Catholic Sacraments by
Using passages of the Catechism of the Catholic Church and the official rubrics of sacramental rites as the basis for their writing, the contributors to this collection of texts highlight the connection between theology, prayer, and ritual. The book is divided into four main parts. The first part, entitled "Why the Sacraments?," treats the sacraments in general, focusing on the central role they play in the Catholic faith. The remaining parts treat the Sacraments of Initiation (Part 2), the Sacraments of Healing (Part 3), and the Sacraments of Vocation (Part 4). The treatment of each sacrament begins with selected passages from the Catechism of the Catholic Church that offer succinct descriptions of the sacrament and its role in the life of the Church. Second, there is an excerpt from the prayers used in the celebration of that sacrament followed by responses by theologians with expertise in the history and theology of that sacrament. Finally, discussion questions that follow each section are intended to lead the individual or group into a deeper understanding of the sacraments and their role in the life of the Church and daily life. These texts provide sources for students and teachers, for Catholics and non-Catholics, for Christians and non-Christians, and for the laity and the ordained. +
The Church and the Sacraments by
Church and the sacraments -- The church as the church of the sacraments -- The church as the fundamental sacrament -- Explanation of the sacramental structure of the church and its actualization in the seven sacraments generally -- Various levels of the church's activity -- The actual fulfilment of the church's essence as the sign of an individual's sanctification -- The nature of a sacrament in general, viewed in relation to the church as fundamental sacrament -- Opus operatum -- The reviviscence of the sacraments -- Sacramentum and res sacramenti -- The way the sacraments cause grace -- The institution of the sacraments by Christ Sacramental and personal piety -- The various sacraments as acts in which the church's nature is fulfilled : the ecclesiological aspect of the sacraments as events in the individual's sanctification -- General considerations -- The eucharist -- Baptism -- Confirmation -- Penance -- Holy order -- Matrimony -- The anointing of the sick
Hatch, Match, and Dispatch by
Bestselling author Richard Leonard has written an accessible, engaging, and educational journey through the history, liturgy, and theology of the seven sacraments, as well as the Rite of Christian Burial, where history, liturgy, and contemporary theology intersect. The book expands the ritual and theological horizons of those who have celebrated the sacraments for their whole lives and introduces neophytes to the question of why sacraments are essential in the Christian life. In addition, it explores the endless possibilities they provide in developing our Christian lives.+
The Oxford Handbook of Sacramental Theology by
As a multi-faceted introduction to sacramental theology, the purposes of this Handbook are threefold: historical, ecumenical, and missional. The forty-four chapters are organized into the following parts five parts: Sacramental Roots in Scripture, Patristic Sacramental Theology, Medieval Sacramental Theology, From the Reformation through Today, and Philosophical and Theological Issues in Sacramental Doctrine. Contributors to this Handbook explain the diverse ways that believers have construed the sacraments, both in inspired Scripture and in the history of the Church's practice. In Scripture and the early Church, Orthodox, Protestants, and Catholics all find evidence that the first Christian communities celebrated and taught about the sacraments in a manner that Orthodox, Protestants, and Catholics today affirm as the foundation of their own faith and practice. Thus, for those who want to understand what has been taught about the sacraments in Scripture and across the generations by the major thinkers of the various Christian traditions, this Handbook provides an introduction. As the divisions in Christian sacramental understanding and practice are certainly evident in this Handbook, it is not thereby without ecumenical and missional value. This book evidences that the story of the Christian sacraments is, despite divisions in interpretation and practice, one of tremendous hope.
Sacramental Theology by
A general introduction to the whole study of sacraments that analyzes them from the perspective of the sacrament that is Christ and the Church. Ecumenical in its presentation, it sets out the complete teaching of the Roman Catholic Church and relates this to a wide range of Anglican and Protestant thought as well. The author brings together the teaching of Vatican II on the sacraments with the rich tradition of sacramental theology through the centuries.
