Click on a name to go directly to resources
Broken Link? Let us know.
Bibliography
Dictionaries and Encyclopaedias
Critical edition
Manuscripts online
Digital Libraries and Archives
Bibliographies
University of Divinity Collections:
Biography
Handbooks
Bibliographies
Works online
Concordances
Lexica
Indices
Centres, Societies and Institutes
Websites and Blogs
The Trinity by
The Trinity is the central mystery of the Christian faith. What can we say about the divine nature, and what does it mean to say that God is Father, Son, Holy Spirit, three persons who are one in being? In this book, best selling author Thomas Joseph White, OP, examines the development of early Christian reflection on the Trinity, arguing that essential contributions of Patristic theology are preserved and expanded in the thought of Thomas Aquinas. By focusing on Aquinas' theology of the divine nature as well as his treatment of divine personhood, White explores in depth the mystery of Trinitarian monotheism. The Trinity: On the Nature and Mystery of the One God also engages with influential proposals of modern theologians on major topics such as Trinitarian creation, Incarnation and crucifixion, and presents creative engagements with these topics. Ultimately any theology of the cross is also a theology of the Trinity, and this book seeks to illustrate how the human life, death, and resurrection of Jesus reveal the inner life of God as Trinity.
Thomas Aquinas and the Crisis of Christology by
But who do you say that I am? asks Jesus at the decisive turning point in the Gospel. Simon Peter answers correctly at first but is soon corrected when he protests the revelation of the Cross. Christians in every age are called to confess the right faith in Jesus, who suffered, died, and rose for our salvation. Our own period is beset by a crisis of faith in Jesus, which has had manifold deleterious effects on our lives, our Christian communities, and our world. For the sake of addressing this crisis, the Aquinas Center for Theological Renewal at Ave Maria University and the Thomistic Institute of the Pontifical Faculty at the Dominican House of Studies cosponsored an international conference that took place at Ave Maria University under the title Thomas Aquinas and the Crisis of Christology. Beginning with a gripping foreword by Archbishop J. Augustine Di Noia, OP, of the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith, this volume gathers together several of the excellent conference presentations given by scholars working in North America, South America, Europe, and Western Asia. These studies consider both formulations of who Christ is and of how we are under his judgement. With help from Thomas Aquinas and the Thomistic tradition, this work engages today's crisis of Christology as seen in multiple theological topics and offers models of faith to answer Jesus' question for ourselves, But who do you say that I am?
Biography
Handbooks and Critical Works
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Cf. Saint Augustin, la Méditerranée et l'Europe IVe-XXIe siècle. Ed. Fitzgerald, Vannier, & Lancel. Cerf, 2005. “A French version of the 1999 English-language publication Augustine through the ages, with added new material drawn from the Spanish version (2001) and the forthcoming Italian version” (WorldCat).
Translations
Concordances
Indices
Digital Libraries and Archives
Institutes, Centres and Societies
Websites and Blogs
University of Divinity Collections
Latest Titles
Rhetoric and Scripture in Augustine's Homiletic Strategy by
In Rhetoric and Scripture in Augustine's Homiletic Strategy, Michael Glowasky offers an account of how Augustine's pastoral concerns shape the rhetorical strategy in his Sermones ad populum. While it has been widely recognized that Augustine draws on classical rhetoric in his sermons, how his use of rhetoric in his Sermones relates to his pastoral theology has yet to be addressed. Through careful examination of Augustine's preaching practice, this book provides the most comprehensive account of Augustine's homiletic strategy in his Sermones to date. As such, it helps us better appreciate the value of the Sermones ad populum as a work in its own right, while at the same time advancing our understanding of Augustine as a preacher, teacher, and pastor.
Augustine, Martyrdom, and Classical Rhetoric by
Early Christian martyr accounts were less about recounting history than about constructing theology. As such, many historians of late antique Christianity call them "rhetorical." But what does this mean for early Christian theology of martyrdom? And what rhetorical techniques are actually being used for such theological construction? To answer these questions, Adam Ployd looks to Augustine of Hippo. He places Augustine's martyr theology within its classical rhetorical context, drawing upon the theoretical foundations of Cicero, Quintilian, and others. Ployd investigates all of Augustine's major controversies as well as his work as a bishop and preacher cultivating a particular vision of the Christian life. Ployd uncovers the rich rhetorical roots of Augustine's martyr theology, roots that delve beyond ornamentation and into the depths of inventio and the techniques of rhetorical argumentation. What emerges from this investigation is a vision of Augustine's martyr discourse that is connected to his larger theological projects, including the promotion of Christian virtue pursued in the context of God's mysterious, providential work in human history.
