Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Australian Women in Religion Archive

Welcome to the online Australian Women in Religion Archive

The goal of this archive is to provide a central online resource hub, that will connect scholars, researchers and students with a wide range of tools and resources related to Australian women in religion.

The site will provide an interactive, collaborative space for those interested in religion, theology, feminism, and women in religion in Australia, whether that be for study, research, general or other interest. Users can engage with the bibliographic resources and other information available and contribute their ideas for additional content. Relevant news items, call for papers, conferences and other events can also be shared via the site.

Much of the history of women in religion has been associated with Christianity and this is evident in the archive's initial online bibliography. However, the intention is that this site will develop over time to also provide access to resources associated with many other religious traditions.

The decision to create this archive grew out of the Australian Women in Religion (AWR) Wikipedia project, which was initiated in 2019 at the University of Divinity. The goal of the AWR project was to create Wikipedia pages for women who had made significant contributions to Australian religious and spiritual traditions, and thereby help to address the gender imbalance on the platform. Over time the project grew to incorporate other projects, including multiple publications and the creation of this Archive.

Another activity has been to digitise material relevant to this Archive not currently available online. If you have access to material that could be donated or loaned for this purpose please contact the project co-ordinator, Kerrie Burn

Suggestions for additional content or links on this site are also welcome.

A future goal of this archive is to include the contact details and research interests of members and to provide opportunities for collaboration.