Decolonizing University Teaching and Learning by
Decolonizing University Teaching and Learning considers apprehensions around decolonizing and offers a summary of key arguments within critical discussion around its meaning and value through engagement with a growing body of literature. The contextually based and complex discussions concerning decolonization means one cannot be guided through the process in a particular way. Therefore, the text is not intended to be read as a handbook for decolonizing teaching and learning, nor is it an anthropologically oriented text. Drawing on Critical Race Theory, the book highlights the benefits of decolonizing teaching and learning for all students and staff. This book offers up the TRAAC model as an entry point for challenging conversations. By bringing together questions raised within existing scholarly discussions, the TRAAC model provides prompts to instigate deeper reflections around decolonizing by way of supporting colleagues to start a productive dialogue. Through these critically reflective and reflexive conversations, action-oriented discussions can simultaneously take place. The value of this book lies in the contributions from authors based across a number of universities and disciplines. Reflecting on personal experiences, staff and student relationships, subject specific challenges, and wider issues within HE, the contributions are grounded in the employment of the TRAAC model as a mode of entry into discussing particular issues around decolonizing teaching and learning.
Deliberative Pedagogy by
As the public purposes of higher education are being challenged by the increasing pressures of commodification and market-driven principles, Deliberative Pedagogy argues for colleges and universities to be critical spaces for democratic engagement. The authors build upon contemporary research on participatory approaches to teaching and learning while simultaneously offering a robust introduction to the theory and practice of deliberative pedagogy as a new educational model for civic life. This volume is written for faculty members and academic professionals involved in curricular, co-curricular, and community settings, as well as administrators who seek to support faculty, staff, and students in such efforts. The book begins with a theoretical grounding and historical underpinning of education for democracy, provides a diverse collection of practical case studies with best practices shared by an array of scholars from varying disciplines and institutional contexts worldwide, and concludes with useful methods of assessment and next steps for this work. The contributors seek to catalyze a conversation about the role of deliberation in the next paradigm of teaching and learning in higher education and how it connects with the future of democracy. Ultimately, this book seeks to demonstrate how higher education institutions can cultivate collaborative and engaging learning environments that better address the complex challenges in our global society.
Doing Diversity in Higher Education by
Using case studies from universities throughout the nation, Doing Diversity in Higher Education examines the role faculty play in improving diversity on their campuses. The power of professors to enhance diversity has long been underestimated, their initiatives often hidden from view. Winnifred Brown-Glaude and her contributors uncover major themes and offer faculty and administrators a blueprint for conquering issues facing campuses across the country. Topics include how to dismantle hostile microclimates, sustain and enhance accomplishments, deal with incomplete institutionalization, and collaborate with administrators. The contributors' essays portray working on behalf of diversity as a genuine intellectual project rather than a faculty "service." The rich variety of colleges and universities included provides a wide array of models that faculty can draw upon to inspire institutional change.
Language and Decoloniality in Higher Education by
Language and Decoloniality in Higher Education brings together a collection of diverse papers that address, from various angles, the issue of decoloniality, language and transformation in higher education. It reflects the authors' cumulative years of experience as educators in higher education in different southern contexts. Distilled as case studies, the authors use a range of decolonial lenses to reflect on questions of knowledge, language and learning, and to build a reflexive praxis of decoloniality through multilingualism. Besides a number of decolonial persepectives which readers will be familiar with, this volume also explores a conceptual framework, Linguistic Citizenship, developed over the past two decades by scholars in southern Africa. In this collection, Linguistic Citizenship is used as a lens to 'think beyond' the inherited colonial matrices of language which have shaped this region (and many other southern contexts) for centuries, and to 're-imagine' multilingualism - and semiotics, more broadly - as a transformative resource in the broader project of social justice. Although each chapter has firm roots in the South African context, these studies have much to offer others in their 'quest for better worlds'. Of particular interest to global scholars are the authors' recounts of how they have grappled with leveraging the country's multilingual resources in the project of promoting academic access and success in the face of historical hierarchies of language and social power.
Teaching for Diversity and Social Justice by
For nearly a decade, Teaching for Diversity and Social Justicehas been the definitive sourcebook of theoretical foundations and curricular frameworks for social justice teaching practice. This thoroughly revised second edition continues to provide teachers and facilitators with an accessible pedagogical approach to issues of oppression in classrooms. Building on the groundswell of interest in social justice education, the second edition offers coverage of current issues and controversies while preserving the hands-on format and inclusive content of the original. Teaching for Diversity and Social Justicepresents a well-constructed foundation for engaging the complex and often daunting problems of discrimination and inequality in American society. This book includes a CD-ROM with extensive appendices for participant handouts and facilitator preparation.
Teaching Students Thinking Skills and Strategies by
Developing the ability to think is a major part of education, which helps students become independent learners and participate fully in a learning environment. This book sets out the theory and outlines a model for implementing the teaching of thinking at whole-school, group and individual levels in inclusive settings. The model uses a three-tier approach to ensure that all learners are included: teaching thinking for all, which takes into account common needs; working with small groups, for those with exceptional needs such as learning difficulties or high ability; and addressing individualised learning needs, including those with a complex disability. The book covers key approaches to the teaching of thinking, giving examples of how each can best be used at each tier level. It also addresses the impact of different social contexts, cultures and environmental surroundings on learning. This book will be essential reading for all members of school communities, including education leaders and teachers. Educational psychologists, special educational needs co-ordinators, speech and language therapists, and those with particular interest in educating children who are vulnerable, from disadvantaged backgrounds, and from culturally different backgrounds, will find much of value in this book.
Transforming the Academy by
In recent decades, American universities have begun to tout the "diversity" of their faculty and student bodies. But what kinds of diversity are being championed in their admissions and hiring practices, and what kinds are being neglected? Is diversity enough to solve the structural inequalities that plague our universities? And how might we articulate the value of diversity in the first place? Transforming the Academy begins to answer these questions by bringing together a mix of faculty--male and female, cisgender and queer, immigrant and native-born, tenured and contingent, white, black, multiracial, and other--from public and private universities across the United States. Whether describing contentious power dynamics within their classrooms or recounting protests that occurred on their campuses, the book's contributors offer bracingly honest inside accounts of both the conflicts and the learning experiences that can emerge from being a representative of diversity. The collection's authors are united by their commitment to an ideal of the American university as an inclusive and transformative space, one where students from all backgrounds can simultaneously feel intellectually challenged and personally supported. Yet Transforming the Academy also offers a wide range of perspectives on how to best achieve these goals, a diversity of opinion that is sure to inspire lively debate.