Dictionaries and Encyclopaedias
Digital Libraries and Archives
Serial bibliographies
Institutes, Centres and Societies
Biography
Handbooks
Critical editions
Translations
Serial bibliographies
Websites and Blogs
University of Divinity Collections
Biography
Bibliographies
Digital Libraries and Archives
Institutes, Centres and Societies
Quotations
Ausgewählte Zitate (Selected Quotes)
University of Divinity Collections
Biography
Handbooks
Indices
University of Divinity Collections
Biography
Articles and Works Online
Conferences and Lectures
Websites and Blogs
University of Divinity Collections
Biography
Handbooks
Digital Libraries and Archives
Translations
Concordances
Wevers, Richard F. Institutes of the Christian religion of John Calvin, 1539 : text and concordance. Grand Rapids, Mich. : Meeter Center for Calvin Studies at Calvin College and Seminary, 1988.
Bibliographies
Institutes, Centres and Societies
University of Divinity Collections
Latest Titles
Consciences and the Reformation by
This book examines the contentious relationship between oath-taking, confessional subscription, and the binding of the conscience in reforms led by John Calvin. Calvin and his closest Reformed colleagues routinely distinguished what they believed were impious rules and constitutions in the Roman Church--human traditions claiming to bind the consciences of the faithful by putting them in fear of losing their salvation--and legitimate church observances, such as oaths and formal subscription to Reformed confessional standards. Doctrinal and moral reform in the cities became difficult, however, when friends and foes alike accused Calvin and his partners of burdening consciences with extra-Scriptural statements of faith composed by human authorities--a claim that, if true, would necessarily shape our assessment of the integrity of Calvin's Reformation. In light of these conflicts, author Timothy R. Scheuers offers a close reading of the texts and controversies surrounding Calvin's struggle for reform. In particular, he shows how they reveal the unique challenges Calvin and his colleagues encountered as they attempted to employ oath-swearing and formal confession of faith in order to consolidate the reformation of church and society. This book demonstrates how oaths and vows were used to shape confessional identity, secure social order, forge community, and promote faithfulness in public and private contracts. It also illustrates the complex and difficult task of protecting the individual conscience as Calvin sought to bring his new take on Christian freedom into Reformed communities.
Biography
Bbliographies
Digital Libraries and Archives
Institutes, Centres and Societies
Websites, Blogs and Videos
University of Divinity Collections
Latest Titles
Chrysostom As Exegete by
To what extent and to what purposes did John Chrysostom engage previous models of Biblical exegesis? In this systematic study of his Homilies on Genesis, new light is shed on the precision of his adaption of works by Basil, Origen, Eusebius of Emesa, and Eusebius of Caesarea, findings set against a wider 'web' of parallels with various other exegetes (e.g. Ephrem, Diodore, Didymus). The cumulative picture is a network of shared knowledge across geographical and ecclesial boundaries which served as creative cache for Chrysostom's discourses. With the metaphors of textual obscurity and word-depth, he prioritized name and word interpretations as a means of producing multiple layers of ethical evaluation.
Biography
Bibliographies
Works Online
Conferences and Lectures
University of Divinity Collection
Latest Titles
It Is the Spirit Who Gives Life by
"Beyond the filioque disputes?: re-assessing the radical equality of the spirit through the ascetic and mystical tradition" by Sarah Coakley
The present volume gathers essays authored by eleven world-renowned theologians. Each contribution originated as a public lecture addressed to theologians and an educated general audience, followed by a private colloquium in which the lecturers conferred with scholars who are experts in the field. Thus, the present volume offers a multifaceted approach to Pneumatology, in an ecumenical spirit.
Biography
Handbooks
Open Access Articles
Websites and Blogs
Societies, Centres and Institutes
University of Divinity Collections
Biography
Bibliography
Works and Profiles Online
Societies, Centres and Institutes
Conferences and Lectures
Websites and Blogs
University of Divinity Collections
Latest Titles
Shadow Sophia by
Why do humans who seem to be exemplars of virtue also have the capacity to act in atrocious ways? What are the roots of tendencies for sin and evil? A popular assumption is that it is our animalistic natures that are responsible for human immorality and sin, while our moral nature curtails andcontains such tendencies through human powers of freedom and higher reason. This book challenges such assumptions as being far too simplistic. Through a careful engagement with evolutionary and psychological literature, Celia Deane-Drummond argues that tendencies towards vice are, more often thannot, distortions of the very virtues that are capable of making us good. After beginning with Augustine's classic theory of original sin, the book probes the philosophical implications of sin's origins in dialogue with the philosophy of Paul Ricoeur. Different vices are treated in both individualand collective settings in keeping with a multispecies approach. Areas covered include selfishness, pride, violence, anger, injustice, greed, envy, gluttony, deception, lying, lust, despair, anxiety, and sloth. The work of Thomas Aquinas helps to illuminate and clarify much of this discussion onvice, including those vices which are more distinctive for human persons in community with other beings. Such an approach amounts to a search for the shadow side of human nature, shadow sophia. Facing that shadow is part of a fuller understanding of what makes us human and thus this book is acontribution to both theological anthropology and theological ethics.
