To find resources on moral theology, select the Subject search on the Advanced Search of the catalogue. Search by the name of a moral/ethical issue, e.g.
Search Tip: when using the catalogue, be sure to use the filters on the left to refine your search.
Thomas Aquinas (1225-1274), Summa Theologica, Prima Secundae Partis. (via New Advent).
The Essential Summa Theologiae by
Saint Thomas Aquinas's masterwork, the Summa theologiae, can be daunting to beginners. This volume by an expert on Aquinas's theology offers an ideal introduction. It presents key selections from the Summa along with accessible commentary designed to provide background, explain key concepts, and walk readers through Aquinas's arguments. Previously published as Holy Teaching, this new edition has been fully revised and includes a substantial amount of new material. The book draws from the entire Summa and incorporates selections that focus on moral theology, providing a fuller picture of Aquinas's thought.
The Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology by
With over 550 entries ranging from Abba to Zwingli composed by leading contemporary theologians from around the world, The Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology represents a fresh, ecumenical approach to theological reference. Written with an emphasis on clarity and concision, all entries are designed to help the reader understand and assess the specifically theological significance of the most important concepts. Clearly structured, the volume is organized around a small number of 'core entries' which focus on key topics to provide a general overview of major subject areas, while making use of related shorter entries to impart a more detailed knowledge of technical terms. The work as a whole provides an introduction to the defining topics in Christian thought and is an essential reference point for students and scholars.
Companion to the Catechism of the Catholic Church by
A companion to the Catechism of the Catholic Church.
The Essential Moral Handbook by
Moral theology is much more than a simple consideration of right and wrong. The Essential Moral Handbook will help readers grasp the basic principles of moral theology in the Roman Catholic tradition and apply them to their own lives. This handbook leads to solid answers that respect human dignity, promote the rights of the individual, and stress the importance of personal responsibility. The Essential Moral Handbook will provide valuable assistance to lay ministers, members of evangelical teams, parents mentoring their children in the basics of the faith, RCIA candidates, teachers, and those who want a review of moral issues in light of current events. 336-page paperback
The New Dictionary of Catholic Social Thought by
The New Dictionary of Catholic Social Thoughtbrings together writers from around the world, writing on present-day social issues as well as historical issues and movements that have shaped our current views. Included are articles on the great social encyclicals, from Leo XIII's Rerum Novarum to John Paul II's Centesimus Annus, and the Vatican II documents and various episcopal documents that relate to social concerns and the field of social ethics. The articles on fundamental human rights include such issues as poverty, homelessness, exploitation, and feminism. Also included are articles dealing with economics, industry, labor, political systems, and environmental concerns, as these impact and influence modern Catholic social thought. Theological concerns, liturgical movements, and scriptural foundations are well represented. The New Dictionary of Catholic Social Thought will be the reference work for anyone involved in social outreach or connected with the field of social ethics. Entries include: Abortion (Social Implications) by James J. McCartney, OSA Arms Race by Joseph Cardinal Bernardin Birth Control by James P. Hanigan Business Ethics by Vincent Burns Catholic Worker by June O'Connor Culture by Allan Figueroa Deck, SJ Ecology by Thomas Ryan, SM Evangelization by Robert Schreiter, CPPS Feminism and Catholic Social Thought by Barbara Hogan Genocide by John T. Palikowski, OSM Homosexuality (Social Implications) by Vincent Genovesi, SJ Human Rights by Thomas Hoppe Images of God by John R. Sachs, SJ Moral Life (Christian) by Vincent McNamara Preferential Option for the Poor by Donald Dorr Religious Freedom by J. Leon Hopper, SJ Secularism by Cyril T. Haley, SSC Sin by Judith A. Merkle, SND de N Stewardship by Gerald Coleman, SS Synod of Bishops by Avery Dulles, SJ Taxes by Charles E. Curran Technology by John M. Staudenmaier, SJ Vatican II by Frederick J. Cwiekowski, SS Women by Maria Riley, OP "
New Dictionary of Christian Ethics and Pastoral Theology by
Voted one of Christianity Today's 1996 Books of the Year!Especially in today's complicated world, moral practice and decision-making raise many hard questions. Dealing with those questions often requires wide-ranging understanding--in areas such as systematic and practical theology, psychology, economics, sociology and philosophy. For the first time, the New Dictionary of Christian Ethics and Pastoral Theology offers expert information and guidance across this range of disciplines--in a single volume.Besides hundreds of articles on specific issues, the Dictionary includes eighteen major keynote articles which provide a basic introduction to the main themes of Christian ethics and pastoral theology. These articles alone constitute a textbook of Christian ethics, excellently surveying that broad field.Written at a nontechnical and accessible level, this Dictionary will be consulted again and again by Christians from all walks of life.
