LibGuides: Languages: Journals & Databases

Key Databases

The Library subscribes to databases to provide you access to sources which are usually not freely available via the internet. You can search databases on your chosen topic and locate full-text articles, abstracts of articles or citations. For the full list of databases available through the Library Hub, see the A-Z Databases page.

Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window Loeb provides access to more than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek and English texts in a modern and elegant interface, allowing users to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content with ease.
Key features include:
Single and dual-language reading modes
Sophisticated bookmarking and annotation features
Tools for sharing bookmarks and annotations
Greek keyboard
User account and My Loeb content saved in perpetuity
Intuitive search and browse
Inclusion of every Loeb volume in print
Regular uploading of new and revised volumes
Note: Some of the site's most useful tools are features of "My Loebs," the personal accounts available to all authorized users. We'd encourage users to create your own accounts (via the "Sign up" link at the top of each page on the site) so as to utilize the digital Loeb Classical Library's full capabilities.

A list of all titles in the LOEB Classical Library is available at http://www.hup.harvard.edu/resources/booksellers/

Library of Latin Texts - Series A & B (Brepols) This link opens in a new window Click on "Enter databases" then select the database you want to use.
It contains texts from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronicus, 240 BC) through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965). The texts have been taken from the Corpus Christianorum series and from many other leading editions. In total, the present version of the LLT-A contains over 63 million Latin words, drawn from more than 3300 works that are attributed to more than 1000 authors. It covers Latin literature from Antiquity to the twentieth century. LLT-B is a complementary database that grows at a faster pace than the LLT-A. It contains more than 600 texts.
Aristoteles Latinus Database This link opens in a new window Part of a comprehensive cluster of databases relating to the study of Latin, the ALD contains a complete corpus of medieval translations of the works of Aristotle.
These texts constituted the main tools for the study of science and philosophy in the Middle Ages.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae This link opens in a new window A comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era.
The Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) is a Special Research Program at the University of California, Irvine. Founded in 1972 the TLG represents the first effort in the Humanities to produce a large digital corpus of literary texts.

Further information about accessing Thesaurus Linguae Graecae is available here.

Key Journals

To find a specific journal, use the University of Divinity's Journal Finder ᐅ

Bulletin de correspondance hellénique No description available.
Classical Outlook Languages and linguistics; Classical and early civilizations; Arts and humanities; History
The Classical Quarterly Languages and linguistics publication.
The Classical World Begun in 1907 as The Classical Weekly, this peer-reviewed journal publishes contributions on all aspects of Greek and Roman literature, history, and society; on the classical tradition; on the history of classical scholarship; and on the teaching of Latin, Greek, and classical civilization.
Journal of Early Christian Studies No description available.