The following titles cover multiple time periods pertaining to the Church's history:
Church History by
eBook - This book lays out the guidelines, methods, and basic reference tools needed for the successful researching and writing of papers in the discipline of church history and theology. Organized with the needs of research students in mind, this book will help students find a topic, locate the relevant source materials, and write quality papers. It also includes an extensive bibliography of study aids and an appendix describing computer applications for research and writing and new sources in microform.
The Coptic Encyclopedia by
Beginning with the first-century teachings of Mark the Evangelist, the founder and first patriarch, the Coptic church was arguably the primary shaper of Christianity until the fifth century. Today, the Copts claim a following of over 30 million, and maintain a strong religious influence in Africa and the Middle East.
Encyclopedia of Early Christianity by
First published in 1997. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Encyclopedia of the Early Church by
The Encyclopedia of the Early Church is a two-volume reference work providing concise and precise information on all topics concerning the first eight centuries of Christianity. Valuable to historians, archaeologists, philosophers, and philologists as well as theologians, this work extends the knowledge of how Christianity evolved to become the most important influence in the history of Western civilization. Tracing the growth of the church from its tiny beginnings in an upper room to its dominance of Europe, western Asia, and northern Africa in the eighth century, scholars from many disciplines produced articles ranging from a few sentences to ten thousand words on all the major and most of the minor people, works, ideas, and issues of the formative period of Christianity. The first major encyclopedia to cover the life, thought, and growth of Christianity, this work offers full treatment of doctrines, creeds, and heresies, of iconography and art history, of archaeology and geography, and of monasticism and asceticism.
New Catholic Encyclopedia by
The first edition of this reference work, called the Catholic Encyclopedia, was published around the turn of the 20th century, with the last revised edition appearing in 1967. This new edition includes the best of the previous entries - many completely revised and updated - as well as new entries, written by subject experts, covering the latest topics of interest. Many thousands of articles are biographical profiles of the people who make up the history of the Catholic Church.
New Eusebius by
This is a source book for students of the patristic period and a companion volume to 'Creeds, Councils and Controversies' and 'Doctrine and Practice in the Early Church'. This updated edition incorporates vital documents that were not available when the original collection was compiled.
The Oxford Handbook of Early Christian Studies by
The Oxford Handbook of Early Christian Studies responds to and celebrates the explosion of research in this inter-disciplinary field over recent decades. As a one-volume reference work, it provides an introduction to the academic study of early Christianity (c. 100-600 AD) and examines thevast geographical area impacted by the early church, in Western and Eastern late antiquity. It is thematically arranged to encompass history, literature, thought, practices, and material culture. It contains authoritative and up-to-date surveys of current thinking and research in the varioussub-specialties of early Christian studies, written by leading figures in the discipline. The essays orientate readers to a given topic, as well as to the trajectory of research developments over the past 30-50 years within the scholarship itself. Guidance for future research is also given. Eachessay points the reader towards relevant forms of extant evidence (texts, documents, or examples of material culture), as well as to the appropriate research tools available for the area.This volume will be useful to advanced undergraduate and post-graduate students, as well as to specialists in any area who wish to consult a brief review of the 'state of the question' in a particular area or sub-specialty of early Christian studies, especially one different from their own.
New Short History of the Catholic Church by
Here is a one-volume history of the Christian people from Pentecost to the present day, with principal focus on the Catholic Church. Having passed AD 2000 it seems appropriate and necessary to have a new short history of the first two millennia of the Christian era. nbsp; In the last half century there has been a massive amount of research into Church history, published in learned articles and in multi-volume works. Full notice is taken of these recent scholarly initiatives in writing this short account, which is also eminently readable. nbsp; In each section there is a balance between the institutional and the more directly religious dimensions of the Church - here are some of the elements: bishops, canon law, charity, councils crusades, devotions, heresies, laity, liturgy, martyrs, missionaries, parishes, pilgrimages, popes, prayer, priesthood, religious orders, sacraments, schools, theologians, universities and the vita consacrata. nbsp; The scope is wide; the pace of the narrative is attractive.
