LibGuides: Indigenous Theologies: Journals & Databases

Key Databases

Use the main Library Hub search bar to search across multiple databases. Try keywords such as: Indigenous, Aboriginal, First Nations, Native American, or Inuit and then use filters to narrow your search results.

The following databases include content that will be particularly useful in the area of Indigenous studies.

Informit Indigenous Collection

Includes journals, reports and monographs from Australia, Indonesia, Malaysia, New Zealand, Canada, the US and the Pacific. With a broad range of international research resources brought together, the Informit Indigenous Collection offers a variety of content on both historical and topical issues within Indigenous studies. Readily available, the multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary framework encompasses anthropology, community development, cultural studies, economics, education, health, history, human geography, law and land rights, literature, politics and policymaking, (post)colonial studies, psychology, race studies, sociology and visual and performing arts.

JSTOR Collection

Full-text searching of hundreds of journal titles in the sciences, humanities, social sciences, business, and more.

The Library subscribes to databases to provide you access to sources which are usually not freely available via the internet. You can search databases on your chosen topic and locate full-text articles, abstracts of articles or citations. For the full list of databases available through the Library Hub, see the A-Z Databases page.

Journals and Articles

ab-Original : Journal of Indigenous Studies and First Nations' and First Peoples' Cultures A journal devoted to issues of indigeneity in the new millennium. It is a multi-disciplinary journal embracing themes such as art, history, literature, politics, linguistics, health sciences and law. It is a portal for new knowledge and contemporary debate whose audience is not only that of academics and students but professionals involved in shaping policies with regard to concern relating to indigenous peoples.
Aboriginal History Aboriginal History is the annual refereed journal of Aboriginal History Inc., a publishing organisation based at the Australian National University in Canberra, Australia. Since 1977 the journal has pioneered studies of indigenous oral history, language, ethno-history and documentary evidence.
Aboriginal History Journal Available from ANU. Aboriginal History is an annual journal that contains interdisciplinary historical studies of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples’ interactions with non-Indigenous peoples. It promotes publication of Indigenous oral traditions, biographies, languages, archival and bibliographic guides, previously unpublished manuscript accounts, critiques of current events, and research and reviews in the fields of anthropology, archaeology, sociology, linguistics, demography, law, geography and cultural, political and economic history. The journal has been in publication since 1977. The journal is co-published by Aboriginal History Inc., a publishing organisation based in the Australian Centre for Indigenous History, Research School of Social Sciences, The Australian National University, Canberra. For more information on Aboriginal History Inc., please visit aboriginalhistory.org.au. Aboriginal History journal is committed to the highest standards of ethics in academic research and publishing. We are particularly mindful of the specific ethical practices for undertaking research and publishing in relation to Australian Indigenous peoples.
AlterNative: An International Journal of Indigenous Peoples From SAGE, AlterNative: An International Journal of Indigenous Peoples includes scholarly research on Indigenous worldviews and experiences of decolonization from Indigenous perspectives from around the world, providing the latest thinking and practice in Indigenous scholarship both by Indigenous peoples and by those working alongside and with Indigenous communities.
Australian Aboriginal Studies Australian Aboriginal Studies (AAS) is a quality multidisciplinary journal that exemplifies the vision where the world’s indigenous knowledge and cultures are recognised, respected and valued. It encourages contributions that articulate the ways in which research approaches and methodologies are underpinned by ethical decision-making.
The Australian Journal of Indigenous Education This is a peer reviewed research journal publishing articles in the field of Indigenous education, broadly defined. It is the only journal for educators devoted specifically to issues of practice, pedagogy and policy in Indigenous education in Australia. The journal is published by the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies Unit at the University of Queensland.
Journal of Australian Indigenous Issues JAII is a peer reviewed, academic journal started in 1998 and now published out of the Moondani Toombadool Centre at Swinburne University. JAII is published biannually and explores all areas of Australian Indigenous Studies, from history, education and health to beyond.
Journal of the North American Institute for Indigenous Theological Studies.(NAIITS)
NAIS: Journal of the Native American and Indigenous Studies Association This journal provides a dynamic intellectual space for the communication and dissemination of excellent scholarship related to Indigenous Studies.
National Indigenous Times Strives to be the most comprehensive Indigenous online news site in Australia by offering rigorous reporting on the issues that affect Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples.
Nelen Yubu Nelen Yubu is published by the Nelen Yubu Missiological Unit. The journal is largely focused on the interface between Aboriginal society on the one hand and modern Australian evangelisation on the other, as well as more generally issues of race and mission. Its tools are the resources of anthropological and sociological research.
Oral Tradition From Harvard University, Oral Tradition offers open access content on the study of past and present oral traditions from around the world.
Paulson, Graham, and Mark G Brett. 2013. “Five Smooth Stones: Reading the Bible through Aboriginal Eyes.” Colloquium 45 (2): 199–214.