LibGuides: Australian Women in Religion Archive: Journals & Articles

Key Journals

eJournal of Personalist Feminism The Siena Symposium for Women, Family, and Culture invites people of all walks of life to deepen their understanding of authentic femininity and masculinity in order to reclaim a culture of life.
Daughters of Sarah An American journal for the particular audience of Christian feminists published from 1974 to 1996.
Feminism from the Perspective of Catholic Theology Religions Open Access | "The purpose of this issue is to look at Feminism as an intellectual tradition, to obtain a macro level picture of the essential ‘hallmarks’ of feminist theory as well as a detailed analysis of the various different branches and divisions within the Feminist tradition. Different Catholic scholars will then examine these various ‘hallmarks’, ‘branches’ and ‘divisions’ from the perspective of Catholic theology. The contributions of the female Doctors of the Church will also be presented. Prof. Dr. Tracey Rowland Guest Editor"
Feminist Encounters: A Journal of Critical Studies in Culture and Politics Founded in 2017, Feminist Encounters is a journal committed to argument and debate, in the tradition of historical feminist movements.
Feminist Theology This journal is the first of its kind to be published in Britain. While it does not restrict itself to the work of feminist theologians and thinkers in these islands, Feminist Theology aims to give a voice to the women of Britain and Ireland in matters of theology and religion. Whilst academic in its orientation, it is deliberately designed to be accessible to a wide range of readers, whether theologically trained or not. Its discussion of contemporary issues is not narrowly academic, but sets those issues in a practical perspective.
In God's Image The oldest existing feminist theological journal in Asia, with two issues produced every year
more...less...
https://divinity.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=url,ip,cookie,uid&db=lsdar&jid=ATLAn4982099&site=ehost-live
Journal of Feminist Scholarship The Journal of Feminist Scholarship is a twice-yearly, peer-reviewed, open-access journal published online and aimed at promoting feminist scholarship across the disciplines, as well as expanding the reach and definitions of feminist research.
Journal of Feminist Studies in Religion
Journal of the European Society of Women in Theological Research
Lilith: A Feminist History Journal The official journal of the Australian Women’s History Network, an organisation dedicated to promoting research and writing in all fields of women’s, feminist and gender history.
Priscilla Papers An academic voice of Christians for Biblical Equality, providing interdisciplinary evangelical scholarship on topics related to a biblical view of gender equality and justice in the church, home, and world.
SeaChanges : the journal of the Association of Women Scholars of Religion and Theology SeaChanges is the official journal of Women Scholars of Religion and Theology, an association which arose out of the experiences of isolation of women scholars in the Asia-Pacific region. It is fully peer-reviewed and provides a medium for promoting the growing volume of scholarship undertaken by women in the area of religion and theology. The journal also aims to further the engagement of religion and theology with women's issues.
Women-Church: an Australian journal of feminist studies in religion Published in Sydney between 1987 and 2007.

Women-Church

Women-Church: an Australian journal of feminist studies in religion was published between 1987 and 2007 by the Women-Church Journal Collective. The 40 issues that were produced covered a broad array of topics around the feminist study of religion and theology. The archives records for Women-Church are available at the Jessie Street National Women's Library in Sydney. https://catalogue.nationalwomenslibrary.org.au/cgi-bin/koha/opac-search.pl?idx=&q=women-church

Access
Print copies are available in a number of libraries. Select articles are also available online on the Informit Platform, for those who have access via their institution.
Mannix Library has now digitised all issues and they are openly available on the University of Divinity's Digital Collections website to facilitate future study and research.
Atla (formerly American Theological Library Association) has also indexed the content of the journal and included it in their Atla Religion Database. The full text of all articles will soon be available through their full-text database Atla Serials PLUS.

Magdalene : a Christian newsletter for women

Magdalene: a Christian newsletter for women was published in Sydney by Christian Women Concerned. A total of 15 volumes were published Vol. 1 (May 1973)-3/4 1987.

Mannix Library has digitised the entire run of this title. All issues are available on the University's Digital Collections site.

Internet Archive and Wikimedia Commons

The Church Missionary Gleaner includes lots of information about Church Missionary Society (Anglican) missionaries in the late 1800s, many of whom were women. Issues are available on the Internet Archive for 1878-1892.

The Church Missionary Gleaner is also available on Wikimedia Commons for people to use as a reference and to take pictures from to use in Wikipedia articles. It is important to search on Wikimedia Commons under "Other Media"

Other historical books and journals can also be discovered in Wikimedia Commons that may provide useful references for missionaries from other denominations. Remember to search under "Other Media".