Chronological and Background Charts of Church History by
The rich tapestry of nearly 2,000 years of church history overflows with persons, places, events, dates, and ideas. This volume in the popular ZondervanCharts series visually organizes large amounts of information from the history of the church for greater understanding and ease of reference. Students, teachers, pastors, and church history buffs will find this collection a valuable reference, one they will turn to again and again for their own information and for teaching others.This revised and expanded edition contains 126 charts (43 of which are new) that cover the history of the ancient church, the medieval church, the Reformation, the modern European church, the American church, and more. The accessible visual presentation assists in grasping not only facts, but parallels, contrasts, and relationships between those facts. Besides the charts themselves, a helpful bibliography and index are included.
Charts of Ancient and Medieval Church History by
Of Charts Ancient and Medieval Church History provides a powerful visual tool for understanding the historical foundations on which contemporary Christianity rests. From geography, to theology, to doctrines both orthodox and heretical, to key figures and movements across the centuries, the broad, comprehensive scope of early church history comes across simply, clearly, and with impact. Divided into two sections--Ancient and Medieval--this book covers the first 1,500 years of church history with nearly 160 charts, diagrams, and maps grouped under numerous subdivisions. A sampler of subdivisions and specific charts includes: * Introductions: Church History in a Nutshell * Prominent Cities * The Setting of the Church * The Life of Jesus Christ * The Age of the Earliest Church Fathers * The Age of the Apologists * Essential Components of Gnosticism * The Creed of Chalcedon * Pelagius and Augustine Compared * The Rise of Episcopacy and Papacy in the Church * The Emergence of the Roman Catholic Church * The Rise of the Islamic Faith * The Division of the Church: West and East * The Crusades * Scholasticism. Charts of Ancient and Medieval Church History will help Christians not only develop a firm grasp on the rich legacy of their faith but understand how it influences the church today and their own lives as believers.
Charts of Modern and Postmodern Church History by
Chart of Modern and Postmodern Church History provides a powerful visual tool for understanding the historic foundations on which contemporary Christianity rest. From geography, to theology, to doctrines both orthodox and heretical, to key figures and movements over the last three hundred years, the broad comprehensive scope of modern church history comes across simply, clearly, and with impact.
Zond Charts Reformation and Enlightenment Church History Pb by
Major Schisms in the First Sixteen Centuries . Development of Church Government . Orthodoxy and Unitarianism Compared . Education in Puritan England . Christianity and the American Revolution . Origins of Presbyterians, Baptists, Methodists, and Lutherans These are just a sample of the charts in this book, designed to provide a visual survey of a key part of our Christian heritage. Charts of Reformation and Enlightenment Church History covers the major events, movements, and people from the sixteenth century to the beginning of the nineteenth century. It includes charts of ideas and trends as well as pertinent diagrams. The book is divided into three primary sections: . Early Modern Europe and the Reformation (1500 to 1650) . The Rise of Religious Rationalism and the Enlightenment (1650 to 1750) . The Period of British Settlement in North America: The Colonial Period of American Religious History (1600 to 1800) Within these sections, ninety charts are arranged under seventeen headings: 1. The Background of the Reformation 2. The Lutheran Reformation 3. The Calvinist Reformation 4. The Anabaptist Reformation 5. The English Reformation 6. The Roman Catholic Reformation 7. The Rise of Religious Rationalism 8. The Enlightenment 9. The Reaction against Creedalism and Rationalism: Pietism 10. Backgrounds of American Religious History 11. Congregationalists 12. Baptists 13. Presbyterians 14. Methodists 15. Other Groups 16. The Great Awakening 17. Religion and the American Revolution "
Chronological and Background Charts of Church History by
The rich tapestry of nearly 2,000 years of church history overflows with persons, places, events, dates, and ideas. This volume in the popular ZondervanCharts series visually organizes large amounts of information from the history of the church for greater understanding and ease of reference. Students, teachers, pastors, and church history buffs will find this collection a valuable reference, one they will turn to again and again for their own information and for teaching others.This revised and expanded edition contains 126 charts (43 of which are new) that cover the history of the ancient church, the medieval church, the Reformation, the modern European church, the American church, and more. The accessible visual presentation assists in grasping not only facts, but parallels, contrasts, and relationships between those facts. Besides the charts themselves, a helpful bibliography and index are included.