show speech, letters convey our messages and tell our stories. While we encounter these tiny shapes hundreds of times a day, we take for granted the long, fascinating history behind one of the most fundamental of human inventions: the alphabet. The heart of the book is the 26 fact-filled "biographies" of letters A through Z, each one identifying the letter's particular significance for modern readers, tracing its development from ancient forms, and discussing its noteworthy role in literature and other media. We learn, for example, why the letter X has a sinister and sexual aura, how B came to signify second best, why the word "mother" in many languages starts with M, and what is the story of O. Packed with information and lavishly illustrated, Letter Perfect is accessible, entertaining, and essential to the appreciation of our own language.
Allen and Greenough's New Latin Grammar
by
A venerable resource for more than a century, this is still regarded by students and teachers as the finest Latin grammar reference available. Concise, comprehensive, and well organized, it is unrivaled in depth and clarity, placing a wealth of advice on usage, vocabulary, diction, composition, and syntax within easy reach of all levels.
Classics Textbooks, Volume 4
by
"In republican times, one of Rome's deadliest enemies was King Mithridates of Pontus. In 66 BCE, after decades of inconclusive struggle, the tribune Manilius proposed a bill that would give supreme command in the war against Mithridates to Pompey the Great, who had just swept the Mediterranean clean of another menace: the pirates. While powerful aristocrats objected to the proposal, which would endow Pompey with unprecedented powers, the bill proved hugely popular among the people, and one of the praetors, Marcus Tullius Cicero, also hastened to lend it his support. In his first ever political speech, variously entitled pro lege Manilia or de imperio Gnaei Pompei, Cicero argues that the war against Mithridates requires the appointment of a perfect general and that the only man to live up to such lofty standards is Pompey. In the section under consideration here, Cicero defines the most important hallmarks of the ideal military commander and tries to demonstrate that Pompey is his living embodiment. This course book offers a portion of the original Latin text, study aids with vocabulary, and a commentary. Designed to stretch and stimulate readers, the incisive commentary will be of particular interest to students of Latin at both AS and undergraduate level. It extends beyond detailed linguistic analysis and historical background to encourage critical engagement with Cicero's prose and discussion of the most recent scholarly thought."--Publisher's website.
A Latin dictionary : founded on Andrew's edition of Freund's Latin dictionary
by
No description available.
The making of Latin: an introduction to Latin, Greek and English etymology
by
No description available
A Primer of Ecclesiastical Latin
by
Includes grammar, excercises, vocabulary and index.
Biblical Greek Language and Linguistics
by
Authors Bio, not available
A Companion to the Ancient Greek Language
by
A comprehensive account of the language of Ancient Greekcivilization in a single volume, with contributions from leadinginternational scholars covering the historical, geographical,sociolinguistic, and literary perspectives of the language. A collection of 36 original essays by a team of internationalscholars Treats the survival and transmission of Ancient Greek Includes discussions on phonology, morphology, syntax,semantics, and pragmatics
Encyclopedia of Ancient Greek Language and Linguistics
by
The Encyclopedia of Ancient Greek Language and Linguistics (EAGLL) brings together the latest research from across a range of disciplines contributing to our knowledge of Ancient Greek. The EAGLL offers a systematic and comprehensive treatment of all aspects of the history and study of Ancient Greek, comprising detailed descriptions of the language from Proto-Greek to koine. It addresses linguistic aspects from several perspectives, including history, structure, individual singularities, biographical references, schools of thought, technical meta-language, sociolinguistic issues, dialects, didactics, translation practices, generic issues, Greek in relation to other languages, etc., and on all levels of analysis including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, lexicon, semantics, stylistics, etc. It also includes all the necessary background information regarding the roots of Greek in Indo-European. As and when, excursions may be made to later stages of the language, e.g. Byzantine or even later. The focus, however, will predominantly be Ancient Greek. With well over 500 entries on all aspects of Ancient Greek, this new encyclopedia is the authoritative reference work for students and researchers of Ancient Greek, general linguistics, Indo-European languages, and Biblical literature. The online version of the EAGLL can be found here.
A Greek Grammar
by
Contents Letters, Syllables, and Accents Inflection Formation of Words Syntax Versification
Understanding Language
by
Understanding Language includes major sections on the noun and verb systems of the classical languages.
A Concise Lexicon of Late Biblical Hebrew
by
The Hebrew language may be divided into the Biblical, Mishnaic, Medieval, and Modern periods. Biblical Hebrew has its own distinct linguistic profile, exhibiting a diversity of styles and linguistic traditions extending over some one thousand years as well as tangible diachronic developments that may serve as chronological milestones in tracing the linguistic history of Biblical Hebrew. Unlike standard dictionaries, whose scope and extent are dictated by the contents of the Biblical concordance, this lexicon includes only 80 lexical entries, chosen specifically for a diachronic investigation of Late Biblical Hebrew. Selected primarily to illustrate the fifth-century 'watershed' separating Classical from post-Classical Biblical Hebrew, emphasis is placed on 'linguistic contrasts' illuminated by a rich collection of examples contrasting Classical Biblical Hebrew with Late Biblical Hebrew, Biblical Hebrew with Rabbinic Hebrew, and Hebrew with Aramaic.
A Hebrew and English Lexicon of the Old Testament
by
Based on the Lexicon of William Gesenius as translated by Edward Robinson.Edited with constant reference to the Thesaurus of Gesenius as completed by E. Rodiger, and with authorized use of the latest German editions of Gesenius' `Handworterbuch uber das Alte Testament', by Francis Brown, with the co-operation of S. R. Driver and Charles A. Briggs
An Idiom Book of New Testament Greek
by
The student or translator of the New Testament will often find difficulties which can only be solved by considering the syntax of the passage concerned. Professor Moule here provides a reference book which gives guidance on such problems of exegesis. It is a work which presupposes a knowledge of Greek and makes frequent allusions to the standard works; it is intended primarily for theological students. After an introductory section on 'The Language of the New Testament' Professor Moule considers in turn particular syntactical divisions (tenses, moods, voices, cases), certain parts of speech and types of clauses, and idiosyncrasies in usage. The last four chapters are 'The order of words', 'Semitisms', 'Latinisms', and 'Miscellaneous notes on style'. In each section New Testament usages are defined and distinguished. A number of examples of each type of problem are discussed. They were chosen as being sufficiently representative to provide a guide to the treatment of similar difficulties.
Reading Koine Greek
by
This in-depth yet student-friendly introduction to Koine Greek provides a full grounding in Greek grammar, while starting to build skill in the use of exegetical tools. The approach, informed by twenty-five years of classroom teaching, emphasizes reading Greek for comprehension as opposed to merely translating it. The workbook is integrated into the textbook, with exercises appearing within each chapter rather than pushed to the end or located in a separate book. This enables students to practice concepts as they encounter them in the chapter--ideal for distance learning or studying beyond the traditional classroom. The book covers not only New Testament Greek but also the wider range of Bible-related Greek (LXX and other Koine texts). It introduces students to reference tools for biblical Greek, includes tips on learning, and is supplemented by robust web-based resources through Baker Academic's Textbook eSources. Resources for students include flash cards and audio files. Resources for professors include a test bank and an instructor's manual.