The Sacraments by
"The heart of this book is about the ways in which the liturgy of the sacraments has been celebrated and understood in history and the ways in which the liturgy can (and should) influence how we understand the sacraments today." In the first text of its kind, renowned liturgical scholar Kevin W. Irwin offers a thorough explanation of the sacraments in their intimate relationship to liturgy. In Part 1 he traces the historical evolution of sacraments and sacramental practice from their biblical foundations through the liturgical reforms of the Second Vatican Council. Part 3 concerns a theology of sacraments based on the liturgy as a major and firm foundation for understanding the theology of the sacraments today. Bridging these two main parts are two methodological chapters that describe the sources and method to be applied in Part 3. The Sacraments: Historical Foundations and Liturgical Theology is an indispensable resource for scholars and students who need to understand the sacraments as they should be understood: in their historical and theological relationships to the liturgy.+
The Seven Sacraments of the Catholic Church by
Leading Catholic theologian Romanus Cessario offers an in-depth explanation of-the seven sacraments celebrated in the Catholic Church.
Symbol and Sacrament by
This work comes at an opportune hour: a time in which many complain that contemporary theology lacks a general theory of sacraments. Chauvet charts a reorientation in sacramental theology from the scholastic treatments, which appropriated the metaphysical categories of causality and substance to develop an essentially instrumentalist appreciation of grace, in favor of an approach through the category of "symbol." In this approach the subject is as much "grasped" (and transformed) by the symbolic representation as is the object being interpreted. Chauvet commands a wealth of scholarship which he deploys to powerful effect. His work in developing a foundational theology of sacramentality will remain the standard for years to come.
Systematic Theology by
Unique among contemporary resources, the landmark Systematic Theology and its distinguished contributors present the major areas or loci of Roman Catholic theology in light of contemporary developments--especially the sea-change since Vatican II thought, the best new historical studies of traditional doctrines and scripture, and the diverse creative impulses that come from recent philosophy and hermeneutics, culture and praxis, and ecumenical contacts.
Understanding The Sacraments Today : Second Edition by
"Chapter by chapter, Father Mick puts the sacraments into their historical and theological context and illuminates the ways the sacraments bring us together as God's people. Ever conscious of the complex history of the church and its dynamic relationship to ritual, as well as the varied histories of human communities, Understanding the Sacraments Today is a book to be visited and revisited, a companion to the ongoing and repeated practices that nourish us."--BOOK JACKET.
One Baptism by
Most Christians would say that baptism is the one sacrament Christians of all denominations share, that it is the source of ecumenical unity among all Christian churches. But how true is that? Is there really one baptism," as we profess in the Nicene Creed? If we disagree about what baptism does, can we really say that baptism unites us? To address this central question Susan Wood brings together the history and theology of baptism (systematic, sacramental, and liturgical), focusing especially on the divergent paths taken in the understanding of the sacrament since the Reformation. Founded not only in her study of theology but also in her years of participation in ecumenical dialogues, her perspective will illuminate this problem for readers and point the way toward deeper understanding.
Return to Grace by
Return to Grace addresses infant baptism from a positive perspective and with the conviction that this sacrament offers Christians a unique understanding of the sacraments and God's relationship with humankind. Father Stasiak suggests that a theology of adoption offers a striking and challenging portrayal of the distinctive value and significance of the Church's practice of baptizing infants.
The Rites of Christian Initation by
Originally published in 1999, The Rites of Christian Initiation was haled for its clarity and comprehensiveness. Kalian McDonnell, OSB, called it the best overall treatment of Christian initiation available, and Paul Bradshaw predicted it would be the standard textbook on the subject for very many years to come." The current edition draws on new translations of early texts on baptism as well as recent scholarship on the early traditions in the East and West. It is sure to replace itself as the new standard reference on the rites of Christian initiation. Maxwell E. Johnson's expanded and revised text provides a more complete view of the history and interpretation of the rites in the Eastern Church, including two chapters that explore the pre-Nicene Eastern and Western traditions in detail. Revisiting the theology of baptism, this edition also provides more nuanced positions on the Eastern and Western traditions. Finally, recent liturgical developments in American Protestant churches, particularly Lutheran, as well as the ongoing development of the RCIA and confirmation practices of Catholics, made it necessary to revisit the place and meaning of these rites in the church today. Maxwell E. Johnson, PhD, is professor of liturgy at the University of Notre Dame and an ordained minister of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America. He has published in Worshipand is the editor of and contributor to Living Water, Sealing Spirit: Readings on Christian Initiation(Liturgical Press, 1995) and the revised and expanded edition of E.C. Whitaker, Documents of the Baptismal Liturgy(Liturgical Press and S.P.C.K., 2003), to which this study serves as a companion volume. "
Confirmation by
This book presents seven models of Confirmation: Christian initiation of adults, chrismation, Protestant-Anglican Churches, Catholic initiation, Confirmation of children, adolescent Confirmation, and persons in danger of death. The chapter presentations cover how each model developed and how each model interprets the meaning of Confirmation.
