Doctrine and Life
The main focus' of the journals are homiletics, the Bible and liturgical aids, current theological problems, comment on political and social issues from a Catholic viewpoint, spirituality, biography, Church documents, and religious life. - from the Dominican Publications Website
New Blackfriars
Founded in 1920 as a focus of Catholic Christian reflection on current events, New Blackfriars publishes articles and book reviews of general interest, with an emphasis on theology, philosophy and cultural studies.
Newman Studies Journal
Founded in 2004 by the National Institute for Newman Studies, the Newman Studies Journal (NSJ) is an interdisciplinary research publication dedicated to the life, work, and thought of John Henry Newman and their continuing significance. The NSJ welcomes submissions that explore Newman’s life and works, his predecessors, contemporaries and successors, his reception throughout history, and his influence today.
Phronema
Phronema is the official peer reviewed journal of St Andrew’s Greek Orthodox Theological College, Sydney, published twice yearly in the Autumn and Spring of the southern hemisphere. It presents articles and book reviews from Orthodox and non-Orthodox on various topics.
Refresh : Journal of Contemplative Spirituality
Refresh, Spiritual Growth Ministries' journal of contemplative spirituality, is published twice a year, usually in July and December. Each issue works with a theme that is both relevant and stimulating of thought, prayer and discipleship
Religious Studies Review
Religious Studies Review (RSR) is a quarterly review of publications across the entire field of religion and related disciplines. RSR is the only publication that provides major review essays and short reviews for over 1,000 titles in religion annually. The editorial staff is composed of professors from all over the world.
Spiritus : a journal of Christian spirituality
Spiritus covers a wide range of disciplines within the field of religious studies: history, philosophy, theology, and psychology. Ecumenical in its approach, Spiritus explores the connections between spirituality and cultural analysis -- including literary and artistic expression, social activism, and spiritual practice. Filled with lively insightful articles, reviews, and new translations of important texts, Spiritus appeals not only to scholars and academics, but also to general readers such as pastors, practitioners, and those in the helping professions. The journal's goal is to promote research in the field of Christian spirituality while fostering creative dialogue with other non-Christian traditions. Spiritus is sponsored by the Society for the Study of Christian Spirituality (SSCS).
Studies in Spirituality
The purpose of this journal of the Titus Brandsma Institute (Nijmegen) is to publish scholarly and specialized articles on spirituality and mysticism, and thus promote spirituality as a science. Since spirituality needs a multi-disciplinary approach, Studies in Spirituality covers a wide spectrum: theoretical questions about spirituality and mysticism; fundamental aspects and phenomena of spiritual transformation; important currents, periods and figures in the different spiritual traditions. The focus is mainly on Judeo-Christian traditions, although not exclusively. The editorial board has as its aim the elaboration of spirituality as an academic science with a specific object and methodology - a science in continual dialogue with the other sciences that may assist in clarifying questions and problems in spirituality. It believes that the art of understanding human transformation is best served by the study of spirituality. For this reason, the journal makes available the findings of the most recent research of contemporary scholarship in spirituality.
Studies in the spirituality of Jesuits
Studies in the Spirituality of Jesuits is a journal dedicated to Jesuit history and spirituality, examining the spiritual doctrine and practice of Society of Jesus through scholarly essays. It is a product of the Seminar on Jesuit Spirituality, whose membership is composed of Jesuits appointed from their provinces in the United States.
Tjurunga
Tjurunga is a publication of the Benedictine Union of Australia and New Zealand.
The Way
The Way is an international journal of contemporary Christian spirituality, published quarterly by the British Jesuits. Through writing informed by critical and creative scholarship, it aims to provide a forum in which thoughtful Christians, from different walks of life and different traditions, can reflect on God’s continuing action in human experience. Among particular concerns of The Way are:
• the role of spirituality in the struggle for justice
• the spiritual issues raised by intercultural and interreligious dialogue
• the interactions between spirituality, politics and culture
• the fostering and development of the Ignatian spiritual tradition
Articles
GAUDETE ET EXSULTATE Series | National Catholic Reporter
On April 9, 2018, Pope Francis released the papal exhortation Gaudete et Exsultate ("Rejoice and Be Glad"), a 98-page document focused on how Christians can live holy lives. These series of articles focuses on this document.
Spiritual Formation and St. Paul as Spiritual Director: Determining the Primary Aims | Victor Copan Th.D.
Journal of Spiritual Formation and Soul Care v3 n2 2010.
