Bibliographies for Theology | Journal of Religion & SocietyCompiled by William Harmless, S.J.
The Journal of Religion & Society is a peer-reviewed, cross-disciplinary, electronic journal published by the Kripke Center for the Study of Religion and Society at Creighton University.
“For many years, I've tried to help my students make use of the best and the most current scholarly texts in theology. To aid research, I've posted here an extensive set of bibliographies in the areas of biblical, historical, sacramental, and systematic theology.
Each bibliography contains various subheadings, and under each subheading, I single out one or two books that I recommend starting with. I give a brief review of these selected books, highlighting their strengths (and, on occasion, weaknesses or biases).”
Catholica Collection | Villanova UniveristyThis collection makes available digital content of Catholic materials including books, journals, papers, and manuscripts dealing with the Roman Catholic Church in general, and in particular works created or published in the Americas.
Christian Church History: Timeline | ATLAThis guide was created by faculty, staff, and students at Ashland Theological Seminary with funding from the Atla OER Grant Program. This OER can be used to replace a timeline textbook in courses on church history. Content licensed CC-BY-NC.
Clavis ClaviumThe Gateway to Late Antique and Medieval Christian Literature. It incorporates the almost 8,000 pages of data found in four so-called claves: the Clavis Patrum Latinorum and the Bibliotheca Hagiographica Latina, the Clavis Patrum Graecorum and the Bibliotheca Hagiographica Graeca.
The Cult of Saints in Late Antiquity databaseThe CSLA database is making readily accessible and searchable as much as possible of the early evidence for the cult of Christian saints (up to around AD 700), with key texts presented in their original language, all with English translation and brief contextual commentary.
The Cult of Saints projectA research project on the Cult of Saints from its origins to circa AD 700, across the entire Christian world
Database of Religious HistoryThe world’s first comprehensive online quantitative and qualitative encyclopedia of religious cultural history.
Dissenting Academies OnlineDissenting Academies Online brings together, for the first time, a wealth of information about dissenting higher education from the later seventeenth to the later nineteenth centuries. Drawing on long-neglected collections and records, this new resource documents over two hundred academies, as well as the hundreds of tutors they employed, thousands of students they educated, and tens of thousands of books held in their libraries.
Early Christian WritingsThe most complete collection of Christian texts before the Council of Nicea in 325 AD. The site provides translations and commentary for these sources, including the New Testament, Apocrypha, Gnostics, Church Fathers, and some non-Christian references.
Internet History Sourcebooks Project | Fordham UniversityWelcome to The Internet History Sourcebooks Project, a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly (without advertising or excessive layout) for educational use. Primary sources are available here primarily for use in high-school and university/college courses. From the outset the site took a very broad view of the sources that should be available to students and as well as documents long associated with a "western civilization" approach to history also provides much information on Byzantine, Islamic, Jewish, Indian, East Asian, and African history. You will also find many documents especially relevant to women's history and LGBT studies.
Medieval Music DatabaseBrowse LaTrobe's content by text, composer, genre, manuscript and liturgical feast.
Post-Reformation Digital LibraryA select database of digital books relating to the development of theology and philosophy during the Reformation and Post-Reformation/Early Modern Era (late 15th-18th c.). Late medieval and patristic works printed and referenced in the early modern era are also included. The PRDL is a project of the Junius Institute for Digital Reformation Research.