This new edition is an updated and revised version of the widely read 1993 publication. Revisions include:
recent developments in other Christian Churches, especially in regard to the catechumenate
recent thinking on the Rite of Reception into the Full Communion of the Catholic Church in light of 'Dominus Jesus' and recent research
discussions in light of the Catechism of the Catholic Church
Published by Liturgy Training Publications.
Rite of Christian initiation of adults by
approved for use in Australia by the Australian Episcopal Liturgical Commission ; approved for use in New Zealand by the New Zealand Catholic Bishops' Conference ; prepared by International Commission on English in the Liturgy, a Joint Commission of Catholic Bishops' Conferences.
Sources of Confirmation from the Fathers Through the Reformers by
The modern practice of confirmation has undergone centuries of historical development. This anthology presents an overview of many significant texts which gradually shaped the practice of confirmation from Hippolytus to Robert Bellarmine, with brief introductory notes on each text."An excellent starting-point for studying the history of this sacrament." Religious Studies Review
Aquinas on Transubstantiation by
Aquinas on Transubstantiation treats one of the most frequently mis-understood and mis-represented teachings of Thomas Aquinas--Eucharistic transubstantiation. The study interprets Aquinas's teaching as an exercise of "holy teaching" (sacra doctrina) that intends to show theologically and back up philosophically the simple yet profound thesis that "transubstantiation" affirms nothing but the truth of Christ's words at the Last Supper--"This is my body," "This is my blood." Yet in order to achieve a contemporary ressourcement of this simple yet profound truth, it is necessary to probe the depths of Thomas Aquinas's philosophical interpretation of it. For Thomas Aquinas, in regarding the truth of Eucharistic conversion, it is faith that preserves the human intellect from missing or dismissing the mystery announced in Christ's words. Faith, however, is not intellectually blind, a faith that, as is often erroneously held, is commanded by arbitrary divine dictates to which the will submits in blind obedience. Rather, Aquinas takes faith is sustained, but not constituted, by an intellectual contemplation of the proposed mystery of faith, by faith seeking understanding. Thomas Aquinas unfolds this exercise of understanding guided by faith in the medium of a metaphysical contemplation that affords a profound intellectual appreciation of this central mystery of faith--precisely as mystery. Thomas's metaphysical contemplation of Eucharistic conversion gestures toward the blinding light of superintelligibility, experienced as the unique darkness that surrounds this sublime mystery of faith. A ressourcement in Thomas Aquinas's doctrine of transubstantiation also affords an renewed appreciation of the Church's affirmation of transubstantiation as the most apt term for the interpretation of the mystery of Eucharistic conversion and a greater precision of what is centrally at stake in this mystery in the ongoing ecumenical conversation of this most central Christian teaching. A doctrinally sound, ecumenically informed, and philosophically reflected contemporary Catholic theology cannot afford to ignore or dismiss Aquinas's surpassing account of Eucharistic conversion.
Eucharist by
"A master theologian offers insights into the mystery of Christ's presence in our lives. As festive as the film "Babette's Feast" and as profound as the work of Ronald Knox, this fresh look at the Eucharist brings to light the spiritual meanings of meal, sacrifice, and real presence in our lives."--BOOK JACKET.
The Eucharist by
An outstanding contemporary analysis of the transubstantion and of its meaning and significance today . The first part of the book concentrates on the concerns and approach of the Fathers who defined the doctrine at The Council of Trent, the second part goes on to develop a mdern interpretation of 'the distinctively eucharistic manner of the Real Presence.'
God Is near Us by
The Second Vatican Council says, "We ought to try to discover a new reverence for the Eucharistic mystery. Something is happening that is greater than anything we can do. The liturgy is the summit toward which the activity of the Church is directed; it is the font from which all her power flows." This profound statement about the Eucharist stands at the center of this book by Cardinal Ratzinger. He compellingly shows us the biblical, historical, and theological dimensions of the Eucharist. The Cardinal draws far-reaching conclusions, focusing on the importance of one's personal devotion to and adoration of the Blessed Sacrament, for the personal reception of Communion by the individual Christian, as well as for the life of the Church. For Ratzinger, any transformation of the world on the social plane grows out of the celebration of the Eucharist. He beautifully illustrates how the omnipotent God comes intimately close to us in the Holy Eucharist, the Heart of Life.
