Skip to main content

Style Guide

University of Divinity Style Guide

Church and government documents

Catechism

Example of note entry

Catechism of the Catholic Church, English translation, 2nd ed. (1997), n. 778.

Example of subsequent note entry           

Catechism of the Catholic Church, n. 778.

Example of bibliography entry

Catechism of the Catholic Church. English translation. 2nd ed. 1997.

Church Document (Roman Catholic, not including conciliar or papal documents)

Example of note entry

Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith, Doctrinal Note on Some Questions regarding the Participation of Catholics in Political Life (2002), n. 5.

Example of subsequent note entry           

Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith, Catholics in Political Life, n. 5.

Example of bibliography entry

Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith. Doctrinal Note on Some Questions regarding the Participation of Catholics in Political Life. 2002.

Conciliar Document

Example of note entry

Vatican Council II, Dei Verbum, Dogmatic Constitution on Divine Revelation (18 November 1965), n. 5, in Vatican II: The Conciliar and Post Conciliar Documents, ed. A. Flannery (Collegeville, MN: Liturgical Press, 1980).

Example of subsequent note entry           

Vatican Council II, Dei Verbum, n. 5.

Example of bibliography entry

Vatican Council II. Dei Verbum. Dogmatic Constitution on Divine Revelation. 18 November 1965. In Vatican II: The Conciliar and Post Conciliar Documents, edited by A. Flannery. Collegeville, MN: Liturgical Press, 1980.

Papal Document

Example of note entry

John Paul II, Veritatis Splendor, Encyclical Letter (1993), n. 3.

Example of subsequent note entry           

John Paul II, Veritatis Splendor, n. 3.

Example of bibliography entry

John Paul II. Veritatis Splendor. Encyclical Letter. 1993.

 

The Book of Concord
In citations the following abbreviations are used for the Lutheran confessional writings:

AC

Augsburg Confession

Ap

Apology of the Augsburg Confession

SA

Smalcald Articles

Tractate

Treatise on the Power and Primacy of the Pope

LC

Large Catechism

SC

Small Catechism

FC

Formula of Concord

Epit

Epitome of the Formula of Concord

SD

Solid Declaration of the Formula of Concord

When quoting from the Confessions, the source of the quotation must be given. For example:

Speaking of church unity the confessors are adamant that “it is enough for the true unity of the church to agree concerning the teaching of the gospel and the administration of the sacraments” (AC 7, 2; Kolb and Wengert: 43).

Notes:
1. The first part of the citation refers to Article 7 of the Augsburg Confession, paragraph 2. The second part indicates that the quotation is found on page 43 of the Kolb and Wengert edition of The Book of Concord.

 

2. When quoting from The Book of Concord, be careful not to say, “Kolb and Wengert say,” or “Tappert says.” The writers are either “the confessors” (The Augsburg Confession, The Apology of the Augsburg Confession, The Treatise on the Power and Primacy of the Pope, and the Formula of Concord) or “Luther” (the catechisms and The Smalcald Articles).

Luther’s Works

Example of note entry

Martin Luther, “The sacrament of penance,” trans. E. Theodore Bachman, Luther’s Works: Word and Sacrament 1, Vol. 35, ed. E. Theodore Bachman and Helmut T. Lehmann (Philadelphia, PA: Muhlenberg Press, 1960), 3–15.

 

Example of subsequent note entry           

Luther, “The sacrament of penance,” 17.

Example of bibliography entry

Luther, Martin. “The sacrament of penance.” Translated by E. Theodore Bachman. In Luther’s Works: Word and Sacrament 1, Vol. 35, edited by E. Theodore Bachman and Helmut T. Lehmann: 3–22. Philadelphia, PA: Muhlenberg Press, 1960.

 

Doctrinal Statements and Theological Opinions of the Lutheran Church of Australia (DSTO)

Example of note entry

Doctrinal Statements and Opinions of the Lutheran Church of Australia, “A Consensus Statement on Holy Scripture,” DSTO I.B: B10–B12, adopted by the LCA General Synod, 1987 Convention.

Example of subsequent note entry           

“A Consensus Statement on Holy Scripture,” DSTO I.B: B10–B12.

Example of bibliography entry

Doctrinal Statements and Opinions of the Lutheran Church of Australia“A Consensus Statement on Holy Scripture,” DSTO I.B: B10–B12. Adopted by the LCA General Synod, 1987 Convention.

Theses of Agreement

Example of note entry

Theses of Agreement adopted by the United Evangelical Lutheran Church in Australia and the Evangelical Lutheran Church of Australia, “The Permanent Status of the Theses of Agreement,” DSTO 1.A: A31, adopted by the Commission on Theology and Inter-Church Relations, May 1976.

Example of subsequent note entry           

“The Permanent Status of the Theses of Agreement,” DSTO 1.A: A31.

Example of bibliography entry     

Theses of Agreement adopted by the United Evangelical Lutheran Church in Australia and the Evangelical Lutheran Church of Australia. “The Permanent Status of the Theses of Agreement,” DSTO 1.A: A31. Adopted by the Commission on Theology and Inter-Church Relations, May 1976.

 

Government document

Example of note entry

Royal Commission into Institutional Responses to Child Sexual Abuse, Royal Commission into Institutional Responses to Child Sexual Abuse, Final Report, Vol. 16, Religious Institutions Book 1 (Sydney, 2017), 11–12, https://www.childabuseroyalcommission.gov.au/sites/default/ files/final_report_-_volume_16_religious_institutions_book_1.pdf.

Example of subsequent note entry   

Institutional Responses to Child Sexual Abuse 16, bk. 1, 12.

Example of bibliography entry           

Royal Commission into Institutional Responses to Child Sexual Abuse. Royal Commission into Institutional Responses to Child Sexual Abuse, Final Report, Vol. 16, Religious Institutions Book 1. Sydney, 2017. https://www.childabuseroyalcommission.gov.au/sites/default/files/final_report_-_volume_16_religious_institutions_book_1.pdf.