Word on Fire Vatican II Collection by
The Second Vatican Council (1962-1965), a gathering of Catholic bishops from around the world, was one of the most significant cultural and ecclesiastical events of the twentieth century. Though practically everyone acknowledges its importance, Catholics have been debating its precise meaning and application for the past sixty years. On the one hand are "radical traditionalists" who claim that Vatican II has betrayed authentic Catholicism and produced disastrous consequences in the life of the Church; on the other, "progressives" who saw the council documents as a first step in the direction of a more radical reform of the Church, perpetuating the "spirit" of Vatican II. But even as many voices have argued about the council since the documents appeared in the mid-1960s, the documents of Vatican II are still widely unread, and if they are read, often misunderstood. This groundbreaking new book from Word on Fire is designed to address that problem. The Word on Fire Vatican II Collection features the four central documents that most fully articulate the vision of the council--Dei Verbum, Lumen Gentium, Sacrosanctum Concilium, and Gaudium et Spes--with illuminating commentary from the postconciliar popes and Bishop Robert Barron interspersed throughout, along with beautifully carved linocut art. The collection also includes the opening address of Pope St. John XXIII, the closing address of Pope St. Paul VI, a foreword from Bishop Barron, an afterword from theologian Matthew Levering, and helpful appendices listing key terms and figures and answering frequently asked questions. The Word on Fire Vatican II Collection is a robust but readable journey into the true history and purpose of the Second Vatican Council, and a compelling call for an enthusiastic return to its texts today.
A Church That Can and Cannot Change by
Using concrete examples, John T. Noonan, Jr., demonstrates that the moral teaching of the Catholic Church has changed and continues to change without abandoning its foundational commitment to the Gospel of Jesus Christ. Specifically, Noonan looks at the profound changes that have occurred over the centuries in Catholic moral teaching on freedom of conscience, lending for a profit, and slavery. He also offers a close examination of the change now in progress concerning divorce. In these changes Noonan perceives the Catholic Church to be a vigorous, living organism answering new questions with new answers, and enlarging the capacity of believers to learn through experience and empathy what love demands. He contends that the impetus to change comes from a variety of sources, including prayer, meditation on Scripture, new theological insights and analyses, the evolution of human institutions, and the examples and instruction given by persons of good will. Noonan also states that the Church cannot change its commitment to preaching the Gospel of Jesus Christ. Given this absolute, how can the moral teaching of the Church change? Noonan finds this question unanswerable when asked in the abstract. But in the context of the specific facts and events he discusses in this book, an answer becomes clear. As our capacity to grasp the Gospel grows, so too, our understanding and compassion, which give life to the Gospel commandments of love, grow.
Conscience by
A collection of published articles, from progressive to conservative, on conscience, edited by one of the foremost scholars in the field.
Development of Moral Theology by
Charles Curran in his newest book The Development of Moral Theology: Five Strands, brings a unique historical and critical analysis to the five strands that differentiate Catholic moral theology from other approaches to Christian ethics -- sin and the manuals of moral theology, the teaching of Thomas Aquinas and later Thomists, natural law, the role of authoritative church teaching in moral areas, and Vatican II. Significant changes have occurred over the course of these historical developments. In addition, pluralism and diversity exist even today, as illustrated, for example, in the theory of natural law proposed by Cardinal Ratzinger. In light of these realities, Curran proposes his understanding of how the strands should influence moral theology today. A concluding chapter highlights the need for a truly theological approach and calls for a significant change in the way that the papal teaching office functions today and its understanding of natural law. In a work useful to anyone who studies Catholic moral theology, The Development of Moral Theology underscores, in the light of the historical development of these strands, the importance of a truly theological and critical approach to moral theology that has significant ramifications for the life of the Catholic church.