Heart of the Christian Life by
The celebration of the Eucharist, in which Jesus Christ becomes present, is the center of the Catholic faith. This volume brings together substantive texts of the Holy Father on the many aspects and dimensions of the Mass and the Mystery of the Eucharist, a rich source for every Christian and a spur to reflection and personal prayer. Delivered in addresses and homilies to a wide variety of audiences , these reflections reveal the depth and breadth of Pope Benedict XVI's profound and life-long love for the Holy Eucharist. A major theme throughout the works of Joseph Ratzinger, the Real Presence of Jesus in the Eucharist is the Church's source of life, unity and fruitfulness. This theme has been carried deeply into his pontificate, as can be seen in this collection, which challenges the faithful to believe that by receiving Christ in Holy Communion, they are drawn not only into the very life of God, but into the community that is Christ's Body, the Church.
The lamb's supper : the Mass as heaven on Earth by
"'The Lamb's Supper: The Mass as Heaven on Earth' reawakens a surprising ancient view of the Eucharist, as the harbinger of the supernatural drama described by the New Testament book of Revelation." --Michael Joseph Gross
Reinterpreting the Eucharist by
The Eucharist continues to be central to contemporary Christian religious tradition and to be the focus for a wide range of assumptions and disputes. Chief amongst these disputes is the role of women in the theology and the ritual of the Eucharist.Reinterpreting the Eucharist brings together a diverse range of voices with each using their own marginalized experience to explore other ways - indigenous culture, medieval and contemporary art, social history, and environmental ethics - of engaging with the Eucharist. Presenting new forms of theological and ethical engagement, the book responds to the challenge of reconsidering the meaning of the Eucharist today.
Sacramentum caritatis by
Part I: The Eucharist: a mystery to be believed -- The blessed Trinity and the Eucharist -- The Eucharist: Jesus the true sacrificial lamb -- The Holy Spirit and the Eucharist -- The Eucharist and the Church -- The Eucharist and the Sacraments -- The Eucharist and Eschatology -- The Eucharist and the Virgin May -- Part II: The Eucharist: A mystery to be celebrated -- The Eucharistic celebration: The work of "Christus Totus" -- Ars Celebrandi -- The structure of the Eucharistic celebration -- Actuosa Participatio -- Interior participation in the celebration -- Adoration and Eucharistic devotion -- Part II: The Eucharist: a mystery to be live -- The Eucharist form of the Christian life -- The Eucharist: a mystery to be proclaimed -- The Eucharist: a mystery to be offered to the world.
Reconciling Community by
Father Dalen writes about the concrete ways in which the Roman Catholic Church has dealt with sinners in its midst, assisting them to live out the implications of their baptismal conversion and recognizing them once more as members of its assemblies. He studies the underlying mystery of the Church in relation to Christ and the sinner through the forms this sacrament has taken in the past to help illustrate how the Church can exercise the ministry of reconciliation both now and in the future.
The future of the sacrament of penance by
"There is no doubt that Jesus called his first disciples, and he calls us, to conversion. Yet the sacrament of conversion--the sacrament of penance--has fallen on hard times over recent decades. There is a much diminished use of the sacrament, and frequent reports of dissatisfaction with the experience of it on the part of both penitents and confessors. Reversing this trend would seem to require a changed mentality. The author of this book aims to equip us for just such a change. First, the author explores the rise of the varied forms of the sacrament of penance, locating them within their respective ecclesial and social contexts and highlighting the considerable transitions through which this sacrament has gone. Building on this, he stimulates us to look at some of the issues which remain for us to address in our time of widespread change in order to move forward into a renewed understanding and use of the sacrament."
