Skip to Main Content
Ask a Librarian
University of Divinity Library
Search this Guide
Access options available to Univeristy of Divinity Alumni.
Online Database Access
Open Access Resources
Church History - Patristics
Humanities - Languages
Open Access - Biblical Studies
The Aleppo Codex
Zoom viewer of the medieval bound manuscript of the Hebrew Bible.
Bible and Interpretation
Dedicated to delivering the latest news, features, editorials, commentary, archaeological interpretation and excavations relevant to the study of the Bible for the public and biblical scholars.
Bible atlas and gazetteer  | Hathi Trust
containing six new and accurate maps, and a list of all geographical names, with references to their Scripture places and to the proper maps; also, a variety of most useful tables. Published: New York, American Tract Society 
Allows you to quickly find and compare particular passages in multiple Bible translations based on the keywords, phrases, topics, or Scripture references.
Created by the Society of Biblical Literature. On this site the world's leading scholars share the latest historical and literary research on key people, places, and passages of the Bible.
BibleProject is a nonprofit ed-tech organization and animation studio that produces 100% free Bible videos, podcasts, blogs, classes, and educational Bible resources to help make the biblical story accessible to everyone, everywhere.
Reading The Word of God with The Church. This program offers Sacred Scripture, its interpretation in light of Sacred Tradition and the teachings of the Magisterium, with appropriate theological commentary and exegesis.
Aims to make high quality theological material freely available throughout the world, thus providing Bible teachers and pastors with the resources they need to spread the Gospel in their countries.
Catholic Church Documents (Biblical Studies)
Catholic resources for Bible, liturgy, art and theology.
The Centre for the Study of New Testament Manuscripts
The Centre’s digital library includes more than 350,000 images of New Testament manuscripts.
The Codex Sinaiticus project is an international collaboration to reunite the entire manuscript in digital form and make it accessible to a global audience for the first time. The handwritten manuscript includes the oldest complete copy of the New Testament.
Commentaries on the Bible | New Advent
Lists a variety of commentaries and a blurb for each.
The Comprehensive Aramaic Lexicon
A new dictionary of the Aramaic language, entitled The Comprehensive Aramaic Lexicon, is currently in preparation by an international team of scholars, with headquarters at the Hebrew Union College in Cincinnati, Ohio USA. This major scholarly reference work covers all dialects and periods of two millennia of ancient Aramaic, one of the principal languages of antiquity, with a literature of central importance for history and civilization, and especially for the Jewish and Christian religions.
Dead Sea Scrolls Digital Library
The Digital Library preserves thousands of scroll fragments, including the oldest known copies of biblical texts.
Denver Seminary Annotated Old Testament Bibliography (2023)
An annotated bibliography by the Old Testament Faculty of Denver Seminary. Updated yearly.
Exegete.app | Wollaston Theological College
exegete.app is an online environment for biblical exegesis. A project of Wollaston Theological College, exegete.app is under active development, funded by a grant from ARTFinc. We aim to enable close reading of biblical texts, assisting the identification of linguistic patterns, structural elements, and intertextual phenomena, including redactional parallels, within a selected pericope.
Holman Bible Atlas
The colorful Holman bible atlas made available online.
Net Bible | Lumina
Lumina lets you dig deep into the orginal languages with word studies, and Strongs tagging. Search multiple references from a verse or word. Add your own notes and share verses with your friends on Facebook and Twitter
Online Bible study suite
Features topical, Greek and Hebrew study tools, plus concordances, commentaries, dictionaries, sermons and devotionals.
Resource Pages for Biblical Studies
The Resource Pages for Biblical Studies are intended as a resource for serious, scholarly studies of the early Christian writings and their social world.
Sefaria | A Living Library of Torah Texts Online.
Sefaria is a non-profit organization dedicated to building the future of Jewish learning in an open and participatory way. We are assembling a free living library of Jewish texts and their interconnections, in Hebrew and in translation
St. Paul Center for Biblical Theology
The St. Paul Center for Biblical Theology is a non-profit research and educational institute that promotes life-transforming Scripture study in the Catholic tradition. The Center serves clergy and laity, students and scholars, with research and study tools — from books and publications to multimedia and on-line programming. Our goal is to be a teacher of teachers. We want to raise up a new generation of priests who are fluent in the Bible and lay people who are biblically literate. For us, this means more than helping people to know their way around the Bible. It means equipping them to enter into the heart of the living Word of God and to be transformed and renewed by this encounter. We read the Bible from the heart of the Church, in light of the Church’s Liturgy and living Tradition. In this way, we hope to help people experience the heart-to-heart encounter that Jesus’ disciples experienced on that first Easter night, when they knew Him in the breaking of the bread: "Did not our hearts burn within us while He talked to us…while He opened to us the Scriptures?" (see Luke 24:13-37)
The Stoa Consortium
The Stoa Consortium for Electronic Publication in the Humanities was founded by Allen Ross Scaife in 1997 as an umbrella project for many projects in the Classics.
Contains resources for researchers including means for writing and studying biblical languages, finding primary and secondary literature, and studying the text in its original languages.
The Unbound Bible
A collection of searchable Bibles including various English versions, Greek, Hebrew, ancient translations, and many other language versions.
Open Access Resources
Catholic Resources >>
Oct 27, 2023 4:01 PM
Login to LibApps