The Good Life by
Morality and spirituality-at first blush they don't seem to be intimate partners. But spirituality is surely not relegated to the world of devotions, while the moral life should not be reduced to sins or individual acts of virtue. Based on the conviction that morality and spirituality converge when we explore the sort of persons we ought to become and the sort of lives we ought to lead, noted ethicist Richard Gula has written a simple, direct introduction to the Christian moral life.This work draws on four of the great biblical themes of Christian morality and spirituality to light up a vision of life and those virtues that constitute the biblical life. These biblical themes are being created in the image of God, (ch. 1); being a people of the covenant (chs. 2, 3, 4); being called to discipleship (ch. 5); and being a community of friends under the reign of God (ch. 6). The last chapter summarizes the vision of the good life. Each chapter ends with a variety of spiritual exercises which can enhance the connection between the moral life and the spiritual life.Lucid, concise, and without jargon, this book will make wonderful reflective reading for persons without a background in moral theology, for adult education groups, and high school and college classes. It is a powerful antidote to the strain of living in a consumer society.+
A History of Catholic Moral Theology in the Twentieth Century by
This is an historical survey of 20th Century Roman Catholic Theological Ethics (also known as moral theology). The thesis is that only through historical investigation can we really understand how the most conservative and negative field in Catholic theology at the beginning of the 20th could become by the end of the 20th century the most innovative one. The 20th century begins with moral manuals being translated into the vernacular. After examining the manuals of Thomas Slater and Henry Davis, Keenan then turns to three works and a crowning synthesis of innovation all developed before, during and soon after the Second World War. The first by Odon Lottin asks whether moral theology is adequately historical; Fritz Tillmann asks whether it's adequately biblical; and Gerard Gilleman, whether it's adequately spiritual. Bernard Haering integrates these contributions into his Law of Christ. Of course, people like Gerald Kelly and John Ford in the US are like a few moralists elsewhere, classical gate keepers, censoring innovation. But with Humanae vitae, and successive encyclicals, bishops and popes reject the direction of moral theologians. At the same time, moral theologians, like Josef Fuchs, ask whether the locus of moral truth is in continuous, universal teachings of the magisterium or in the moral judgment of the informed conscience. In their move toward a deeper appreciation of their field as forming consciences, they turn more deeply to local experience where they continue their work of innovation. Each continent subsequently gives rise to their own respondents: In Europe they speak of autonomy and personalism; in Latin America, liberation theology; in North America, Feminism and Black Catholic theology; and, in Asia and Africa a deep post-colonial interculturatism. At the end I assert that in its nature, theological ethics is historical and innovative, seeking moral truth for the conscience by looking to speak crossculturally.
Jesus and Virtue Ethics by
Answering the call of the Second Vatican Council for moral theology to draw more fully on the teaching of Holy Scripture, the authors examine the virtues that both flow from Scripture and provide a lens by which to interpret Scripture. By remaining true to both the New Testament's emphasis on the human response to God's gracious activity in Jesus Christ and to the ethical needs and desires of Christians in the twenty-first century, the authors address key topics such as discipleship, the Sermon on the Mount, love, sin, politics, justice, sexuality, marriage, divorce, bioethics, and ecology.
Moral Theology by
In this book James Keating gathers together some of the top moral theologians to present their own personal visions on present state and future vision of fundamental moral theology.Divided into five sections, the book encompasses a wide variety of topics that set the tone for the next generation of moral theologians: Section One: Theology of Christian Living:--Norbert Rigali on the the Theology of the Christian Life--William C. Spohn, on Jesus and Moral Theology--Ronald Mercier on the Holy Spirit and EthicsSection Two: The Means of Christian Living:Approaches to Moral Discernment--Dennis J. Billy, CSsR, on Dialoguing with Human Experience--James T. Bretzke, SJ, on Scripture and Ethics--Pamela Smith, SSCM, on Thinking with the Church and Its Moral TheologySection Three: The Work of Christian Living:Conversion and Turning from Sin--Walter E. Conn on Young Man Newman--Kenneth R. Himes, OFM, on Human Failing--Richard Gula on Morality and SpiritualitySection Four: The Essence of Christian Living--David M. McCarthy on Love in Fundamental Moral Theology--Timothy P. Muldoon, Postmodern Moral Theology and HolinessSection Five: The Service of Christian Living--Lisa Sowle Cahill on the Global Common Good in the Twenty-First Century--Todd A. Salzman on Natural Law and Basic GoodsWhat emerges from this book is a vision of moral insight that prepares practitioners and theorists in the realm of Catholic morals to set off in new directions, while seeking guidance from the truths that are at the heart of Catholicism.+
Moral Theology of John Paul II by
Pope John Paul II is the second longest serving pope in history and the longest serving pope of the last century. His presence has thrown a long shadow across our time, and his influence on Catholics and non-Catholics throughout the world cannot be denied. Much has been written about this pope, but until now, no one has provided a systematic and thorough analysis of the moral theology that underlies his moral teachings and its astonishing influence. And no one is better positioned to do this than Charles E. Curran, widely recognized as the leading American Catholic moral theologian.