Apostolic letter in the form on Motu proprio of His Holiness Pope John Paul II : Misericordia dei on certain aspects of the celebration of the sacrament of penance. by 
The Irish Penitentials and the Sacrament of Penance Today by
"This book provides a theological study of the Irish penitentials in the light of recently published critical editions and of the marked resurgence of interest in Celtic spirituality today. Most research in this field has been from the viewpoint of canon law and ecclesiastical history; Dr. Connolly argues that the time has now come for a fuller theological treatment of Irish penance."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Recovering the Riches of Anointing by
Recovering the Riches of Anointingis a collection of the papers presented at an international symposium sponsored by the National Association of Catholic Chaplains (NACC) as part of a long-term exploration of topics of theological and pastoral concern in pastoral care of the sick. This book looks at the anointing of the sick from the vantage point of theology, history, and canon law. Since Vatican II the training and commissioning of lay Eucharistic ministers has enabled the sick and dying to receive the nourishment of Christ's body and blood regularly in their confinement at home or an institution. The sacraments of penance and the anointing of the sick, however, have become less and less available as the number of ordained priests in chaplaincy is decreasing. In response to this pastoral problem Bishop Richard J. Sklba, auxiliary bishop of Milwaukee, suggested that the NACC gather theologians together to explore the history and practice of this sacrament and other rituals in the rich tradition of the Church. Thus the papers concerning this particular sacramental ministry were written and delivered at this conference. Recovering the Riches of Anointingwill be helpful for professional ministers of pastoral care; professional pastoral, liturgical, and sacramental theologians; and those engaged in pastoral ministry formation. Chapters and contributors are Introduction," by Kevin Tripp and Genevieve Glen, OSB; "The Paschal Mystery: The Intersection of Ecclesiology and Sacramental Theology in the Care of the Sick," by Susan K. Wood, SCL; "Anointing of the Sick and the Forgiveness of Sins," by Peter E. Fink, SJ; "The Practice of Anointing and the Development of the Doctrine," by Michal Drumm; "The Development of Sacramental Doctrine in the Church: Theory and Practice," by Kevin Irwin; "Ministers and Rites for the Sick and Dying: Canon Law and Pastoral Options," by John M. Huels, OSM; and "Going Forth in the Spirit: The Road Before Us," by Genevieve Glen, OSB Genevieve Glen, OSB, is oblate director and a member of the retreat staff at the Abbey of St. Walburga in Virginia Dale, Colorado. She has written and lectured extensively on liturgical theology and spirituality. "
The Sacrament of Anointing of the Sick by
2006 Catholic Press Association Award Winner! The ritual Pastoral Care of the Sick offers the church a wealth of assistance in visiting and praying with the sick, in facilitating services of Communion, and in tailoring the sacramental rites of anointing and Viaticum to meet the particular circumstances of each individual illness and journey into death. Anointing of the Sickis a theological introduction to the rite and focuses on the whole spectrum of pastoral care of the sick. Lizette Larson-Miller explores the sacrament of the anointing of the sick and the crucial role played by a biblical text from the Letter of James in reconstructing a rite for the sick rather than only for the dying. She looks at the central sacramental ideas surrounding the anointing of the sick that emerge from the three primary actions: the prayer of faith, the laying on of hands, and the anointing with the blessed oil. Chapters are An Overview of the Rites of Pastoral Care of the Sick, The Threefold Ritual Center of Anointing of the Sick, Theological Questions from the Rite, and The Contexts of Church and Culture for Pastoral Care of the Sick. Lizette Larson-Miller, PhD, is a Professor at The Church Divinity School of the Pacific in Berkeley, California.
Dictionary of Religious Orders by
This concise one-volume dictionary covers existing, defunct, and chivalric Orders, typographically differentiated within a single alphabetical sequence of some 1,450 entries. It includes the newer Secular Institutes and Lay Movements, as well as listing sub-families of major Orders. Appendices provide a list of popes and of post-nominal intitials, cross-referenced to entries; a specialized glossary gives details of habits. Entries typically consist of- name of Order, in English and mother tongue; locations of administrative centre; details of habit; date of foundation, with details of founder/foundress, where known; brief history; location and activities of present-day houses.
Holy Order by
One of the most discussed questions in theology in the period since Vatican II is that of the identity of the ministerial priesthood. What is an ordained priest? How is that priesthood different from that of the baptised? How are the various aspects of the priest's life related and how are they to be integrated in the life of the individual? There has also been much discussion of celibacy and, most recently, the ordination of women. All these questions are approached in this book, but its primary focus is more profound. Before any of these issues can be examined, one must have a thorough understanding of the sacrament of Order itself.
