This page will eventually provide access to a comprehensive bibliography of resources related to Australian Women in Religion. An example of the type of bibliography that will be created on this site can be viewed on the website of the Network for New Media, Religion and Digital Culture Studies.
Resources will be combined from a number of existing bibliographies and new items will be added over time.
And the dance goes on : an anthology of Australian Catholic women's stories by 
Believing in Australia : a cultural history of religions by 
Claiming our rites : studies in religion by Australian women scholars by 
Deliver Us from Eve : essays on Australian women and religion by 
The Encyclopedia of Religion in Australia by
Australia is a country rich in religious diversity. While constitutionally-speaking Australia is a secular society, waves of immigration over its short history have had a large impact on its religious and cultural make-up. The Encyclopedia of Religion in Australia is the first major work of reference to describe the beliefs, practices and organisation of religion in Australia. It examines religion in several different ways: historical development, belief systems and controversies, as well as the social role each faith plays in modern Australian society. This comprehensive volume includes entries on indigenous spirituality, Scientology, hillsong, and atheism, and features all of the major religions. Richly illustrated, it includes a section dedicated to current debates and issues in modern-day Australia, such as the place of religion in politics, fundamentalism, religious education and social cohesion.
Enduring Lives : living portraits of women and faith in action by 
God's Willing Workers : women and religion in Australia by
Examines the ways religious beliefs and institutions have shaped the lives of women in Australia over 200 years. It looks at Catholic nuns, Protestant missionaries, deaconesses and laywomen. Importantly, it looks at women at home as they grappled with church teachings on sexuality, marriage and family, gender roles, work and education.
Heralding a renaissance : women & leadership in the Catholic Church by 
Not forgotten : Australian Catholic educators 1820-2020 by 
Our own Matilda : Matilda Jane Evans, 1827-1886 : pioneer woman and novelist by 
A saviour of living cargoes : the life and work of Caroline Chisholm by 
Swifty : a life of Yvonne Swift by
The extraordinary story of how a devoted nun became an equally devoted campaigner for justice - as a successful criminal defence lawyer. When Yvonne Benedicta Swift entered the Sacre Coeur convent in Rose Bay in 1938, she was determined to dedicate herself to religious life. But in the 1970s she did something unusual: retrained as a lawyer, established her own practice and defended some of Sydney's most notorious criminals. In her legal practice she took on clients who she believed had been wronged, especially by the legal system itself.
Three women of faith : Gertrude Abbott, Elizabeth Anstice Baker and Mary Tenison Woods by 
Unfeigned love : historical accounts of Caroline Chisholm and her work by 
Ursula Frayne : a woman of mercy : themes and resources by 
An acorn grows among the gums : the Presentation Sisters, Tasmania, 1866-2006 by 
A bridge between : Spanish Benedictine Missionary women in Australia by 
The challenge of change : Mercy and Loreto Sisters in Ballarat 1950-1980 by 
A Dynamic of Hope : institutes of women religious in Australia by 
From humble beginnings : the story of the Sisters of St Joseph of the Sacred Heart in Victoria, 1890-2009 by 
The Good Sams : Sisters of the Good Samaritan 1857-1969 by 
The Josephite story : the sisters of St. Joseph ; their foundation and early history 1866-1893 by 
The labourers' friends : Sisters of Mercy in Victoria and Tasmania by 
The land that I will show you : history of the Institute of Sisters of Mercy of Australia 1981-2011 by 
A seed is sown : the history of the Sisters of St. Joseph of the Sacred Heart, 1890-1920 by 
This land of promise : the Ursuline order in Australia, 1882-1982 by 
Valiant women : letters from the foundation Sisters of Mercy in Western Australia, 1845-1849 by 
With grateful hearts! : Mary MacKillop and the Sisters of St Joseph in Queensland, 1870-1970 by 
Women of Strength, Women of Gentleness : Brigidine Sisters, Victorian Province. by This thesis examines the Christian feminist group, ‘Women and the Australian Church’, (WATAC). WATAC’s aim was to raise the consciousness of women on Christian feminist issues in order to facilitate ‘a change in the understanding of the role of women in their participation in the Australian Church and the broader society’. Funding from hierarchical bodies was received until 1988. The national level organisation and communication, which had been created by nun women, ceased in 1989. Since August 1989, WATAC membership and communication has floundered as women, mostly laity, sought to continue the activities which had begun under the WATAC name. The history and development of this group provides a situation in which to examine, from a feminist perspective, the kind of processes and stresses that may aid or abet women’s attempts to gain equal recognition for themselves in the Australian Church. This study analyses the relationships between nun women and lay women, and between each of these groups and the Catholic Church hierarchy. The result of this research indicate that structural and attitudinal characteristics inherent in the stereotypical definitions of lay women’s and nun women’s place in the Australian Church are still operative. They have inhibited WATAC women’s attempts to work together to bring about change in the perceptions of women’s role in Catholicism. The radical potential of the group was quelled as a result of nun women’s hierarchical position in the relations of power.
DMinStud, Melbourne College of Divinity, 2007
https://divinity.on.worldcat.org/v2/oclc/271775888
MTheol, University of Divinity, 1994