Brilliantly constructed and fearlessly argued, this will be the definitive measure of Pope John Paul II's moral theology for years to come.
The Ten Commandments and the Beatitudes by
The Ten Commandments and the Beatitudes are often considered significant texts for the Christian moral life. However, most interpretations of these passages either focus on the original meaning of the text or how the texts should impact ordinary living today. In The Ten Commandments and the Beatitudes Yiu Sing L c s Chan brings together biblical studies and Christian ethics to look at these foundational texts in a new way. For each passage Chan asks both what the texts meant and what they mean today. He helps readers to carefully study the text's original meaning, then interpret the text within a sound ethical framework. The Ten Commandments and the Beatitudes is an excellent introduction to key concepts in biblical studies and Christian ethics that combines sound study with warmth and wisdom.
Body and Soul by
While most people throughout history have believed that we are both physical and spiritual beings, the rise of science has called into question the existence of the soul. Many now argue that neurophysiology demonstrates the radical dependence, indeed, identity, between mind and brain. Advances in genetics and in mapping human DNA, some say, show there is no need for the hypothesis of body-soul dualism. Even many Christian intellectuals have come to view the soul as a false Greek concept that is outdated and unbiblical.Concurrent with the demise of dualism has been the rise of advanced medical technologies that have brought to the fore difficult issues at both edges of life. Central to questions about abortion, fetal research, reproductive techologies, cloning and euthanasia is our understanding of the nature of human personhood, the reality of life after death and the value of ethical or religious knowledge as compared to scientific knowledge.In this careful treatment, J. P. Moreland and Scott B. Rae argue that the rise of these problems alongside the demise of Christian dualism is no coincidence. They therefore employ a theological realism to meet these pressing issues, and to present a reasonable and biblical depiction of human nature as it impinges upon critical ethical concerns.This vigorous philosophical and ethical defense of human nature as body and soul, regardless of whether one agrees or disagrees, will be for all a touchstone for debate and discussion for years to come.
And Now I See ... by
"Christianity is, above all, a way of seeing. What unites figures as diverse as James Joyce, Caravaggio, John Milton, the architect of Chartres, Dorothy Day, Dietrich Bonhoeffer and the later Bob Dylan is a peculiar and distinctive take on things, a style, a way, which flows finally from Jesus of Nazareth. Origen remarked that holiness is seeing with the eyes of Christ. Teilhard de Chardin said, with great passion, that his mission as a Christian thinker was to help people see. And Thomas Aquinas said that the ultimate goal of the Christian life is a 'beatific vision,' an act of seeing. This book is about coming to vision through Christ." -- Robert Barron, from the Prelude
Broken for you : Jesus Christ, the Catholic priesthood & the word of God by
Three studies from a celebrated Australian biblical scholar contribute to the debate about how we understand priestly ministry within the Catholic tradition.
The Call to Be Human by
Concerned with the notions of morality that Christians have inherited, Vincent MacNamara revisits a topic he wrote about in his widely used and much loved The Truth in Love. Going to the heart of the matter of morality and situating it in the call to be human, MacNamara here displays a sympathetic understanding of the human condition and the demands of modern life.
The Call to Holiness by
Acclaimed author Richard Gula shows the way to become a complete Christian and live a full Christian life. Gula shows that at the heart of Christian living lies an embrace of a balance between spirituality and morality, between, for example, the experience and application of God's love. To achieve and maintain this tension is to be able to answer life's fundamental questions. In the light of God's love, how should we behave, and what kind of persons should we be?· a companion piece to the widely-popular The Good Life.· defines difficult yet fundamental concepts-spirituality and morality.· relates the development, separation, and ultimate union of Christian spiritual and moral living from biblical to present-day times.· is a serious addition to Jesus scholarship.· is accessible to all readers.+
The Christian Moral Life by
Responding to the call of the Second Vatican Council, this introduction to moral theology shows how virtue ethics and a global perspective shape the call to faithful discipleship today.