I Will Give You Shepherds (PASTORES DABO VOBIS) by
POST-SYNODAL
APOSTOLIC EXHORTATION
PASTORES DABO VOBIS TO THE BISHOPS, CLERGY AND FAITHFUL ON THE FORMATION OF PRIESTS IN THE CIRCUMSTANCES OF THE PRESENT DAY
Models of Priestly Formation Assessing the Past, Reflecting on the Present, and Imagining the Future by
The preparation of new priests for ministry currently faces closer scrutiny than at any time since the Reformation, and the importance of effective priestly formation has perhaps never been clearer in the entire history of the Church. In Models of Priestly Formation, some of the world’s leading experts on the topic consider priestly formation since Vatican II, explore current best practices internationally, and imagine what the future of such formation might look like. The book promises to become an essential reference for every person involved in priestly formation and for anyone interested in understanding better how it is carried out and how those who do it think about their task.
The Priestly Office by
A distinguished theologian offers reflections on the Roman Catholic priesthood that support a traditional view of the priest.
Religious Life and Priesthood by
This book examines the historical context, the key players and the implementation of the Vatican II documents on priesthood, training of priests and religious life. It offers a contemporary vision for and critique of ecclesial ministries for the 21st century.Highlights:* It gives an overview of the key issues related to each of the documents in terms of the history of the texts, their implementation and their fate.* It offers an analysis of the issues related to ministry and ministering in today's church and a response to the directions being promoted by the Vatican, other academics and the ecclesial context.* It offers some critique of the past and hope for the future.
Sacramental Orders by
Ordained ministry cannot be understood by itself or only in its relationship with Christ. It must find its identity in relationship to the Church, for it exists to serve and build up the Church. In Sacramental OrdersSusan Wood places the theology of ordained ministry within its ecclesial foundations, identifying four concepts that shed light on different aspects of ordained ministry and its relationship to the Church: a monarchical and hierarchical concept; a eucharistic, collegial model of ministry representing the communion of particular Churches; the priest, prophet, and king, which structures the concept of the Church as the people of God; and a theology of the Church as a sacrament of Christ and ordained ministry as a sacrament of the Church. Sacramental Ordersis a liturgical and theological study of ordained ministry grounded in the liturgy of the 1990 typical edition of the rites. It addresses the three Orders within the one Sacrament of Order: bishop, presbyter, and deacon. By including each order with this study, the interrelationship between the three becomes more apparent, and the theology of one is allowed to inform the theology of the others. Wood points out that one of the challenges in theologies of ordained ministry today is to distinguish a bishop from a presbyter when both are ordinations to the priesthood and presbyters are assuming a greater ministry of oversight as they pastor more than one parish, and to distinguish deacons from presbyters at a time in church history when deacons are assuming more presbyteral functions. Sacramental Ordersalso focuses on the mutual reciprocity in the relationship between liturgical rite and the theology of the sacrament as explained in ecclesial documents. The ordination rites reflect the theology expressed by Vatican II and yet also present a theology of the sacrament embedded in the liturgical texts and actions. Chapters are The Ecclesiological Foundations of Ministry," "The Liturgical Rite of the Ordination of a Bishop," "The Sacramentality of Episcopal Consecration," "The Liturgical Rite of the Ordination of Presbyters," "Theology of the Presbyterate," "The Liturgical Rite of the Ordination of Deacons," and "Questions Concerning the Diaconate." Susan K. Wood, SCL, PhD, is Associate Professor of Theology at St. John's University, Collegeville, MN. She is the author of articles published in Theological Studies, Pro Ecclesia, One in Christ, Worship, Studia liturgica, Communio, and Studio Canonica. She is a member of the U.S. Lutheran/Roman Catholic Dialogue. "
Saint Benedict's Rule by
Benedict of Nursia (c. 480-543), born into a wealthy family, renounced his life of privilege to live an eremitic life of extreme asceticism. He founded and was the first abbot of the monastic community of Monte Cassino, where he wrote the Rule, acknowledged as a masterpiece. Modestly referring to the work that would chart the course of Western monasticism as "a little rule for beginners," in a prologue and seventy-three brief, intensely focused, and sympathetically written chapters, Benedict prescribed for his monks a monastic life in community that is essentially the Christian life of the gospel based upon mutual support, obedience, hospitality, tolerance, and moderation. Book jacket.
