Chat Service: Ask a Librarian
For further information on using databases, visit the Understanding Databases LibGuide ᐅ
The search bar enables you to search across all University of Divinity library collections. This includes all of the Library Hub’s electronic resources as well as the print holdings of University of Divinity Libraries. All students, staff and other members of the University are entitled to access these resources and borrow from these libraries.
The Advanced Search option allows you to perform more complex searches than a standard search. You can enter search terms across a number of fields and combine criteria with Boolean operators. To access Advanced Searching click the Advanced link under the search bar or at the top left of the catalogue. (More information on search terms can be found under the Learn Search Techniques tab).
Search filters or limiters are a powerful tool to help narrow down your search results meaning you won't have to look through mountains of irrelevant records to find what you’re looking for. By using the filters in the left column of your search results, you can limit your search results to a single library, or expand it to include University of Divinity Libraries or Libraries Worldwide. This search functionality is based on WorldCat, the world’s most comprehensive library database, enabling users to identify resources held in library collections around the world.
Because of the extensive nature of the databases being searched some filters need to be applied so that the most relevant material for you research is being displayed.
For example, to restrict a search to include only resources in English, click the “English” link from the Language category box.
Your Library Hub login allows you to remotely access electronic resources available on the Library Hub. The credentials you use will be the same as you use to log into Paradigm/ARK.
By using the filters on the left you can limit your search results to a single library, or expand it to include University of Divinity Libraries, Victorian Libraries, or Libraries Worldwide.
Print Books: To limit your search to finding a print book, select the library/libraries you wish borrow from and select print book from the format list.
e-Books: To limit your search to finding e-books, select libraries worldwide and choose e-Books from the format list. By doing this, your search will include all open access e-books as well as eBooks purchased by the library. If it is available as an eBook, a large red button will appear below the title.
By default the service will search worldwide libraries, and as such will show some items that are not held by University of Divinity Libraries. To identify when items are not held by the University of Divinity Library, the record will display the text at other libraries worldwide.
Beneath the title and summary, you will see the library, the shelving location, the call number and the availability.
The latest edition of a title will be shown first. If that particular copy or edition is not available, be sure to check if there are more copies of an alternative edition available. If it is available as an eBook, a large red button will appear below the title.
If an item says it is available at University of Divinity libraries but your library is not mentioned in the availability list, click on the record, scroll down to other availability & holdings and click Other Libraries Worldwide. Find your library and click on view catalogue to view item.
If the particular item you are looking for is not held at your library, you can see if an alternative edition is held by clicking on the record and scrolling down to the bottom of the page to explore different editions and formats.
This search functionality is based on WorldCat, the world’s most comprehensive library database, enabling users to identify resources held in library collections around the world.
Note: these steps will automatically search across all the databases available to the University of Divinity excluding ATLA (EBSCO Host). If you wish to search the ATLA Database, click the button at the bottom right of the screen. When beginning your research, it is worth searching through both the catalogue and the ATLA Database to find a broad range of resources for your study.
This button will open the Additional Databases banner shown bellow.
Q. I am trying to access a book that shows up as held by University of Divinity libraries but I cannot see which University of Divinity library holds it. How can I check which library holds it?
Mannix, Stirling, St Paschal and St Athanasius Libraries have recently moved to a shared library system. Search results will display live availability data for items held at the four participating libraries, as well as holdings information for other libraries, including University of Divinity Libraries, Victorian Libraries, and Libraries Worldwide.
If a book or article in your search says it is available at University of Divinity libraries but does not show which library it is at under the title, follow these steps:
Search operators are a set of commands that can be used in almost every search engine, database, or online catalogue. The most popular operators are AND, OR, and NOT. These must all be in capital letters to work. Other operators include parentheses, truncation, and phrases.
Below are a few examples from OCLC's Search Guidelines page.
A keyword search provides a single search box to find words and phrases anywhere in the catalogue record or in title, author/creator, or subject fields. For example:
Christian meditation by Hans Urs von Balthasar
The secret of Francis of Assisi : a meditation by Christian Bobin
The Oxford book of Christian verse
The occult revolution; a Christian meditation. by Richard Woods
A phrase search uses quotation marks to allow an exact match to the phrase searched.
Christian meditation by Hans Urs von Balthasar
Christian meditation : experiencing the presence of God by James Finlay
The other side of silence : a guide to Christian meditation by Morton Kelsey
Use the asterisk symbol to include alternate word endings.
To discover how to use more search techniques (e.g., keywords, Boolean operators, wildcards, etc.) to refine your search results even further, click here: Search Guidelines Online.
For further information, watch this video: Search Techniques in WorldCat Discovery (7:35).
Provided by OCLC
Your lecturers will often require you to use information from academic journal articles that are peer reviewed (also known as refereed or scholarly journals). Peer reviewed articles are credible sources of information. The articles have been written and reviewed by trusted experts in the field, and represent the best scholarship and research currently available.
A peer reviewed article is an article:
There are multiple ways to identify a "peer-reviewed" article.