Ethics and Spirituality by
The reintegration of spirituality with ethics is a fairly recent phenomenon. In 1954 Bernard Häring's The Law of Christ defined moral life as the imitation of Christ and thereby signaled a shift from "rules" to a more holistic model of Christian discipleship. Vatican II, where Häring served as a peritus, invited Catholics to reimagine morality in terms of a scripturally informed, spiritual and practical engagement with the modern world, guided by the promptings of a well-formed conscience. Spirituality emerged as a distinct academic discipline in the later twentieth century. In its Christian form, study of spirituality may be in dialogue with traditional theological disciplines like scripture and systematic theology, but it also forges connections with psychology, sociology, aesthetics, literature, and other areas of academic interest. As spirituality asserts its broad humanistic interdisciplinarity, and moral theology emerges from its fixation on sin to address broader questions of human formation and Christian discipleship, the need for the two disciplines to be in dialogue is clear. This volume comprises three sections, each of which can be seen as a stage in the dialogue of ethics and spirituality. As usual, the editors allow prominent voices from both ends of the spectrum (and in between) to be heard, thereby providing readers with a balanced collection of writings from the most significant figures in this field. Part 1, "Reconnecting Ethics and Spirituality," traces the question of the respective natures of ethics and spirituality as disciplines, their historical divergence, and the need, challenges, possible modalities for their rejoining. Part 2, "Reimagining the Tradition," shows how a more integrated ethics and spirituality reshape traditional concepts of these two disciplines. Part 3, "Refocusing Ethical Topics" examines ways in which particular ethical issues and categories are renewed by integrating spirituality. +
Introducing Moral Theology by
Whether in the cafeteria, classroom, or dorm lounge, questions abound on college campuses. Not only do students grapple with existential issues but they also struggle with ethical ones such as "Why be moral?" In Introducing Moral Theology, William Mattison addresses this question as well as grapples with the impact that religious belief has on day-to-day living. Structured in two parts, this unique text on Catholic moral theology covers cardinal virtues (temperance, prudence, fortitude, and justice) as well as theological virtues (faith, hope, and love). It is equipped with study questions, terms and their definitions, and illustrative case studies. Rooted in the Catholic tradition, this overview will also appeal to non-Catholics interested in virtue ethics.
Mercy: the essence of the gospel and the key to Christian life by
Pain and suffering have been universal human experiences since our beginning. All religions ask, in one way or another, where suffering comes from, why it exists, and what it means. They ask where we can find the strength to endure. They ask for deliverance from it.This is no less true today. The twentieth century saw brutal totalitarian regimes; two world wars; as well as the genocide, concentration camps, and gulags all resulting in the death of tens of millions of people. In the twenty-first century we have the threat of ruthless terrorism, outrageous injustice, abused and starving children, millions of people in flight, increasing persecution of Christians, and devastating natural catastrophes. With this in mind, it is difficult for many people to speak of an all-powerful and simultaneously just and merciful God. Why does God permit all of this? In Mercy, the important new book praised by Pope Francis, Cardinal Walter Kasper examines God's mercy while holding these devastating facts and questions in hand. He looks at empathy and compassion as a starting point for theological reflection on the topic. He continues by reflecting upon the following: What does it mean to believe in a merciful God? How are divine mercy and divine justice related? How can we speak of a sympathetic--that is, a compassionate--God? Can undeserved woe and divine mercy be brought into harmony with one another? He likewise seeks to address the ethical questions that similarly arise: How can we measure up to the standard of divine mercy in our own actions? What does the message of mercy mean for the practice of the church and how can we cause the central message of God's mercy to shine in the life of Christians and the church? What does this message mean for a new culture of mercy in our society?These considerations of mercy lead to the fundamental questions of theology. In this work, Kasper combines theological reflection with spiritual, pastoral, and social considerations on this essential topic at a crucial time.+
Walking with Faith New Perspectives on the Sources and Shaping of Catholic Moral Life. by
Walking with Faith addresses a long-standing need to develop the faith-related dimensions of Christian moral life and explore their implications. It responds to Vatican II's exhortation that theological studies be renewed through a lively contact with the mystery of Christ and the history of salvation. Accordingly, this book examines the relationship between faith and moral life in the Scriptures and acknowledges the normative quality of the biblical texts. It reviews the long experience of the Church, paying special attention to history, worship, and intellectual currents. These dimensions of Christian life show the relationship between faith and moral life at any given time and allow the actions of one generation to have effects that extend far into the future. Walking with Faith promotes an understanding of contemporary pastoral and theological issues and encourages a deep and informed approach to Christian life.