To save a thousand souls : a guide for discerning a vocation to diocesan priesthood by
For anyone considering the priesthood or involved in the training of seminarians. From explaining what the call of Christ means for priests, to the joy and nerves of ordination day, this book looks at many different aspects of priestly formation. Drawn from the author's own experience as both priest and vocations director, it deals with important points including: What is a vocation? What are the signs that someone may make a good candidate? The importance of a Spiritual Director The place of the Virgin Mary in the life of a seminarian With prayers, an appendix of questions and suggested further reading, it stands as one of the most comprehensive, yet readable books on this vitally important area for the life and future of the Church. Endorsements for To Save a Thousand Souls 'Father Brannen's book is a significant and important aid to those who feel called to the priesthood. It is practical, informative and thought-provoking.' Archbishop Antonio Mennini, Apostolic Nuncio to Great Britain. 'Are you considering a vocation to the diocesan priesthood? Are you in priestly formation for a diocese? Are you a diocesan vocations director? If the answer to any of these questions is 'Yes', then this book will be of immense help to you.' Archbishop Vincent Nichols, Archbishop of Westminster 'Vocation Directors will find in this book everything they need to put before a young man considering priesthood.' Fr Stephen Langridge, Chairman of the Diocesan Vocation Directors of England and Wales.
Why Celibacy: Reclaiming the Fatherhood of the Priest by
Priestly celibacy, some say, is an outdated relic from another age. Others see it as a lonely way of life. But as Fr. Carter Griffin argues in Why Celibacy?: Reclaiming the Fatherhood of the Priest, the ancient practice of celibacy, when lived well, helps a priest exercise his spiritual fatherhood joyfully and fruitfully. Along the way, Griffin explores: the question of optional celibacy, some pitfalls of celibate paternity, the selection and formation of candidates for celibate priesthood, why biological fathers are also called to spiritual fatherhood, the powerful impact of celibacy on the Church and the wider culture, In a critical moment for the Catholic priesthood, Fr. Griffin brings light and hope with a new perspective on the Church's perennial wisdom on celibacy. Book jacket.
Christian Marriage by
A thoughtful and highly enjoyable collection of essays exploring the historical development of Christian marriage from a Catholic perspective. This new volume includes Francis Martin: "Marriage in the Biblical Period: The Old Testament and Intertestamental Period" and "Marriage in the Biblical Period: The New Testament;" Glenn Olsen: "The Good of Marriage in the Age of Augustine" and "Marriage in the Barbarian Kingdom and the Christian Court (Fifth through Eleventh Centuries);" Teresa Pierre: "Marriage Body and Sacrament in the Age of Hugh of St. Victor (Twelfth through Fifteenth Centuries);" Robert V. Young: "Marriage and The Reformation;" James Hitchcock: "The Emergence of the Modern Family;" and John Haas: "Marriage in the Twentieth Century."
The Joy of Love by
With The Joy of Love: On Love in the Family, Pope Francis has drawn on years of the Church¿s work on the family, most especially the 2014 and 2015 synods of bishops. In nine chapters, the Holy Father draws from the wisdom of Church teaching and dialogue from the recent synods to present a complete message on the most profound human community, the family. He discusses the challenges that families face in today¿s world, such as extreme poverty and secularization. He also celebrates the most precious tradition of marriage and the gift of children while recognizing that the Church must not neglect to address the pastoral needs of our time.
Theology of Christian marriage by
Marriage is a foundering institution in the modern world, and the pressures that have eroded its cultural supports have had a severely erosive effect upon married life within the Christian community as well. Walter Kasper looks upon this new situation, however, as a challenge for theologians, and confronts it as an opportunity to develop a deeper and more personal theology of Christian marriage
The Theology of Marriage by
In The Theology of Marriage Cormac Burke has put together a collection of his most innovative theological theses and analyses, offering original insights and analyses that could help in resolving many current debates on the theology of marriage. At the same time his view goes beyond these debates. His writings are marked by an extremely positive view of sexuality and marriage. Ultimately he insists on the matrimonial vocation as a call to holiness; and delineates the particular graces married couples receive and the challenges they must face
The Theology of the Body According to John Paul II by
John Paul II developed this remarkable series of Scriptural reflections in order to reclaim the Christian understanding of sexuality and the human person as a GIFT. These teachings offer a much-needed understanding of sexuality and the human person.
What God Has Joined... by
A study of the sacramental aspects of marriage.
| Bishop Robert Barron on The Real Presence of Christ in the Eucharist | Busted Halo | Website | Free |
| Crash Course Catholicism (episodes 17 - 26) | Apple | Spotify | Free |
| The Catechism in a Year (with Fr. Mike Schmitz) | Apple | Spotify | Free |
