The University of Divinity has access to a variety of online databases. This page provides access to the most relevant databases for your theologian research. To access our A-Z Database list, click here.
Coverage dates from 1949 to the present with retrospective indexing for some journal issues as far back as the nineteenth century. Journals are selected for inclusion according to their scholarly merit and scope.
ATLA RDB contains more than 1.8 million records, including:
1,800+ journal titles in total (646 which are currently being indexed)
672,200+ journal article records
267,300+ essay records
18,000+ multi-author works
612,100+ review records
301,900+ book records
It provides extensive coverage in subject areas such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
t is a continually expanding multi-disciplinary archive of scholarly material in the social sciences and humanities and the sciences. It includes the archives of over 1,000 journals, monographs, newspapers and selected conference proceedings. Access is provided to the complete scanned image of the item. Journals are available from volume 1, issue 1, however the most recently published journal issues are not available.
One of the most prestigious and successful strands of Oxford's scholarly publishing, the Handbook series contains in-depth, high-level articles by scholars at the top of their field. Religion and Philosophy Collections only
The Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Religion is part of the larger online Oxford Research Encyclopedia, a dynamic digital encyclopedia continuously updated by the world’s leading scholars and researchers.
OSO offers full-text access to scholarly works from multiple disciplines with the Religion module providing access to award-winning Oxford University Press scholarship in this subject area.
The subscription includes renowned publishers such as Brill Academic Publishers, Walter de Gruyter, Oxford University Press (OUP), Catholic University of America Press, University of Notre Dame Press, Syracuse University Press, Marquette Press and Society of Biblical Literature. Currently available on the ebrary platform and will be available on the coming ProQuest Ebook Central platform.
Some of the authors represented from the Christian tradition include: Hans Urs von Baltasar, Karl Barth, Sergius Bulgakov, Dietrich Bonhoeffer, Rudolf Bultmann, Helder Camara, James Cone, Ivone Gebara, Gustavo Gutierrez, Adolf von Harnack, Henri de Lubac, Reinhold Niebuhr, Wolfhart Pannenberg, Rosemary Radford Ruether, Dorothee Solle, and John Howard Yoder. Twentieth Century Religious Thought Library provides resources to further explore Christian-Muslim-Jewish relations and key concepts in theology across religions. It supports research and teaching in comparative religion, theology, world religion, religion and law, religion and politics, and serves as an important resource for courses and scholarship in Middle Eastern studies, social theory, feminist studies, philosophy, and world history.
The Library includes 3 sub collections:
Twentieth Century Religious Thought: Vol I, Christianity
Twentieth Century Religious Thought: Vol II, Islam
The Digital Karl Barth Library
Online digital library of journals, books, and other materials relating to theology, interreligious dialogue, ethics, and ecumenism in World Christianity. Note: you must register for a free account before gaining access to full-text articles.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. When a free version is available it will be linked alongside the citation.
The mission of Open Access Digital Theological Library (OADTL) is to curate high-quality content in religious studies and related disciplines from publisher websites, institutional repositories, scholarly societies, archives, and stable public domain collections.
SBL Central is a research platform to support participants in the entire interdisciplinary ecosystem of biblical, religious, and theological studies, including scholars, students, publishers, publishing associations, and libraries and their institutions.
