Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask a Librarian
University of Divinity Library
Church History - Patristics
Search this Guide
Access options available to Univeristy of Divinity Alumni.
Online Database Access
Open Access Resources
Church History - Patristics
Humanities - Languages
Open Access - Church History
Bibliographies for Theology | Journal of Religion & Society
Compiled by William Harmless, S.J. The Journal of Religion & Society is a peer-reviewed, cross-disciplinary, electronic journal published by the Kripke Center for the Study of Religion and Society at Creighton University. “For many years, I've tried to help my students make use of the best and the most current scholarly texts in theology. To aid research, I've posted here an extensive set of bibliographies in the areas of biblical, historical, sacramental, and systematic theology. Each bibliography contains various subheadings, and under each subheading, I single out one or two books that I recommend starting with. I give a brief review of these selected books, highlighting their strengths (and, on occasion, weaknesses or biases).”
Catholica Collection | Villanova Univeristy
This collection makes available digital content of Catholic materials including books, journals, papers, and manuscripts dealing with the Roman Catholic Church in general, and in particular works created or published in the Americas.
Church History and Historical Theology
A selection of links to internet resources on church history and historical theology.
The Gateway to Late Antique and Medieval Christian Literature. It incorporates the almost 8,000 pages of data found in four so-called claves: the Clavis Patrum Latinorum and the Bibliotheca Hagiographica Latina, the Clavis Patrum Graecorum and the Bibliotheca Hagiographica Graeca.
Database of Religious History
The world’s first comprehensive online quantitative and qualitative encyclopedia of religious cultural history.
Dissenting Academies Online
Dissenting Academies Online brings together, for the first time, a wealth of information about dissenting higher education from the later seventeenth to the later nineteenth centuries. Drawing on long-neglected collections and records, this new resource documents over two hundred academies, as well as the hundreds of tutors they employed, thousands of students they educated, and tens of thousands of books held in their libraries.
Early Christian Writings
The most complete collection of Christian texts before the Council of Nicea in 325 AD. The site provides translations and commentary for these sources, including the New Testament, Apocrypha, Gnostics, Church Fathers, and some non-Christian references.
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.
History of Christianity Reading Room
Internet Christian Library
A guide to Early Church documents.
Internet History Sourcebooks
A collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts, including Ancient History, Medieval, Modern History, and Women’s History Sourcebooks.
Internet History Sourcebooks Project | Fordham University
Welcome to The Internet History Sourcebooks Project, a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly (without advertising or excessive layout) for educational use. Primary sources are available here primarily for use in high-school and university/college courses. From the outset the site took a very broad view of the sources that should be available to students and as well as documents long associated with a "western civilization" approach to history also provides much information on Byzantine, Islamic, Jewish, Indian, East Asian, and African history. You will also find many documents especially relevant to women's history and LGBT studies.
Provides free, organized access to resources in Medieval studies. Easy-to-use links provide connections to databases, services, texts, and images around the world.
Medieval English and French Manuscripts
Explore illuminated manuscripts from the national libraries of the UK and France
Medieval Music Database
Browse content by text, composer, genre, manuscript and liturgical feast.
Online Medieval and Classical Literature Library
A collection of some of the most important literary works of Classical and Medieval civilization.
Online Reference Book for Medieval Studies (ORB) Encyclopedia
A chronological and geographical index of essays, bibliographies, images, documents, links, and other resources, selected by ORB section editors to illustrate their selected topics.
Post-Reformation Digital Library
A select database of digital books relating to the development of theology and philosophy during the Reformation and Post-Reformation/Early Modern Era (late 15th-18th c.). Late medieval and patristic works printed and referenced in the early modern era are also included. The PRDL is a project of the Junius Institute for Digital Reformation Research.
The Victorian Web
Includes information about literature, history, and culture in the age of Victoria.
Open Access - Patristics
The 21 Ecumenical Councils
New Advent lists the order of councils over the years and gives readers the opportunity to view a summary or do further reading on each council.
Augustine of Hippo
A simple guide to the Church Fathers
Early Christian Texts
Links to multiple resources maintained by The North American Patristics Society.
Early Church Fathers | Christian Classics Ethereal Library
Open access to the writings of the Church Fathers
EWTN Patristics Document Library Index Page
The Fathers of the Church | New Advent
No description available.
The Gnostic Society Library – Patristic Polemical Works
Internet Ancient History Sourcebook: Christian Origins
The Internet History Sourcebooks Project is located at the History Department of Fordham University, New York. The Internet Medieval Sourcebook, and other medieval components of the project, are located at the Fordham University Center for Medieval Studies.The IHSP recognizes the contribution of Fordham University, the Fordham University History Department, and the Fordham Center for Medieval Studies in providing web space and server support for the project. The IHSP is a project independent of Fordham University. Although the IHSP seeks to follow all applicable copyright law, Fordham University is not the institutional owner, and is not liable as the result of any legal action.
Latin (PL) and Greek (PG)
Patrologiae Cursus Completus. Series Graeca, ed. J.-P. Migne. Includes links to resources.
Patrologia Latina [Corpus Corporum]
Plain text reproduction of J.-P. Migne’s 1880s printing of Patrologiae cursus completus. Series Latina.
Patrologia Latina [Patristica.net]
Patrologiae Cursus Completus. Series Latina, ed. J.-P. Migne. Includes links to resources.
Theological Questions is an Open Educational Resource (free textbook) that originates from St. Mary’s University in San Antonio and was created with funding form the Atla OER Grant Program. This open textbook was used at St. Mary's in the first of two required core theology courses. It is designed to give a broad historical overview of theological questions from the perspective of the Catholic tradition. It seeks to represent fairly a variety of questions and answers within and beyond the Catholic tradition. This OER is a foundation for other teachers of introductory courses in theology who may wish to adapt it for their purposes.
Humanities - Languages >>
Jan 19, 2023 11:48 AM
Login to LibApps