Digital Libraries and Archives
Websites and Blogs
Institutes, Centres and Societies
University of Divinity Collections
Latest Titles
Meister Eckhart, the German Works by
This volume (based on Loris Sturlese's Italian collection from the year 2014) contains the vernacular texts and English translations of 64 of Eckhart's German sermons, which can be linked with the cycle of preaching during the liturgical year (De tempore). A second volume, currently in preparation, will be devoted to a further circa 55 vernacular sermons for the feasts of the saints (De sanctis). A further volume will contain Eckhart's Latin homilies (both De temporeand the few surviving ones De sanctis). Loris Sturlese and Markus Vinzent will thus provide both the entire vernacular and Latin legacy of 'authentic' homilies, totalling over 100 vernacular and almost 100 Latin sermons. The first volume on the homilies De temporecentres on the time between Advent and Trinity with a major gap in the cycle in the summer time (absent are the weeks V-XV after Trinity Sunday) and gives us Eckhart's preaching in literary form. As the collection has been reconstructed, it seems to go back to a written, arranged, and to a certain extent textualized and published opus, most likely by Eckhart himself. The corpus of sermons that have been relocated into their liturgical place from the critical edition of Kohlhammer represents a work situated midway between oral texts and their professional editor. It opens a door to students and interested readers into the world of Eckhart's liturgical preaching, helped by a thorough general introduction, short prefaces to all homilies and notes.
Biography
Digital Libraries & Archives
Journals
Websites, Blogs and Videos
Cause for Canonization
University of Divinity Collections
Latest Titles
Romano Guardini by
Romano Guardini (1885-1968) was one of the greatest Catholic minds of the twentieth century. He helped shape Catholic theology between the two world wars and after, as well as the thinking of many non-Catholics of the period. His influence contributed to the reforms of the Second Vatican Council and it continues to be felt through Pope Benedict, who, as a theologian, a cardinal and now as Pope, has drawn extensively on Guardini for inspiration. Indeed, Guardini was a major theological mentor of Benedict XVI, influencing the Pope from his understanding of Jesus to his writings on the sacred Liturgy, from his view of faith to his perspective on the modern world. Romano Guardini: Reform from the Source, written by another great theological mind, Hans urs von Balthasar, presents a kind of "roadmap" to Guardini's thought. As an introduction to Guardini, von Balthasar's study is intended to challenge readers to take up Guardini's own writings and to find in him the wisdom that has inspired so many others. Many of Guardini's influential works are still in print today, works that cover a wide range of important spiritual, theological and moral issues.
Biography
Works online
Bibliographies
Journals
Societies, Centres and Institutes
Websites and Blogs
University of Divinity Collections
Biography
Digital Libraries and Archives
Institutes, Centres and Societies
Events
University of Divinity Collections
Biography
Works
Centres and Institutions
Websites and Blogs
University of Divinity Collections
Biography
Handbooks
Bibliographies
Societies, Centres and Institutes
Websites and Blogs
University of Divinity Collections
Latest Releases:
Women in Christianity in the Modern Age by
Women in Christianity in the Modern Age examines the role of women in Christianity in the 20th and early 21st Centuries. This edited volume includes eight important contributions from academics in the field. The modern era has been an age of social and religious upheaval, and the ravages of global warfare and changes to women's role in society have made the examination of the place of women in religion a key question in theology. From theological concerns - engagements with the biblical texts by feminist and anti-feminist theologians, the modern role of Mary and women saints - to political and social debates on women's ministry and place in society, and cultural shifts as expressed through theologically inspired artwork by women, Women in Christianity in the Modern Age provides an overview and in-depth studies of a tumultuous and changing era. This insightful text will be of key interest to students and scholars in Religion and Cultural Studies.