Dallas Willard makes the claim that spiritual formation “refers to the Spirit-driven process of forming the inner world of the human self in such a way that it becomes like the inner being of Christ himself.”1 Can this claim be substantiated and stand up to close scrutiny, or is Dallas Willard selecting an idea of his own fancy and making this the cornerstone of his understanding of spiritual formation? How can this claim be tested and anchored?; In this article we will seek to answer these questions by looking at the Apostle Paul in his function as spiritual director. Although it is patently anachronistic to speak of Paul as spiritual director, can we legitimately understand him in this role? We will propose a generative understanding of spiritual direction and then proceed to examine the Apostle Paul and his aims based on that generative understanding. We will also argue that at the core of Paul's functioning as a spiritual director lies a strong appeal to examine and imitate his life and character and to follow his ways. This appeal by Paul for others to imitate him is anchored in Paul's own imitation of Christ himself. Paul's call to imitation thus provides a window into discovering how Paul understood his role as spiritual director and also provides us the means to discern his goals in spiritual direction.
The University of Divinity has access to a variety of online databases. This page provides access to the most relevant databases for your spirituality research. To access our A-Z Database list, click here.
Atla Religion Database with Atla Serials PLUS
This link opens in a new windowIndexing and full text for major religion and theology journals worldwide, including AtlaSerials PLUS for extended journal coverage.
Coverage dates from 1949 to the present with retrospective indexing for some journal issues as far back as the nineteenth century. Journals are selected for inclusion according to their scholarly merit and scope.
ATLA RDB contains more than 1.8 million records, including:
1,800+ journal titles in total (646 which are currently being indexed)
672,200+ journal article records
267,300+ essay records
18,000+ multi-author works
612,100+ review records
301,900+ book records
EBSCO Religion & Philosophy Collection
This link opens in a new windowFull-text journals in religion, theology, and philosophy from EBSCO, supporting study and research across these disciplines.
It provides extensive coverage in subject areas such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
JSTOR
This link opens in a new windowFull-text journals, ebooks, and digital archival collections across disciplines from 1700 onwards.
Oxford Handbooks Online
This link opens in a new windowIn-depth handbook essays surveying major topics and debates.
One of the most prestigious and successful strands of Oxford's scholarly publishing, the Handbook series contains in-depth, high-level articles by scholars at the top of their field. Religion and Philosophy Collections only
Peer-reviewed overview articles on central topics in religion.
The Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Religion is part of the larger online Oxford Research Encyclopedia, a dynamic digital encyclopedia continuously updated by the world’s leading scholars and researchers.
OSO offers full-text access to scholarly works from multiple disciplines with the Religion module providing access to award-winning Oxford University Press scholarship in this subject area.
ProQuest Religion & Philosophy eBooks
This link opens in a new windowOver 14,000 religion and philosophy eBooks, with strong coverage in theology and world religions.
The subscription includes renowned publishers such as Brill Academic Publishers, Walter de Gruyter, Oxford University Press (OUP), Catholic University of America Press, University of Notre Dame Press, Syracuse University Press, Marquette Press and Society of Biblical Literature. Currently available on the ebrary platform and will be available on the coming ProQuest Ebook Central platform.
Twentieth Century Religious Thought Library
This link opens in a new windowTwentieth Century Religious Thought Library is a multivolume, cross-searchable online collection that brings together the seminal works and archival materials related to worldwide religious thinkers from the early 1900s until the first decade of the 21st century.
Some of the authors represented from the Christian tradition include: Hans Urs von Baltasar, Karl Barth, Sergius Bulgakov, Dietrich Bonhoeffer, Rudolf Bultmann, Helder Camara, James Cone, Ivone Gebara, Gustavo Gutierrez, Adolf von Harnack, Henri de Lubac, Reinhold Niebuhr, Wolfhart Pannenberg, Rosemary Radford Ruether, Dorothee Solle, and John Howard Yoder. Twentieth Century Religious Thought Library provides resources to further explore Christian-Muslim-Jewish relations and key concepts in theology across religions. It supports research and teaching in comparative religion, theology, world religion, religion and law, religion and politics, and serves as an important resource for courses and scholarship in Middle Eastern studies, social theory, feminist studies, philosophy, and world history.
The Library includes 3 sub collections:
Twentieth Century Religious Thought: Vol I, Christianity
Twentieth Century Religious Thought: Vol II, Islam
The Digital Karl Barth Library
