Australia's First Peoples (AIATSIS)AIATSIS concise overview and short video for people taking first steps in understanding Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples and cultures and also includes a section on what terms are best to use.
Center for World Indigenous StudiesA global community of indigenous studies activists and scholars. Dedicated to wider understanding and appreciation of the ideas and knowledge of indigenous peoples and the social, economic and political realities of indigenous nations.
Common GroundCommon Ground is a First Nations not-for-profit and collective of First Nations people changing systems through storytelling.
Indigenous AustraliaIndigenous Australia is hosted by the National Centre of Biography at the Australian National University.
Indigenous Australia brings together all entries on Indigenous Australians found in the NCB's biographical websites–Australian Dictionary of Biography, Obituaries Australia and People Australia.
Make Healing Happen: It’s Time to Act | Healing FoundationThe Make Healing Happen: It’s time to act report sets out a plan with recommendations to achieve real and lasting healing for Stolen Generations survivors, their families and communities. PDF of report is available from this website.
Nungalinya CollegeNungalinya is the premier Combined Churches Training College for Indigenous Australians. The College is formally supported by the Anglican, Uniting and Catholic churches of the Northern Territory and is situated in Casuarina, a northern suburb of Darwin.
AIATSIS Guide to evaluating and selecting education resourcesIn October 2022 AIATSIS published the Guide to evaluating and selecting education resources (the Guide). The Guide assists non-Indigenous educators, and others to critically self-reflect on history and the effects that this has on pedagogical practises today.
Guidelines for Ethical Research in Australian Indigenous StudiesCreated by the Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies (AIATSIS) to ensure that research with and about Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples follows a process of meaningful engagement and reciprocity between the researcher and the individuals and/or communities involved in the research.
Guidelines for First Nations collection descriptionA set of high-level guidelines for the Australian library sector that will ensure First Nations collection descriptions are respectful, accurate, and considerate of historical biases, and support equitable representation of these communities’ perspectives and experiences.
Indigenous Referencing Guidance for Indigenous Knowledges | PDF ONLINEIndigenous Archives Collective; Faulkhead, S; Thorpe, K; Sentance, N; Booker, L; & R Barrowcliffe. (2023) Indigenous Referencing Guidance for Indigenous Knowledges. Indigenous Archives Collective and the UTS Jumbunna Institute of Indigenous Education and Research.
International Year of Indigenous LanguagesThe International Year of Indigenous Languages is a United Nations observance in 2019 that aims to raise awareness of the consequences of the endangerment of Indigenous languages across the world, with an aim to establish a link between language, development, peace, and reconciliation.
Kairos Blanket Exercise (Canada)The KAIROS Blanket Exercise program is a unique, participatory history lesson – developed in collaboration with Indigenous Elders, knowledge keepers and educators – that fosters truth, understanding, respect and reconciliation among Indigenous and non-indigenous peoples.
NAIDOCNAIDOC stands for National Aborigines and Islanders Day Observance Committee. NAIDOC Week is an Australian observance lasting from the first Sunday in July until the following Sunday. NAIDOC Week celebrates the history, culture and achievements of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples.
Pathways Thesauri | AIATSISPathways contains the terms used to describe the items in the AIATSIS Collections. Including, a thesaurus for subjects relating to Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander studies, language groups and people, and place names.
Written Resources | Terri Janke and CompanyTerri Janke and Company is a 100% Indigenous owned and run law firm that empowers clients to achieve success in business and innovation. Founded in April 2000 by Dr Terri Janke (Solicitor Director), we are multi-award winning and a Certified Supplier with Supply Nation. Our expertise includes Commercial Law and Indigenous Cultural and Intellectual Property (ICIP).