Biography
Handbooks
Bibliography
Societies, Centres and Institutes
Conferences and Interviews
Websites and Blogs
University of Divinity Collections
Biography
Handbook
Digital Libraries and Archives
Institutes, Centres and Societies
Websites and Blogs
University of Divinity Collections
Latest Titles
Biographies
Organisations
Bibliographies
Interviews
Institutes, Centres and Societies
University of Divinity Collections
Note: The sacred congregation for the doctrine of faith "by reason of its duty is constrained to declare that Professor Hans Küng, in his writings, has departed from the integral truth of Catholic faith, and therefore he can no longer be considered a Catholic theologian nor function as such in a teaching role". Sacred Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith Declaration | The Holy See
Bibliographies
Interviews and Podcasts
University of Divinity Collections
Latest Releases
Engaging Catholic doctrine : essays in honor of Matthew Levering by
"With contributions from some of today's most significant theologians, Engaging Catholic Doctrine is an expression of gratitude to Matthew Levering for his generous collegiality and tireless work to chart a sure path for contemporary Catholic doctrine. Essayists significantly advance the work of Matthew Levering in the areas of Aquinas as a biblical theologian, the doctrine of the Trinity, the significance of sacrifice for authentically Christian worship, the recovery of virtue in moral theology, the theology of Joseph Ratzinger, and much more. In addition to celebrating and honoring Levering's work, this volume offers new contributions in some of the key areas of theological research today"-- Provided by publisher.
The Word on Fire Vatican II Collection Volume 2 by
The Second Vatican Council (1962-1965), a gathering of Catholic bishops from around the world, was one of the most significant cultural and religious events of the twentieth century. Though practically everyone acknowledges its importance, Catholics have been debating its precise meaning and application for the past sixty years. On the one hand are "radical traditionalists" who claim that Vatican II betrayed authentic Catholicism and produced disastrous consequences in the life of the Church; on the other, "progressives" who saw the council documents as a first step toward more substantial changes in the Church. But even as debate over the council rages on, not enough Catholics have actually read or properly understood its texts. Word on Fire continues to address this problem in the second volume of its groundbreaking Vatican II Collection. This elegant hardcover volume contains the twelve declarations and decrees issued by the council, rounding out its entire corpus of documents. In these pages, you will discover the Church's teaching on education, religious freedom, evangelization, and more. While shorter and lesser-known than the four major constitutions, these additional texts are nevertheless essential to communicating the very heart of Vatican II. Like the first volume, Declarations and Decrees features commentary from the postconciliar popes and Bishop Robert Barron to help readers understand how the Church authoritatively interprets different passages. It also includes a foreword by Bishop Barron, an afterword by theologian Matthew Levering, and helpful appendices listing key terms, figures, and answers to frequently asked questions. The Word on Fire Vatican II Collection is a robust and readable journey into the true history and purpose of the Second Vatican Council, and a compelling call for an enthusiastic return to its texts today.
Biography
Handbook
Digital Libraries and Archives
Institutes, Centres and Societies
Websites and Blogs
University of Divinity Collections
Biography
Bibliography
Works and Articles Online
Conferences and Lectures
Websites and Blogs
University of Divinity Collections
Latest Releases:
Biography
Digital Libraries and Archives
Institutes, Centres and Societies
Websites and Blogs
University of Divinity Collections
Biography
Handbooks and Dictionaries
Digital Libraries & Archives
Journals
Societies, Centres and Institutes
Websites and Blogs
University of Divinity Collections
Latest Releases:
Henri de Lubac and the Drama of Human Existence by
The French Jesuit Henri de Lubac (1896-1991) was one of the most influential theologians of the twentieth century. The publication of his Surnaturel in 1946, addressing the issue of the interrelation of nature and the supernatural, precipitated one of the most far-reaching theological debates of the century, culminating in a new historical, methodological, and theological consensus on the topic. And yet the question continues to be debated: How should de Lubac's position be understood? Although many have suggested that de Lubac saw human nature as always-already graced, in Henri de Lubac and the Drama of Human Existence, Jordan Hillebert advances a new reading of de Lubac's theology of the supernatural that is at variance with most prevailing interpretations. Through his analysis of how a "hermeneutics of human existence" pervades de Lubac's writings, Hillebert argues that, in de Lubac's theology, the relation between the human being and humanity's supernatural finality is best considered in terms of the "supernatural insufficiency of human nature." In this way, Hillebert demonstrates that de Lubac's theology of the supernatural offers a via media between neo-scholastic "extrinsicism" on the one hand and post-conciliar "intrinsicism" on the other. Although some authors have drawn attention to the theme of human existence in de Lubac's writings, Henri de Lubac and the Drama of Human Existence is an original study that shows how a hermeneutics of human existence provides an interpretative key to his writings--especially in regard to the controversial question of the relation of nature and the supernatural. Due to the book's broad ecumenical appeal, it will interest scholars in the fields of modern theology and, more specifically, Roman Catholic theology.
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Digital libraries and Archives
Biography
Bibliography
Conferences and Lectures
University of Divinity Collections
Biography
Handbooks
Indices
Websites, Blogs and Videos
University of Divinity Collections
Biography
Quotations
Serial Bibliographies
Non-Serial Bibliographies
Libraries and Archives
Institutes, Centres and Societies
Biography
Bibliographies
Works Online
Digital Libraries and Archives
Websites and Blogs
University of Divinity Collections
Biography
Concordances